10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The purpose of the cornstarch in the marinade is to seal in the juices of the meat when frying or stir frying at high heat. Aside for what is already in marinade ingredients, you can also add sherry or rice wine. That is the basic marinade for any type of meat in chinese cooking. Although I did not try this recipe , I could tell that this is pretty much very close to auhtentic sweet and sour recipe. Cornstarch is also use in thickening the sauce. If I will make this recipe, I will cut down on the amount of vinegar and cornstarch that was on sauce. Also for the vegetables you can add sweet onions cut in chunks and carrots (cut thinly) plus green peppers and pineapples. Good luck to you all and happy eating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BHENG D. August 06, 2007

I noticed how two people were confused by the cornstarch being listed in the marinade... I just wanted to tell you that cornstarch is a common marinade ingredient in chinese cooking and gives the meat a velvety texture so I am certain that the original poster of this recipe meant to add cornstarch to the marinade and then dredge the meat again in more cornstarch. This recipe was simple and tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kukukajoo August 05, 2007

Perfect! Beautiful balance and the method produced wonderfully tender pork bursting with flavour. Made as directed other than using one of each green / red bell peppers and cooking the pork in two batches so I could get away using a bit less peanut oil in the wok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J August 18, 2012

The whole family loved this recipe! I used the 1 T. corstarch for the marinade and ended up using 3 T for the sause. I threw about 1/2 cup c.s. into a container to coat the pork in batches before frying. I used rice wine vinegar where the recipe called for water and also added cubed sweet onion. I usually buy about a 5 lb pork loin and will now have to remember to cut a portion off to use for this recipe in the future! Thanks for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol43953 October 26, 2009

Our family loves this sauce and presentation is wonderful. We adapted for chicken and opt out of the double fry to cut fat but always it pleases!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xXcoolio_gurlXx June 09, 2009

Excellent!!!! This is definitely one for my recipe box. I did add thinly sliced carrots and inch-cut onion, and added just a spoonful or so of the pineapple juice to the sauce ... and a splash of vinegar to the marinade ... it turned out delicious! I don't usually deep fry the pork when I make sweet & sour, so this was more work--but worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeborahSu May 17, 2009

Very good! I might cut down a touch on the Catsup next time, but overall, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
williams617 January 26, 2008

I should have read Picholine's review before trying this. He/She has great input regarding this recipe. The cornstarch was listed as part of the sauce. The amount of cornstarch was suspicious. I had to read the recipe once more and remake the sauce. This is a good recipe, however, from a beginner's perspective, this small discrepancy would cause some confusion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramma Dotdu January 18, 2006

Excellent. I might use a bit of chicken broth in the sauce next time, but the whole family loved this version. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmorris3 January 09, 2006

Delicious--very close to restaurant quality. I used boneless loin chops and left out the green peppers. The only other changes are made were to put rice wine in the marinade instead of water and to add pineapple juice to the sauce. The cornstarch was listed as a marinade ingredient, but since step 7 said to coat the meat in cornstarch after marinating, I assumed that meant it didn't actually go in the marinade. In any case, coating the meat in the cornstarch is essential for browning it and texturizing it (I know this because I accidentally forgot to do that with half the batch).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom May 07, 2004
Sweet and Sour Pork