29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a few friends over for an appetizer party and I served this sauce over meatballs. It was a hit with everyone. So easy to throw together at the last minute. Thank you so much Caryn. :-)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 24, 2003

This was a good recipe. I gave it three stars because I liked it an will make it again with one modification...I made as written but felt like it was missing something and since there is no amount for the pineapple I used a large 20oz can. I found the pineapple to be over powering; but like I said, you didn't give an amount. You also didn't tell us what type of vinegar. There are many types...I used white and I think this is the way to go. I doubled the rest of the ingredients and added 2 Tbsp ketchup. I think the ketchup is what brought this around for me. I also used green bell pepper, red bell pepper, onion, and thin sliced carrot as this is what the Chinese restaurants use. I then tossed in fried popcorn chicken and served it with Jasmine rice. All in all very good and I'll make it again. I took off one star simply because this isn't a 5 star recipe by nature and another star for the fact that the recipe wasn't clear and it did need some touching up to bring it up to "very good" IMHO. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse July 10, 2011

this sauce was amazing over meatballs, made tonight for dinner but can't wait to make again for company! This one's going into my favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse October 03, 2009

Caryn....Made your sauce for meatballs for pre-Christmas treats with my family.What a great flavor and such a hit with everyone!!! A keeper for sure - thank you so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistralwnd January 09, 2009

The only complaint my picky BF had about this sauce is that I didn't make enough! This was delicious. I served it over homemade meatballs and rice and we were literally scraping the bottom of the pan to get the last bits! I didn't have cornstarch on hand but the consistency was still great. I left out the red pepper but I did stir in a tablespoon of chinese chili sauce (we like it spicy) and it was perfect. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrownSugarChef November 18, 2008

I realized we were out of store bought sauce when I was cooking my egg rolls. I found this recipe and whipped it up in 10 minutes. I loved it. I did not put the pineapple or peppers, but I will next time because it will only make it more amazing tasting. No more store bought for this household. Thanx.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dankim13 November 04, 2007

This was a good sweet and sour sauce. I did have trouble getting it to thicken and had to triple the cornstarch. I also do not recommend it for Armour original flavored meatballs. They do not meld well. I think it would be great with Italian or homemade meatballs. I used one large green pepper and one small onion, and they were great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burned Toast July 26, 2006

This sauce is easy and tasty. Takes a few minutes to whip up and I served it with meatballs. I also used crushed pineapple as that was all I had on hand, and it worked out just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany April 16, 2006

Made this for a meatballs. and it was very good! Will make this for sure again...thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Ranta January 18, 2004

Yummy. I used this sauce on meatballs for our game day party and these were a hit. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 08, 2014
Sweet N Sour Sauce for Meatballs and Wings