Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet & Sour Popcorn Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet & Sour Popcorn Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      Very easy. Lots of sauce. Used entire bag of Popcorn Chicken from Costco. I baked the chicken and didn't coat with sauce until we served.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Pretty good! My husband loved it. I omitted the onion (personal preference) and used the whole bag of popcorn chicken. I ended up keeping the popcorn chicken out separate from the dish, and added it as plates were made. I learned from the last time that I made it that reheated, the chicken is soggy and gross! Best to just allow it to be mixed into the sauce as needed if the dish won't be eaten all at once. The sauce is a bit overpowering, but still not sure how to combat that, even with multiple variations tried. Maybe... perhaps it's just me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      My whole family loved this! Hubby thought it was even better on the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Very good and easy. Family really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      this was very good and easy to make. my family liked it. will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Sorry, did not like it at all! Sounded good at first look but when I cooked it, the sauce was not very tasty. I followed the recipe as is. The sauce is making the breading on the chicken very mushy. So I suggest to serve the sauce as a dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I thought this was a great idea! Using the popcorn chicken made it easy to feed 3 hungry kids quickly. I thought the chicken tasted great after sitting in the sauce for a few minutes, very Chinese Restaurant-ish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I gave this 5 stars. This was so quick and so yummy! My family loved this recipe. I've made this a couple times since my first review. My 5 yrs old newphew had 2 bowls even after a salad and this was a way early dinner. I served the chicken over white rice. I used prepared popcorn chicken and when I first added the chicken the taste of the chicken was ok. I used Fast Fixin's popcorn chicken. After the chicken was in for a bit and it absorbed the sauce it was great and tasted wonderful. The only change I made was to add a large red pepper the first time I made this recipe. The second time I made this recipe I didn't have a red pepper and I made it without it and it tasted just as good. I liked it better without the pepper. We will for sure have this again hands down. Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      The sauce was amazing. I kept the chicken separate till the end like some of the reviews mentioned...and it turned out great. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      No usually a fan of Chinese food, but this dish made me a believer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      This is a really fun way to have sweet and sour chicken at home. Quick and easy for a weeknight - which is what I really appreciate about it. It makes a weeknight a little different than the norm. I do recommend, however, bringing the sauce and the chicken to the table in separate bowls. I followed the directions and mixed the sauce in with the chicken. The breading on the chicken gets a little mushy after awhile - don't get me wrong it's not bad - still delicious, but I think next time I'll put the sauce in its own bowl so that we can spoon it over the chicken as we eat it. I served this with Mock Wonton Soup #31971 - another creative dish where you use tortellini instead of wontons. Thanks you for such a fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      This is a great idea and a quick meal, but for me the sweet and sour sauce was way too sweet and overpowered the taste of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      We loved this!!!! I had been given a bag of popcorn chicken and had no idea what to do with it! I did follow the advice of others and kept the chicken seperate until served, and it was delicious! I have other favorite sweet and sour recipes, and I have always bought the sauce, now I will just use this in the future! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Very good taste and easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      We really enjoyed this recipe! I made it for dinner last night and it was very easy to put together and the flavor was great. I did take Aggiezoey's advice and kept the chicken separate from the sauce and that worked out wonderfully. I will be making this recipe again ~ thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet & Sour Popcorn Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.0
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    14%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 359.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 42.1 g
    168%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    popcorn chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites