Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2003

      Excellent! I made this tonight, and it surpassed any expectations I had about it. It was better than my favorite sweet and sour at a local Chinese restaurant. I will be more efficient in making it next time by prepping veggies first, slicing chicken next, then mixing the batter and sauce. After all of that is assembled, it is a breeze. Crisp, tasty batter; lovely tangy s/s sauce, and crispy veggies. What could be better. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. My picky daughter, home from college, is begging for this recipe. I've had it for a few months and just now got around to trying it. It will be a regular from now on. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Overall, this was a good recipe, but a little too sour. I would suggest adding a little more brown sugar (to taste) to the sauce recipe. Also, I suggest only lightly coating the chiken before frying - otherwise all you taste is half-raw batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      I have been using this recipe for a while now and I love it. You really do need to prepare everything before the cooking starts. If I am in a hurry then I just stir fry the chicken without doing the batter, but the sauce is a staple! Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I use a different sauce recipe (fix-it-and-forget-it sweet and sour chicken) that I cook in the crockpot all day and when the family is really in a hurry I just dice up the chicken breasts and throw them in in the morning as well. But for those occasions when I have the time I make the breaded chicken chunks using this recipe. AND THEY ARE PHENOMENAL!!! Better than Chinese takeout, because I control the ingredients, I really pump up the veggie quotient (one whole onion, one large green pepper and 3 carrots, all diced) and fry these babies up. My family never asks for Chinese buffet anymore and for that I'm glad! I'd like to mention that getting the consistency just right was really important to me. I use about 3/4 c of water and it's like a loose pancake batter. I don't like the breading to be really thick and this seems to me to be perfect!!! THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      This was amazing! It was just like a resturant made it in flavor and appearance. Great sauce, great batter. I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used rice vinegar and tasted great. Will make this a lot especially when I want to impress! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      This was very good. I did think that the batter needed something, like salt and pepper. It was a great consistancy and it fried up great,but it needed a little more taste to it. But I will be sure to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      Dead on restaurant style batter for the chicken...excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      I used the serving adjuster and made 40 servings for my staff Holiday party. It took a while to cook all that chicken, but it was AMAZING!!! Everyone LOVED it! I am making some tonight for dinner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 490.7
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    16%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 324.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 51.1 g
    204%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites