Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Szechuan Noodles With Spicy Beef Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechuan Noodles With Spicy Beef Sauce

    Average Rating:

    307 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 307

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      this was delicious, and so easy. i made it to go with several other asian style dishes, it was the first to disappear

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Based on the previous reviews I decided to use 2 tbsp oyster sauce, 2 tbsp hoisin sauce and 3 tbsp soysauce. I also used ground chicken and chicken broth. The flavour was fantastic and it was super easy to throw together. Next time I will add som vegetables like cabbage, snowpeas. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      Russell cooked this for our dinner tonight. He said it was fast, and easy to make, and I reckon it was fantastic to eat! Such a yummy way to use mince and vermicelli. Thanks Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This one really surprised me! Followed the recipe exactly and it tasted amazing! It really kills the monotony of the same ol' ground beef dishes. It had the perfect Asian kick that I love. The ginger gave it an amazing flavor. This one was gobbled up fast! No leftovers on this dish! My picky 19 year old daughter even loved it...onions and all!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I wasn't sure about this, since it has hoisin (which I'm not a huge fan of on its own) but it turned out somewhat reminiscent of sesame noodles. Instead of beef broth, I always use a bouillon sachet mixed in water (cheaper and portion controlled). We ate this with linguine instead of vermicelli. I also reduced the hoisin to 4 tablespoons with success. Omitted the green onion as well as we didn't have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Make sure you like hoisin sauce before making this recipe. Taste the sauce from the bottle first. I'm sure if you like hoisin, this is fantastic. However, if you find the taste of the sauce from the bottle is not your preference, this dish may not be for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This is my husband's absolute favorite meal. Definitely something different! I literally throw everything into the crockpot except for the noodles and let it cook all day. I don't even brown the onions or meat in sesame oil beforehand, I just throw it all in raw. Then serve it over noodles. I do up the soy sauce by 1 TBSP and I only use 2 TBSP of hoisin sauce like others suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Came across this recipe just looking for something different to do with ground beef....well actually antelope. This recipe is very easy and even tastier. Will definitely add to the rotation. I used stir fry noodles instead of spaghetti....turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Loved this!! made with thin whole wheat spaghetti and extra crushed red peppers...we love spicy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      I made a vegan version by subbing the hoisin for soy sauce and the beef for red beans. Good meal! Just the right amount of spicy, easy to prepare, and the beans stand in really well for the beef. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      As is, it's too spicy for me but my husband and son enjoy it. They gave it the 4 star rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      March 8, 2010 Tasted pretty good. We didn't find it too sweet at all..... Thanks for posting :) Update April 29, 2010 - The more I make this the more I love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      This was a nice concept of a meal, but it just didn't work for us. We LOVE spicy food, but even I felt that 1 tsp of crushed red pepper was too over the top. I used part Sesame Oil, part canola oil, but otherwise followed the recipe to a 't'. My lips were on fire and I couldn't taste anything but hot, and occasionally I tasted plain ground beef. But,Before I added the red pepper, I enjoyed the taste of the sauce. I guess I should have followed the cardinal rule: you can always add MORE red pepper, but you can never take it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This turned out really good! My daughter was in the mood for lo mein and we had some leftover cooked pork loin so we put it together with this sauce. Easy and flavorful. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I came across this recipe while trying to find something new for ground beef. I wasn't quite sure that my DH would like it, but he did. In fact, he loved it! Thanks for the post - I will definitely make this dish again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      We have this at least once a month. It is an easy and yummy recipe that we love! We generally use whole wheat noodles and add in extra carrots with the onions for some extra nutritional value. Thanks for the great recipe, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Delicious and quick enough to make on weeknights! This has become a favorite in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      Very tasty and easy! I cut the hoisin (as mentioned by others) to 2 tb and upped the soy by about 1 tb. I also only used 1/4 tsp red pepper (I'm a spice weenie) and my husband adjusted his serving's heat using chili paste. We enjoyed it immensely, and will definitely make it again! It's a great recipe that can be adjusted in all sorts of ways according to the intended audience or the mood of the cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Good and quick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Very torn about this review. When I review a recipe, I usually divide it in half and make it the original post and then add my changes. So here is the review.

      First, I really didn't like the texture of the ground beef. I asked my butcher to take a round steak and rough grind it. It gave me a more steak like texture and that made a huge difference for me in the overall taste.

      Second, I didn't find too much red pepper, it was fine for me.

      Third, I did add broccoli because it was just to one dimensional for me, it need some texture and different flavors. I did use fresh broccoli and some fine match stick sliced carrots, just for a little crunch. I think that helped.

      Overall the flavor was good, I used a good szechuan noodle but the sauce was not bad.

      As one poster mentioned, it reminded them of an Asian Sloppy Joe over noodles. I agree in a way. That is why I think the carrots and broccoli and the meat texture really changed the texture, but not necessarily the flavor. I purchased my ground sirloin right at the regular grocery store. I just asked the butcher to rough grind it for me, or you can do it yourself at home. I think it really helped the overall recipe.

      I will try it again with a few changes. 3 stars for the texture and presentation; but 4 for the overall flavor
      Thx, Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechuan Noodles With Spicy Beef Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.0
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    37%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 77.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1097.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites