Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet N Sour Sauce for Meatballs and Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet N Sour Sauce for Meatballs and Wings

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2003

      I had a few friends over for an appetizer party and I served this sauce over meatballs. It was a hit with everyone. So easy to throw together at the last minute. Thank you so much Caryn. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      This was a good recipe. I gave it three stars because I liked it an will make it again with one modification...I made as written but felt like it was missing something and since there is no amount for the pineapple I used a large 20oz can. I found the pineapple to be over powering; but like I said, you didn't give an amount. You also didn't tell us what type of vinegar. There are many types...I used white and I think this is the way to go. I doubled the rest of the ingredients and added 2 Tbsp ketchup. I think the ketchup is what brought this around for me. I also used green bell pepper, red bell pepper, onion, and thin sliced carrot as this is what the Chinese restaurants use. I then tossed in fried popcorn chicken and served it with Jasmine rice. All in all very good and I'll make it again. I took off one star simply because this isn't a 5 star recipe by nature and another star for the fact that the recipe wasn't clear and it did need some touching up to bring it up to "very good" IMHO. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Made this for a meatballs. and it was very good! Will make this for sure again...thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      I would recommend this recipe very tastey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I usually double it up, and leave out the peppers. Hubby loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      AWESOME, flavorful wings. Substituted crushed pineapple for chunks. Made for superbowl party- everyone RAVED about how great they were. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I thought this was decent tasting and quick to throw together. I would have enjoyed a much thicker sauce and some extra spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      DH rated this one 5 big stars! Made some homemade meatballs and added this sauce over the meatballs and brown rice. Very tasty meal served with some acorn squash! Thanks for a quick sauce and hearty meal idea on a cold, rainy night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      It was good, but a bit bland. Didn't have any peppers so I caramelized an onion to add. I used red wine vinegar. Perhaps next time I will add a dash of tabasco for some "umf". It was a quick dish, though, that's always a plus ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I made this to serve over meatballs. I used the large can of pineapple chunks (20 ounces - I think). This had good flavor and was quick and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I had to hurry and make a quick appetizer and fortunately had some frozen meatballs. So, I whipped up this sauce using 16oz of pineapple juice, since you don't have it listed! I added a bit more br.sugar and a bit more cornstarch. Took it to a party and everyone liked it. I'll be using this recipe more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      this sauce was amazing over meatballs, made tonight for dinner but can't wait to make again for company! This one's going into my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Outstanding. The local Ladies club used to make these when they catered weddings and such and they were always a big hit! I thought the recipe had been lost to me. Thank you Caryn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Super delicious and so easy to make! I chose to use the sauce on meatballs and served them over rice. From start to finish, dinner was ready in about 20 minutes. Made for the Cooking With Sauces Tag Game in the Asian forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I made Kittencal's Low-Fat Parmesan Turkey Meatballs and thought this sauce would be good on them. It was definitely sweet and sour! I lightly covered the meatballs in the sauce and they were so good! My 2 year old wasn't thrilled though - she made that sour face. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I just made this and am eating it now! Quick, easy and and all ingrediants on hand. This is the best S&S I've found and can adapt to your preferences. (I like more vinegar) Plan to put this over meatballs for a Super Bowl party. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Caryn....Made your sauce for meatballs for pre-Christmas treats with my family.What a great flavor and such a hit with everyone!!! A keeper for sure - thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This is without a doubt the best s&s sause recipe out there, it is simply delisious and so easy to make. I added some fresh chopped tomato (1/2-3/4 chunks) and 4 drops of red food coloring. Made this and put over swedish meatballs for a get together at the local beer joint, at least 10 people asked me for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      The only complaint my picky BF had about this sauce is that I didn't make enough! This was delicious. I served it over homemade meatballs and rice and we were literally scraping the bottom of the pan to get the last bits! I didn't have cornstarch on hand but the consistency was still great. I left out the red pepper but I did stir in a tablespoon of chinese chili sauce (we like it spicy) and it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Excellent! So easy and so delicious! It's a keeper. I served it over meatballs. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet N Sour Sauce for Meatballs and Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    33%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 173.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pineapple chunks in juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites