15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy. Lots of sauce. Used entire bag of Popcorn Chicken from Costco. I baked the chicken and didn't coat with sauce until we served.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MFuhri March 14, 2011

Pretty good! My husband loved it. I omitted the onion (personal preference) and used the whole bag of popcorn chicken. I ended up keeping the popcorn chicken out separate from the dish, and added it as plates were made. I learned from the last time that I made it that reheated, the chicken is soggy and gross! Best to just allow it to be mixed into the sauce as needed if the dish won't be eaten all at once. The sauce is a bit overpowering, but still not sure how to combat that, even with multiple variations tried. Maybe... perhaps it's just me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitterylynne August 07, 2012

My whole family loved this! Hubby thought it was even better on the second day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kewpiecyster April 16, 2012

Very good and easy. Family really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina Kriechel December 25, 2011

this was very good and easy to make. my family liked it. will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cavazosfidel March 21, 2009

Sorry, did not like it at all! Sounded good at first look but when I cooked it, the sauce was not very tasty. I followed the recipe as is. The sauce is making the breading on the chicken very mushy. So I suggest to serve the sauce as a dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dramatic plum-pudding February 20, 2009

I thought this was a great idea! Using the popcorn chicken made it easy to feed 3 hungry kids quickly. I thought the chicken tasted great after sitting in the sauce for a few minutes, very Chinese Restaurant-ish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salt Lake Meal Swapping December 04, 2008

I gave this 5 stars. This was so quick and so yummy! My family loved this recipe. I've made this a couple times since my first review. My 5 yrs old newphew had 2 bowls even after a salad and this was a way early dinner. I served the chicken over white rice. I used prepared popcorn chicken and when I first added the chicken the taste of the chicken was ok. I used Fast Fixin's popcorn chicken. After the chicken was in for a bit and it absorbed the sauce it was great and tasted wonderful. The only change I made was to add a large red pepper the first time I made this recipe. The second time I made this recipe I didn't have a red pepper and I made it without it and it tasted just as good. I liked it better without the pepper. We will for sure have this again hands down. Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut April 03, 2008

The sauce was amazing. I kept the chicken separate till the end like some of the reviews mentioned...and it turned out great. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened February 05, 2008

No usually a fan of Chinese food, but this dish made me a believer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandraroberts January 23, 2008
Sweet & Sour Popcorn Chicken