Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet and Sour Chicken Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken Wings

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      I made these for a July 4th cookout and followed the recipe as written, except that I made these in a crockpot. I prepared the chicken as you would for the oven, but I layered the wings in my oval crockpot and then poured the sauce over the wings. I cooked then on low for 8 1/2 hours and they turned out perfectly. They were a big hit at the cookout and were gone almost immediately. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Yum, beautiful blend of flavors yet so simple to put together. I can't really think of many more compliments to add that other reviewers haven't already covered other than to say it's probably also the ultimate in a budget meal as well. A real restaurant quality meal for the cost of a cheeseburger! It was amazing served along with rice and a couple of steamed vegies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Oh my! These were SO yummy! Made these exactly as written and they were awesome! Perfect for a "takeout" dinner at home! Served with rice and eggrolls. Will definately be making this one again! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      forgot the stars ......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I've made these for a get-together with friends a couple of weeks ago, and they were a hit! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't have changed anything. I'm now thinking of trying this sauce with different cuts of chicken or even pork. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Great wings! I liked that the sauce thicken up and was a little sticky on the wings. Breading them in cornstarch gave it a nice light crust that got crunchy. Will be making these again! Made for Best of 2012 Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Made these in the slow cooker, 3 1/2 hours on high was a bit too much in mine, they were falling apart, not merely falling off the bone. Next time I'll do 3 hours and remove the top after 1 to let the sauce thicken up. Very tasty, added some pineapple per I'mPat's recommendation. I'll be making again. Thanks Lavender Lynn! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      HOLY MOLY !! These were great tasting wings. Made recipe exactly as posted, except I put them in a crockpot, and cooked them on high for 3 1/2 hours. At first, I was concerned about the amount of sugar, but there was no need to worry. These were gobbled up in a hurry. FANTASTIC !! Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      O'kay I made some changes to the sauce due to dietary needs, I was only using just under 1k of wings and used 1 cupe of chicken stock, 1/2 cup tomatoe sauce (catsup), 1/2cup sugar 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons soy sauce and then added about 1/4 cup pineapple pieces and about 1/3 cup of the juice they were in from the can to replace the 1 cup of sugar. The end result was oh sweet juicy chicken wings that the DM. DS and I thoroughly enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

    • on February 02, 2009

      Delicious! I would not change a thing! I will definitely make this again using the instructions exactly as written

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      simply wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Tasty, yummy! A different take on sweet and sour from the Chinese version I'm used to. I used boneless chicken breast instead but nevertheless, I love it and the sauce when baked became thick. Served with white rice and oh boy, my craving for sweet and sour's satisfied. Thanks for sharing, Lavender Lynn! Made as a pressie for Aus Recipe Swap#23

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      What a wonderful and simple recipe. I wanted wings last night. But since I usually make the wings that require marinading for hours I decided to try something different. The flavor of the sauce was so wonderful that it ranks right up there with the wings that I let marinade for 24 hours. Frying the wings first makes for a perfect skin that is then covered and cooked with the flavorful sauce. After an hour in the oven, they are sticky and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Have a paper towel handy and enjoy these wings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      These are right up there with the best wings we have ever tasted! Delicious coating that tantalizes the taste buds and has you coming back for more. This recipe will be passed around in my neighborhood and with my family for sure! Prize winning recipe right here for the taking! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      These wings are excellent! Frying them first in the coating makes the skin very nice. The flavor of the sweet and sour seems like something perfectly Hawaiian to me, and not like a Chinese sweet and sour. Great for a luau! Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I gotta tell you..instead of chicken wings i used cut up pork tenderloin. I made the sauce exactly as the recipe says but with the pork and it was fantastic. I too served it with rice and my father who is hard to please thought it was great too. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making it again. I will also try it with the chicken. Fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Awesome wings Lynn! I made for supper tonight to go along with some brown fried rice I made. I doubled the sauce recipe so I could have some to go over my rice. Everything was so good that I couldn't stop eating until I was so full I thought I was going to pop :D The sauce was wonderful! I put these in a safe place, so I won't misplace this one. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      OUTSTANDING!! WOW! These are the best wings I have ever put in my mouth. We really enjoyed these babies :) This is one recipe I will be keeping handy when we want chicken wings, they are THE BEST!! I fellowed the recipe as written and they turned out wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This is very similar to a recipe that I have (and love). The measurements are off slightly but the ingredients and method are the same. You will love this so please try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1157.4
     
    Calories from Fat 528
    45%
    Total Fat 58.6 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 401.9 mg
    133%
    Sodium 1843.3 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.9 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 82.5 g
    330%
    Protein 70.1 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites