23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Has a great flavor - better than the restaurant! Can't wait to try it with other veggies and meats. The only change I made - we like drippy saucy lo mein, so I doubled the sauce and it was great!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie in Atlanta June 24, 2002

This was great! I used sesame oil to stir fry the vegetables: bok choy (chopped leaves and stems), onion, garlic, red bell pepper, thinly sliced carrot and broccoli. Added the veggies to the pan in the order of longer to faster cooking (carrots first, red peppers last). I highly recommend the bok choy! I'd never cooked it before but was very pleased. The stems were like a mild celery and the leaves wilted like spinach but didn't get mushy. Based on other reviews I only used a heaping tablespoon of sugar. After I combined the lo mein noodles with the veggies and sauce I cooked them over low heat for 5 or 10 minutes so that the noodles really absorbed the flavor of the sauce. I added pre-cooked shrimp at the very end (1 minute before serving). Used Ty Ling oyster sauce and low-sodium soy sauce. (Also agree that the directions were hard to follow!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee May 19, 2008

This was a great dish and was extremely easy to make. The longest part was waiting for the water to boil for the noodles. I added fresh bok choy, mushrooms, and a bag of frozen stir fry veggies. Very tasty! I will definately add this to the weekly meal plan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Yaws January 05, 2004

Terrific recipe. Lo mein must have the oyster sauce. Yum! I like lots of sauce so I added an extra 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup water with 1 1/2 tbsp. of cornstarch. Vegetables: 2 baby bok choy, 8 oz button mushroom, 1 bunch green onion, 1/2 medium white onion, 2 jalapenos seeded and sliced very thin, 6 cloves garlic (a few dashes ginger powder) Meat: 1/2 lb shrimp, 1/2 lb pork Noodles: linguini My son eats nothing but lo mein when we order out. He said it was better than any of the local restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICanBurnWater September 03, 2014

I love this sauce recipe, but I omit the sugar and double the soy (reduced sodium) and sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jadeblackhawk March 18, 2013

Great recipe! My family loved it. Lo Mein noodles aren't available here, so I used spaghetti. I used carrots, onions (chopped in big pieces), and celery. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun Candy September 04, 2012

Oh My !! This was really delicious !! Perfect blend of flavors for the sauce. I had cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot, but that is fine...it made for great leftovers. The veggies I used was broccoli,mushrooms,orange peppers (chopped and a total of 5 cups and then some sugar snap peas and mini corn. The sauce quantity was just the right amount for this. I stir fried the veggies in stir fry oil. I also added about 1 Tbs of sweet soya with the rest of the sauce. MMMM......good stuff. This was a fantastic Lo Mein Midge8... will be making it again for sure. Served it with Chicken Yakitori #413705
* Forgot to add in that I put carrots as well with the other veggies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny August 20, 2011

Very easy and quick! The sauce is so good and fast to make. I forgot to put garlic in it but the dish was still flavorful and will definitely be a new dish for my boyfriend and I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taaaaayyyyaa November 09, 2010

too sweet or maybe I didnt add enough garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newly-Wed April 06, 2010

This was a good basic recipe. I used red, yellow and green peppers, onions and frozen carrots and broccoli. I have an allergy to oyster sauce so I doubled the soy sauce and added extra sugar. The sugar didn't "dissolve" for me in the soy so I heated it in a small sauce pan until the sauce started to thicken. I also used cooked spaghetti for the noodles. I added some red pepper flakes to give it a kick of spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate J December 04, 2009
Vegetable Lo Mein