Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet & Spicy Cashew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet & Spicy Cashew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2009

      I really likes this. My DH and girls likes it too. I thought there was a little bit too much of a ketchup taste for me, but it was still really good. Next time I won't add as much ketchup and more soy sauce...play around with it some. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      This was an instant hit. The chicken turned out moist and tender. I also noticed a rather strong ketchup taste, but I used some fresh pureed chili pepper in place of a small amount of the ketchup and I added extra ginger (dried since I didn't have time to mince more fresh) at the end to conceal it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe. It is exactly like the one I learned how to make in High School. I had lost the recipe years ago and have missed it dearly. I did double the sauce (thinking ahead) so I could cook up some Spatzle noodles to change it up a little for another night's dinner. This will be made again and again! Even my picky husband loved it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Made exactly as directed, and very much enjoyed! Easy to follow directions made for a quickly prepared and delicious meal .... always remember to prepare in advance for this kind of dish, then it is ready before you know it. Served over steamed rice. Thank you Katie! made for Chinese/Vietnamese New Year tag game, Asian Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I've been using my same cashew chicken recipe for years, so I figured I'd try something new. I have to say I was not impressed with this recipe. The sauce was bland and did not taste very authentic. I think I'll stick to my own recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This was delicious and fairly easy. I was a bit worried given the amount of ingredients, but don't let that scare you. Husband and kids liked it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Delicious! Very easy and tasty. I didn't put in the cashews and it was still great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I were plesantly pleased.....I used 1 1/2 lbs of chicken tenders, THOUGHT I had carrots at home but found out to late that I didn't so left them out, added canned water chestnuts and fresh broccoli.....I did as another person and cooked my chicken completely through before moving on. Next time I am going to play with the veggies....and there will be a next time.....served with fried rice for a wonderful meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      DH said 10 STARS! This is a great meal. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us with just a little leftover. Not only is the flavor great but it is so pretty to look at with all the veggies. Served with egg rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      awesome. I used just two chicken breasts for the 4 of us and that was plenty of meat. I didn't have mushrooms, but did use a zucchini. Otherwise I followed the ingredients exactly. I did cook the chicken all the way by itself so it was crispy, then took it out of the pan and finished everything else and added the chicken back in at the last minute. this is a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This was fabulous! We used to go to Chinatown in Vancouver and have chicken with cashews and we loved it. But this recipe, with its bit of heat and lots of veggies is even better! I used half a red pepper and half an green pepper and it was beautiful to look at too. I thought there were a few too many cashews, but the rest of my family thought it was just right. It looks like a lot of work, but you can do all the prep and just cook it at the last minute. I served this with rice and Uncle Bill's Beef and Broccoli (recipe 81207), for a much-better-than-Chinese-restaurant meal. Thanks for posting, Katie4998!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I made this last night and it was DELICIOUS! I do not cook frequently, but had I served this to guests, they certainly would have thought so! I agree w/ the other reviewers in that it definitely rivals similar dishes at asian restaurants...except this is fresh and better tasting! :) I love all the vegetables and there is plenty of chicken...not to mention a kick from the cayenne. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Unbelievable!!! I just moved and I'm living out of boxes and it was so nice to have a meal to make that is easy and tastes so good! I did need to add a little extra salt and I don't usually like to do that, but it needed it. Otherwise, this was superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This recipe is amazing. I have made it twice and we love it - I'd say it can rival cashew chicken I've had in great Thai restaurants. I double the veggies and I also add baby bok choy. Great recipe katie4998!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Wow, this was beyond exceptional. Great combination of veggies and perfect blend of spicy sweet (I also used some red pepper flakes for a little more kick). Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      You just don't mess with perfection. Easy, fast and mouth-watering. This is a new once-a-month recipe for this household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      I did not have all of my ingredients prepared ahead of time, so this ended up frying for a little too long and lacked the desired crispness. I've learned my lesson on that one. The cashews didn't fare well during leftover reheating--next time I will reserve them so they can be sprinkled on each portion directly prior to eating rather than being put in the stir fry itself. I look forward to perfecting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      My dish looked like the photos posted which was what attracted me to the recipe in the first place. It is a beautiful dish. The dish was easy to make and very good. I followed the recipe and used the recommended veggies, etc. Follow this recipe it was written well. I did add hot chili paste instead of the cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      We had your recipe yesterday, it was quite good, my son loved the chicken, but for we it was far too "ketchupy". Maybe German Ketchup is different or I have a different kind of measuring cups... I also had to double the sauce, as I love lots of it. So, five stars from my son, three stars from me. Maybe I'll try again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Best chicken recipe I've ever found. It was so delicious...I served it to all my friends and it went out in five minutes! Definetly one recommended..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet & Spicy Cashew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.3
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    51%
    Total Fat 29.6 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1116.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 33.4 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes