Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Three-Cup Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three-Cup Chicken

    Average Rating:

    123 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 123

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2010

      Wow. Really good. I used all the correct ingredients, but I ended up marinating the chicken in the sauce for over a day. Then as I was cooking the chicken, I added the first garlic portion to it. It came out really good. Next time I think I will do the sauteeing of the garlic, etc., and then make the sauce and marinate the whole thing together. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      very good & easy. Next time I will simmer the chicken for 15 minutes instead of 30. Our chicken was a little tough, but the flavor was great. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      It's so good and garlicy! Make sure you have good ventilation when cooking this dish. Can't go wrong with it. Adjustment made: Marinatedd the chicken in the liquid mixture (soy sauce, wine, sugar) 1/2 hour before stir frying process. I suggest that you reduced sugar and soya sauce when cooking, as you might find it too sweet/salty vice versa. You can always taste the dish and add more sugar/soya sauce later. I used rice wine and moscato wine because I didn't have anough. I didn't use basil at all. Result... so tasty I have to eat it right away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      I'm still not sure what I did wrong mine ended up like a salt lick. So salty it was difficult to eat so I had to so something wrong but I am not defeated yet I'm going to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Hot Hot Hot ! i would cut down on the serrano peppers. But so god damn good ! i've cooked this twice and used apple juice in stead of the rice wine the second time around and it turned out grate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      A Ten Star recipe! Outstanding flavor, spicyness and tenderness-can't say enough good things about this entree. Only change I would make next time is to double or triple the sauce. Don't know what oriental basil is so I used fresh chopped ordinary basil. Probably not anything alike but who cares? It was a wonderful meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      This is so good. I couldn't find Thai basil so I omitted it, but we loved it anyway. I will make again and we want to add the basil. I love the spice in this. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Entire family loved it. Used a mix of white wine and gin instead of rice wine and had to use regular basil. All flavors mixed great...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I eat chicken just about every night. and I would have to say that this is easily my favourite recipe. The flavors are all well balanced and the final product tastes exquisite. Definitely make sure that you use fresh ingredients! Also, this recipe freezes and reheats easily for OAMC.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      DH and I made this recipe for dinner tonight and really enjoyed it. I halved the recipe to accommodate the two of us. I was very excited that the dish calls for so much Thai basil as we planted a bunch of it in our garden and thus far, hadn't used it. This has great flavor. Next time, like Sugarpea suggested, we will double or triple the sauce (it is really yummy). Our sauce reduced very quickly and didnt need the whole 30 minutes to thicken, so I would keep my eye on it more closely next time. DH also thought we would keep the amount of serrano the same as you have posted, even when halving the recipe (we like things spicy). He also suggested peanuts might taste nice in this dish. We'll have to try that out. Other than halving the recipe, we followed all ingredients and steps as posted and we will definitely make this again, experimenting with the aforementioned suggestions. Thanks for this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      This was something different to do with the boneless breasts I had. My son was pleased with it and said it tasted really good. I used rice vinegar in place of the wine, since that is what I had, and thought it had a little too much tang. I forgot to pick up the basil at the store and then forgot all about the scallions until after we had already finished eating. I made double the sauce and used half to marinade the cubed chicken for a couple of hours and the other half to used per the recipe. I started cooking this when I put my rice on and left it simmer until the rice was done. Next time I would like to try it with the wine, basil, and scallions. (123)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This Dish was AMAZING! I made it for my mother when she was sick because of all the garlic and ginger. She raved about how delicious it was all night and then when she woke up the next morning she declared that it had cured her of her cold haha! It has been requested more times since than there are days since I cooked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      DEFINATELY the Thai basil is the way to go, TRUE!
      Honestly? Initially was worried about using 20 GARLICS too!
      Used 20 spoonfulls jarred garlic, 10 spoonfulls jarred ginger as has on handy today!
      SAVES HEAPS OF TIME and makes little difference okay?
      This was restaurant quality,
      Of course, I added three heaping pinchfulls of chili!!! LOL
      ONLY thing I did was thicken the sauce, might be personal taste for me,
      Used 2 heaping teaspoons of cornstarch and thickening I did see!
      WHAT A GREAT RECIPE!!! SO glad I did do,
      Nothing best the best rating for this recipe will do!
      Thanks! DEFINITELY the Thai basil is the way to go, TRUE!
      Honestly? Initially was worried about using 20 GARLIC too!
      Used 20 spoonfuls jarred garlic, 10 spoonfuls jarred ginger as has on handy today!
      SAVES HEAPS OF TIME and makes little difference okay?
      This was restaurant quality,
      Of course, I added three heaping pinch fulls of chili!!! LOL
      ONLY thing I did was thicken the sauce, might be personal taste for me,
      Used 2 heaping teaspoons of cornstarch and thickening I did see!
      WHAT A GREAT RECIPE!!! SO glad I did do,
      Nothing best the best rating for this recipe will do!
      Thanks!
      ***UPDATE Made it again today and was EVEN BETTER (as IF that were possible) Added finely diced bok choy and mushrooms; this time instead of waiting the 30 minutes, my bite size chicken was done so added about a tsp or two of Chinese cornstarch dissolved in water to the mix and VOILA!! GREAT again too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      I had to make a few changes because I was missing some ingredients, but this was still fantastic. I subbed rice vinegar for rice wine, crushed red pepper for serrano peppers, and used jarred garlic and ginger instead of fresh. I will definitely be trying this recipe again with all of the correct ingredients, but it seems like a great base recipe to make variations off of also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Great recipe -- I needed something to use up my bumper crop of basil, and this was just the thing! Only changes I'd make next time is to use only one Serrano pepper (or two jalapenos, which are milder) and thicken the sauce with some cornstarch/water.

      Perfect over jasmine rice. Thanks very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      My entire family loved this! Used twenty large cloves of garlic, and minced my ginger rather than using slices. Used fresh basil(not Thai) from my garden. Added the sauce to the raw chicken and let sit for about 30 minutes before I threw the chicken/sauce in the wok with the stir fried garlic mixture and cooked until it reduced. Served with jasmine rice and fresh mango for dessert. My serranos were on the large side, but this wasn't overly spicy, even for my kids. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I tried this chicken in Taiwanese restaurant before, therefore I decided to DIY it at home. By using this recipe the cooking result is better than what we get locally. I put in 50g of Thai basir leaf, it really give the dish a slight peppery kick. Home grown basil leaf is always taste the best and it can be grown effortlessly by sticking stem into soil. Lisa( www.bakingfrenzy.com)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

    • on January 19, 2011

      Fantastic recipe and very simple to make! I can never find fresh basil and I always double the sauce, but it still turns out great. This is probably my favorite Chinese dish and because I don't have to order it, it's even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Unfortunately, my family was looking forward to this dish. But being a new cook, naively used 2 cups of dry basil...after doing that, realized that was a huge mistake and should have been fresh basil. Now I know, the meal was ruined, I don't doubt it would have been good, but never got the chance to try it. Also, upon tasting before I added the basil, realized this is a very spicy dish. So kids may not favor this if you make it for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three-Cup Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 668.4
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    53%
    Total Fat 39.4 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1491.2 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 52.1 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes