Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Szechuan Style Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechuan Style Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2009

      This was EXCELLENT!! I love the flavors. I made this as written, except I only had 1/2 tablespoon fresh ginger. The ginger flavor was pretty strong, so next time I make this I will cut it back to 1/2 tablespoon ginger again. I plan to replace the eggplant with scallops the next time I make this. I would recommend this for anyone that likes a sweet/spicy flavor. This tastes like it was made in a Chinese restaurant. Thank you for posting, Sue!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This is a winner!! Simply fabulous. Be warned, you'd better wear clean socks when you serve, because your guests will be kissing your feet. But in addition to all the well-deserved raves here, I have a revolutionary tip: Instead of serving this hot, refrigerate it and serve next day, or even better, a few days later, upon which it acquires a sinfully, 'cannot stop eating this' flavor. Trust me. Served cold and after at least two days (three is better), this is an astonishing dish. Also, at the very least double the sauce amount. I will make this over and over. It is already legend in my family....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      This is awesome!!! I doubled the sauce and used chili garlic sauce, its this Chinese sauce sambal Olek. It came out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      This was DELICIOUS! I had too keep adding a lot of oil during cooking, but that doesn't bother me in the least. I also doubled the garlic and red pepper to give it more of that Szechuan kick. I'm definitely making this again. Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

    • on December 14, 2011

      I love this recipe. I have made it so many times now, and it is wonderful every time. Today I did not have water chestnuts so I used sliced bamboo shoots. I also wanted to reduce calories so used less oil and used water instead of chicken stock. It was still amazing. I do tend to put a bit more of both ginger and garlic, and I am always generous with soya sauce. I also love that you can vary ingredients - some people suggested pork and bell peppers, this definitely works too. A dish to remember and delight in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Very good and so simple to make. T will be adding this recipe to my rotation. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I loved this!! I used a regular big purple eggplant, subbed red bell pepper for the water chestnuts, and left out the brown sugar. I'm pretty sure I overcooked the eggplant a little, but it was still SO good (just a little mushy). My husband wasn't quite as excited about it as I was, but he liked it. I also liked the leftovers cold the next day. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This was very tasty! I omitted the water chestnuts and scallions, and added cubed tofu. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

    • on August 04, 2009

      I did not have 6 eggplants so I used 3 but made the same amount of sauce. I did use less oil than called for also. It was good. I did overcook the eggplant so it was a bit mushy. Next time I will watch more carefully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Mmm mmm! What a delicious alternative to eating out. Eggplant really is an underrated vegetable. The flavor really shines in this dish. I Used one regular eggplant, peeled it, and added two dashes of liquid smoke to the cooking. Next time as a twist I think I'll add red bell peppers and fried tofu, while doubling the sauce. So good, my mouth is watering for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I'm going to be making this a lot! It hits the spot when I'm tempted to order takeout instead, which is high praise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Holy smokes! This is good stuff. I omitte the water chestnuts (had none on-hand), omitted the peanut oil, and halved the sesame oil. What a winner! I'm off to convert some eggplant-haters into addicts. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Very good, and easy...will def save this one as a side dish for when we make asian food =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Good taste! I too used a regular eggplant. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I think I should just repeat ChicagoRN's review! Flavour and texture were incredible. I also used a regular eggplant. The instructions were spot on. It does cook down in that quantity of oil and gets a nice caramelised edge to it too. I would skip the chili for my daughter next time but I loved it. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      HOLY COW!! This was "knock-my-socks-off" GREAT!!!!!!! If you like eggplant and asian food this is a true home run. I used a regular large eggplant. I doubled all the stated sauce (and was glad I did to allow me to serve it over rice!). In place of the crushed red peppers I used 1 tablespoone of sambal oelek and I doubled the amount of water chestnuts. I didn't have dark sesame oil so I used regular sesame oil and added the stated amount of toasted sesame seeds. Just wonderful!!! The flavors were incredible...the texture was incredible. I even added a scoop of more sambal oelek to serve it over the finished product (I was in the mood for something really spicy!) and it was pure heaven. Will DEFINITELY make this one again. Thank you so much for posting. We adored it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I love Jap eggplant and I loved this meal. It reminds me of a dish I had a few years ago and liked so much I still remember how delicious it was. I only used 3 eggplants because I wanted to use some tofu. I might use only 1 tsp of sesame oil next time but you will hear no complaints from me. This dish is delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      lovely dish. attempted to recreate my favourite dish from a chinese restaurant back home, and this came really close! i pan fried the eggplant in a non-stick pan on low heat without oil to reduce the calories. omitted the water chestnut and added a tsp of chilli paste. i will reduce the rice wine vinegar to 1tbsp next time as the taste was a bit strong. otherwise, delicious! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechuan Style Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (889 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.4
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    44%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 445.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 29.0 g
    116%
    Sugars 23.5 g
    94%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites