Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2004

      This was good - but I modified second batch by using 1/4 c. white sugar and 2/4 c. brown sugar. Also tried it with chili sauce instead of catsup and my hubby liked it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This sauce was really good. I made it today and served it with chicken nuggets. It was even better than the one you usually get in chinese restaurants. Next time I may try it with chili sauce, but it really is great just as it is. I will definitly make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This is great, and easy I added it to some breaded boxed shrip...cooked some minute rice and frozen oriental vegetables...and PRESTO chinese take out...!!!thnaks. Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Thank you for the quick, easy, and good sweet and sour sauce recipe. Egg rolls were in the oven when we realized we were basically out of sauce. We didn't have ginger on hand and it was still good, but we look forward to trying it with the ginger - and maybe some garlic and red pepper flakes. Nice balance of sweet/sour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Great recipe, I excluded the msg and used fresh ginger. Would recommend for a good sweet and sour sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      I absoulutely loved this easy recipe for sweet and sour sauce! I pour it over veggies, rice, eggrolls and my family loves it! I have also added sesame seeds for added texture. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Am making wontons tonight and realized I was out of S&S . I made this almost as described. I subbed veg oil for olive oil since I didn't have any, I used powdered ginger instead of fresh and chinese chili sauce instead of tabasco (I broke the bottle last week). I tripled the chili and omitted the msg (don't like it) This smelled great and tasted pretty authentic to me. Oh! I also added a just a little (1 tsp?2?) of rice vinegar at the end. Will make again! Thanks %u2665

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This is a great sauce! I did make a few changes, based on personal preference. I lowered the sugar to 1/3 c, omitted the msg and white pepper and replaced the ketchup with 2 Tbs chili sauce. I made some asian style meatballs, served with the sauce over basmati rice. DH and I both enjoyed it. It was too spicy for 2 year old daughter with the addition of the chili sauce, so she got meatballs with plum sauce. thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I didn't change a thing, just made it the way you described and I love it! I thinks it's 95% like the Chinese restaurants make it in the Netherlands, the 5% is probably because the restaurant use cheaper ingredients (something else then ketchup I guess). Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I am giving one star because it actually looked like sweet and sour sauce.. the taste on the other hand was not good. I see that a lot of people left out 3-4 of the ingredients and I think that would have been better.. especially not adding the Olive Oil and MSG...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is really good sweet and sour sauce. I omitted white pepper, tabasco sauce, ginger paste and olive oil. It still turned out really good. Thanks for posting! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      With 50 reviews already posted, I may be reiterating the comments of other chefs! This is a delicious sauce that doesn't need to be restricted to Chinese food. Being so quick & easy to throw together using normal pantry ingredients (and no pineapple juice), it was perfect for transfoming my ready-made meatballs into a delicious appetizer. Like many others, I skipped the MSG and used a ketchup/chili combo. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Wow, this is delicious! I chose this recipe because it didn't have a lot of ketchup. Like others, I didn't use msg but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This will be a staple (we love sweet & sour). Thanks, SwoR, for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Delicious sweet & sour sauce. The best I have ever made, certainly one of the best I have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly, minus the msg, and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Superb!! I don't use the MSG, and add some hotter peppers for flavor, but this recipe is tops just the way it is. My kids love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I made this for my husband who is a super fussy eater and will eat only certain restraunt's sweet and sour chicken and he gave it the thumbs up. I used rice vinegar and subbed 1/2 tsp of powdered ginger and instead of white pepper I used Morton's Nature seasonings. I also used a 1/4 tsp of chile sauce instead of tabasco. my family doesn't go for super spicey but he likes this one. Since the nearest chinese place is 30 min away I was glad to find one so good. The jarred stuff just isn't the same. It was very easy to make, I did have to strain out the couple corn starch lumps before the third step but that was my fault not the instructions :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      I thought this sauce was very close to the one served at the Chinese restaurant up the street. It was very good, maybe a little too sweet. Might try decreasing the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Perfect sauce to go with my potstickers for the kids. I can never find the "pink sauce" that they ask for and this was just that. I will never look again this is it. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great recipe, maybe a bit too sweet if used as a dip but as an incorporation to chicken or pork or veggies is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Perfect to use for fried shrimp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.5
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    14%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    107%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    msg

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes