18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was a bit disappointed with the flavor - seemed a bit bland but this was a quick and easy soup to make. I think part of my issue is I would have preferred pork in the wontons as well as a splash of sesame oil to add that unique chinese flavor. Just a note on the wonton skins - make sure you buy square ones - much easier to fill and seal. There are some slightly rectangular ones out there that are more of a challenge. Also I would increase the broth quantity as the wontons do absorb broth as they cook.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirlsaw February 03, 2009

This was my first time making wonton soup...It was very good. I made the wontons ahead of time and froze them, then droped into the boiling broth and cooked about 8 mins. They were great. I really liked the mixture in the wontons and liked the addition of the spinach. I omitted the carrots, I think next time, I might use a different brand of broth, mine didn't have a lot of flavor, or drop in a little bullion.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally February 11, 2008

I just made this and I thought I would like it but I did not. I think it was the fact that it had the beef flavor with the chicken I really didnt like it. I think it would be better with chicken.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisM August 21, 2008

This was excellent. I used ground pork instead of beef because that's what I had on hand. Also, I used Napa cabbage instead of spinach or bok choy because it's also what I had on hand. It was delicious . I stored the cooked wontons in a separate bowl and added them back to the broth to reheat. OMG! Could it actually be better the second day? Maybe. It was easy, fun to make and wonderful to eat. Great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pietahouse November 11, 2008

We had this with our meal the other night. I have never had wonton soup before and we liked it alot. I used the bok choy and added some green onions. Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 25, 2010

This was excellent - my Dh smiled all through dinner! :) I used my own chicken broth and used some asian greens I had been given from someone who couldn't use all theirs from a winter farm share.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EMFSullivan March 03, 2010

This soup is amazing! I found it to taste very authentic. I used the bok choy and put some fresh mushrooms in as well. I made my own broth with a chicken breast and added the meat to the soup. Will be making this a lot this winter!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl August 12, 2008

Very good soup and easy to make. I used ground sirloin so there would be the least amount of fat and spinach instead of bok choy. My wontons were not the prettiest but tasted really good in the chicken broth. Thank you for posting this recipe Crabbycakes! Made and reviewed for the Asian Forum's Soup tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 07, 2008

DELICIOUS! I skipped the carrots and parsley and used vegetable broth instead of chicken and my DH LOVED this. He wants me to make this instead of chicken noodle soup whenever he is sick now. And I loved it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana September 05, 2007

Excellent recipe! Very authentic! I replaced the 1/4 lb of beef for 1/2 lb of thinly chopped chicken and made 10 cups of homemade chicken stock. I also added 1 teaspoon of soy sauce, 2 cloves of garlic and 1 beaten egg to the wonton mixture (inspired by another Chinese recipe). I substituted the parsley for fresh cilantro (but that's my personal taste!). I used a mixture of milk and a bit of syrup to seal the edges of the wontons (same as pies) and it was foolproof. After cooking the wontons in the broth, I felt that there wasn't enough left so I added 4 cups of store-bought chicken stock (hot water and concentrated stock). I put the wontons back in and let it simmer a bit before serving. It was one giant hit with the family! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Jenn May 09, 2004
Wonton Soup