Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet and Sour Pork Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Pork Balls

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2002

      Very tasty! The sesame oil gives the meatballs a wonderful flavor. Recipe doesnt say how much water to use with the cornstarch, I used 1 tsp.The sauce didn't need any more thickening. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      A great dish! I found that the sesame oil added a really nice flavour to the meat. I had a bit of trouble getting the meat to stick together when I was frying the pork balls, but it turned out ok. I think next time I may bake the meatballs ahead of time in the oven and freeze them already baked, I think that would make it a great "make ahead" meal. The sauce was very good and the vegetables were a perfect blend of flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      The first things my DH said as he walked through the door was, "Something smells good!" Then, after the meal he said I should add this to my cooking repertoire! Plus, both he and my youngest daughter has seconds! So, your recipe was a hit! I didn't have sesame seed oil, nor dry sherry, nor tomato paste. So, I added a little ground ginger to the meat mixture; used apple juice instead of the sherry, and used ketchup instead of the tomato paste (I skipped the white wine vinegar, since ketchup has vinegar in it) I also substituted celery for the green pepper, since green peppers aren't my family's favorite. Anyway, the flavor may have been completely different from the original recipe, but it was a success and I credit you for the inspiration! I plan on trying it again...with the sesame seed oil, tomato paste...etc! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      Great balls of fire! My family absolutely adore them. They are so good to serve as an appetizer or with steamed rice. I was out of time so I made the pork balls and just used the ready made sweet and sour sauce (Chicken Tonight- Sweet and Sour Sauce). and still came out GOOD. Definitely a quick and easy one to make and serve for unexpected guest when u dont have much time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      These are fantastic. Love the sesame flavour through the meatballs. Another recipe where I was able to put everything together in the morning and then just cooked them at night. Sue L gives a great hint here to keep your hands wet when shaping meatballs, I feel this is really important to do this as it stops the meat from sticking and breaking apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      very good - this is definitely being added to our rotation! I added broccoli just because I had it and it fit in just perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I love sweet and sour anything and this sounded so good. I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. I didn't even need to add any extra thicking. Just the right amount of sweet and sour, not over powered by any one part. Served over steamed rice and DH is already asking when we can have it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      We loved this, the best sweet and sour sauce I have tried, and so easy! I baked the meatballs at 425F for 25 minutes like a previous reviewer did, and they stuck together great when mixing in with everything else. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Best Asian sauce ever! Now that I'm fortified with all these Asian recipes made for ZWT #6 Asian tag, I was wishfully thinking about participating in an exchange-a-chef program with someone in, maybe...let's say, Hong Kong. Only thing holding me back is my proper pronunciation of the Chinese language. Wudn't wan ta insult anyone wit my sout La-weee-seee-anna slant in China, ya know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      These were fabulous! So tasty and so easy to make. Fussy hubby loved them and so did the kids. They'll be a regular in our kitchen from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Excellent instructions. I baked the meat balls instead at 425 degrees F for 25 minutes. Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Loved em!! Another commenter noted how they were difficult to stick together while cooking, I added a bit of oats till they stuck together. Roll the balls small too so they are actually bite size, I think this makes a difference. My husband isnt really a sweet and sour kinda guy but he liked them! I will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Pork Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 662.8
     
    Calories from Fat 352
    53%
    Total Fat 39.2 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 128.2 mg
    42%
    Sodium 2330.3 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 31.1 g
    124%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites