Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Wonton Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonton Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2009

      I was a bit disappointed with the flavor - seemed a bit bland but this was a quick and easy soup to make. I think part of my issue is I would have preferred pork in the wontons as well as a splash of sesame oil to add that unique chinese flavor. Just a note on the wonton skins - make sure you buy square ones - much easier to fill and seal. There are some slightly rectangular ones out there that are more of a challenge. Also I would increase the broth quantity as the wontons do absorb broth as they cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was my first time making wonton soup...It was very good. I made the wontons ahead of time and froze them, then droped into the boiling broth and cooked about 8 mins. They were great. I really liked the mixture in the wontons and liked the addition of the spinach. I omitted the carrots, I think next time, I might use a different brand of broth, mine didn't have a lot of flavor, or drop in a little bullion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I just made this and I thought I would like it but I did not. I think it was the fact that it had the beef flavor with the chicken I really didnt like it. I think it would be better with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      We had this with our meal the other night. I have never had wonton soup before and we liked it alot. I used the bok choy and added some green onions. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This was excellent - my Dh smiled all through dinner! :) I used my own chicken broth and used some asian greens I had been given from someone who couldn't use all theirs from a winter farm share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This was excellent. I used ground pork instead of beef because that's what I had on hand. Also, I used Napa cabbage instead of spinach or bok choy because it's also what I had on hand. It was delicious . I stored the cooked wontons in a separate bowl and added them back to the broth to reheat. OMG! Could it actually be better the second day? Maybe. It was easy, fun to make and wonderful to eat. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This soup is amazing! I found it to taste very authentic. I used the bok choy and put some fresh mushrooms in as well. I made my own broth with a chicken breast and added the meat to the soup. Will be making this a lot this winter!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Very good soup and easy to make. I used ground sirloin so there would be the least amount of fat and spinach instead of bok choy. My wontons were not the prettiest but tasted really good in the chicken broth. Thank you for posting this recipe Crabbycakes! Made and reviewed for the Asian Forum's Soup tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      DELICIOUS! I skipped the carrots and parsley and used vegetable broth instead of chicken and my DH LOVED this. He wants me to make this instead of chicken noodle soup whenever he is sick now. And I loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      Excellent recipe! Very authentic! I replaced the 1/4 lb of beef for 1/2 lb of thinly chopped chicken and made 10 cups of homemade chicken stock. I also added 1 teaspoon of soy sauce, 2 cloves of garlic and 1 beaten egg to the wonton mixture (inspired by another Chinese recipe). I substituted the parsley for fresh cilantro (but that's my personal taste!). I used a mixture of milk and a bit of syrup to seal the edges of the wontons (same as pies) and it was foolproof. After cooking the wontons in the broth, I felt that there wasn't enough left so I added 4 cups of store-bought chicken stock (hot water and concentrated stock). I put the wontons back in and let it simmer a bit before serving. It was one giant hit with the family! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      We loved this. I used ground turkey instead of beef. It was my first time using wonton skins. In my grocery store, they are in the freezer, but handled fine. I made alot of them and fried up the leftover wontons already cooked in the broth in margarine/olive oil till crispy. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      This was delicious and fun to make! I nearly doubled the wontons because I wanted some extra, but in doing that, I lost a lot of my broth cooking them (too much of it, even though I started with extra just in case.) I ended up throwing in a bunch of homemade veggie stock cubes I had frozen (which added a lot of great flavor.) The only other changes I made were adding crushed red pepper to my meat, mushrooms with the spinach, and a dash of soy sauce to the broth. I was SO good. More filling than we expected. I would keep some extra broth around just in case!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Though it came together quickly, the wontons were somewhat of a pain to make, so I was extrememly disappointed when they all fell apart on me, in spite of the care I took because of the warnings in the comments section. The flavor, unfortunately, was lacking for me as well. I will keep looking for my perfect wonton soup recipe. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      So easy to make! I will admit to being surprised how much flavor this soup had with so few ingredients. I always assumed wonton soup would be labor intensive, but this recipe goes to show that it can be done rather easily. Flavor of the wontons was fantastic. I was able to make about 14 wontons. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Great flavor. I didn't have any spinach or Bok choy so I shredded some lettice. The carrot is a nice touch for flavor & appearance. I added some chili flakes to the wontons Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      So easy to make yet tastes as if you slaved over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      what a great recipe! I used sausage instead of ground beef. My son actually helped wrap the wontons. We also fried some of the left over wontons in a deep fryer, which was also quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chinese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonton Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    25%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 13.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 973.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites