Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Vegetable Lo Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Lo Mein

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2002

      Has a great flavor - better than the restaurant! Can't wait to try it with other veggies and meats. The only change I made - we like drippy saucy lo mein, so I doubled the sauce and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This was great! I used sesame oil to stir fry the vegetables: bok choy (chopped leaves and stems), onion, garlic, red bell pepper, thinly sliced carrot and broccoli. Added the veggies to the pan in the order of longer to faster cooking (carrots first, red peppers last). I highly recommend the bok choy! I'd never cooked it before but was very pleased. The stems were like a mild celery and the leaves wilted like spinach but didn't get mushy. Based on other reviews I only used a heaping tablespoon of sugar. After I combined the lo mein noodles with the veggies and sauce I cooked them over low heat for 5 or 10 minutes so that the noodles really absorbed the flavor of the sauce. I added pre-cooked shrimp at the very end (1 minute before serving). Used Ty Ling oyster sauce and low-sodium soy sauce. (Also agree that the directions were hard to follow!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      This was a great dish and was extremely easy to make. The longest part was waiting for the water to boil for the noodles. I added fresh bok choy, mushrooms, and a bag of frozen stir fry veggies. Very tasty! I will definately add this to the weekly meal plan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      Terrific recipe. Lo mein must have the oyster sauce. Yum! I like lots of sauce so I added an extra 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup water with 1 1/2 tbsp. of cornstarch. Vegetables: 2 baby bok choy, 8 oz button mushroom, 1 bunch green onion, 1/2 medium white onion, 2 jalapenos seeded and sliced very thin, 6 cloves garlic (a few dashes ginger powder) Meat: 1/2 lb shrimp, 1/2 lb pork Noodles: linguini My son eats nothing but lo mein when we order out. He said it was better than any of the local restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I love this sauce recipe, but I omit the sugar and double the soy (reduced sodium) and sesame oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Great recipe! My family loved it. Lo Mein noodles aren't available here, so I used spaghetti. I used carrots, onions (chopped in big pieces), and celery. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Oh My !! This was really delicious !! Perfect blend of flavors for the sauce. I had cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot, but that is fine...it made for great leftovers. The veggies I used was broccoli,mushrooms,orange peppers (chopped and a total of 5 cups and then some sugar snap peas and mini corn. The sauce quantity was just the right amount for this. I stir fried the veggies in stir fry oil. I also added about 1 Tbs of sweet soya with the rest of the sauce. MMMM......good stuff. This was a fantastic Lo Mein Midge8... will be making it again for sure. Served it with Chicken Yakitori #413705
      * Forgot to add in that I put carrots as well with the other veggies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Very easy and quick! The sauce is so good and fast to make. I forgot to put garlic in it but the dish was still flavorful and will definitely be a new dish for my boyfriend and I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      too sweet or maybe I didnt add enough garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This was a good basic recipe. I used red, yellow and green peppers, onions and frozen carrots and broccoli. I have an allergy to oyster sauce so I doubled the soy sauce and added extra sugar. The sugar didn't "dissolve" for me in the soy so I heated it in a small sauce pan until the sauce started to thicken. I also used cooked spaghetti for the noodles. I added some red pepper flakes to give it a kick of spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Authentic taste. Very good. I used frozen stir-fry vegetables along with fresh onion, green pepper, bean sprouts, and garlic. I didn't have oyster sauce, so I mixed some clam juice with soy sauce as a substitute. Can't wait to try again using oyster sauce and adding meat. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Followed directions, but added plenty of garlic/onion. It just didn't taste like any that I've had at Chinese restaurants. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

    • on August 20, 2007

      I thought this dish came out alright. It was way too sweet. I will make it without the sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      I made this but it was waaaay too salty. I measured everything exactly! I think it was because I had low sodium soy sauce and oyster/fish sauce. It may not have been the type of oyster sauce she intended.. (it is clear and also has high sodium).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Loved it! Have tried many lo main recipes and I know we all like what veggies we like and it tends to be a side dish so I omit the meat and I did leave out the sugar as I served it with General Tso's chicken that had plently of sweetness, the flavor ingredients are right on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I agree with the comment about the rambling instructions but I've made it about 6 times now and know exactly how I like it. It's a great recipe! My fiancé loves Chinese food however I'm not a huge fan, well we both love this dish. Plus I'm a vegetarian, so with a few veggies and some tofu this dish is perfect. The sauce flavors the tofu wonderfully. If you've been looking for a dish to try out tofu with this is the one! But make sure to buy firm or extra firm, you don't want the mushy stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Kickin' good sauce! I doubled the sauce, but halved the sugar, and it produced a much better lo mein sauce than our favorite Chinese restaurant! We'll be making Chinese for dinner more often, now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This does have really great flavor but I found the recipe hard to follow. It read more as a narrative, rather than steps in a recipe. Also, the oil for stir-frying is not listed in the ingredients....I used peanut oil, which is, in my opinion, the oil of choice with a stir-fry of this type...not olive oil. The sauce was very nice. My husband loved this, I liked it too but it was a bit of a trial cooking it, due to the rambling instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      I will have to say this recipe just didn't do it for me. I also used hoisen sauce and maybe that was the reason but I thought it was way to sweet. I would probably not try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Lo Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 682.7
     
    Calories from Fat 328
    48%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2010.7 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.4 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites