Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      I make this regularly. Its easy and delicious. I use only chicken breast. I made it for a party and everyone wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      The sauce was REALLY great =D But i didn't like it when it was cooked with the meat. So next time im going to cook the meat all the way through and then pour the sauce on top =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

    • on March 19, 2008

      My 14 month old loved it... My son ate a bit then said it was to strong...my dh isn't into S&S so we will leave him out of this one. I love it at first then it got to be a bit to strong. I fried the onion and celery and then added the wet ingredients until it thickened just a tad. add my chicken and warmed a minute. Very easy to do. I played around with the ingredients because it was a bit to sweet at first. It wasn't quite as smooth as the restaurants. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Was a mixed review in my house, hubby said too sweet, the kids said to sour, and I loved it. I didn't have crushed pineapple so subbed chunk and I doubled the sauce ingredients. Perfect to me, but seems to need tinkering to please the rest of the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This recipe was so yummy! It was my first attempt at making something like this so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. We made this on a whim so we didn't have any celery, vinegar or green pepper so we omitted those items. However, it didn't change the taste factor at all. The whole family loved it, including my 9-year-old! Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This recipe was absolutely wonderful! It was simple to make and had great flavor- no leftovers! I feel this was better than Chinese restaurants. Had all my coworkers asking me where I got my lunch from, thinking it was takeout! Will definately make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      This was GREAT! The sauce tastes BETTER than the S&S Chicken we get in the Chinese restaurants! I tweaked the recipe a *tiny* bit...I used 1-20 oz. can crushed pineapple, 1 c. ketchup and 2/3 c. brown sugar (along with the "splash" of vinegar) along with 4 good-sized chicken breasts (cut up and browned, according to directions) and veggies according to directions. Next time (there WILL be a next time!) I'll probably use only 3 breasts (along with the increased sauce) because we like our Chinese dishes with plenty of sauce to eat with our rice. I'll probably also include some thinly sliced carrots (for color) and a few pineapple chunks. I'm also planning on some egg rolls or crabmeat rangoon to accompany next time. VERY impressive dish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This was incredibly easy to make. I used by handy food processor to chop the veggies and make the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly and it resulted in a delicious chicken dish. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This stuff rocks my world!!! I used boneless chicken breast and took a chance on making a double batch. Was I sure glad I did! This recipe was very easy to make and had a very sweet and delicious flavor. I'll be making this many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.6
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    45%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 308.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 18.0 g
    72%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites