Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Steamed and Roasted Whole Duck Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed and Roasted Whole Duck

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      Awesome duck! I've prepared 3 ducks this way now and absolutely love the method and the glaze. I must agree with other reviewers that the aromatics do not seem to impart any flavor to the duck, which has been a disappointment, but not enough for me to downgrade the recipe. I simply won't put those into the duck next time I cook duck. I am raising ducks now and will definitely use this method again. I like the spice rub from this recipe, but will try out different spice rubs just to change it up. But the method results in a beautifully cooked duck. One note, I like to steam the duck breast side down and then flip for roasting. This seems to baste the breast in some of the fats as it renders out in the steaming. Thanks so much for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      This was a very good duck-high praise from my family of duck lovers! We don't get tangerines, so I used mandarine skin instead. I found that it took longer than 5 minutes to reduce the sauce to a stickyglaze, and longer than 1 hour to cook my 1.9kg duck. I basted it several times, and the oven lost heat each time. Still the duck was (almost) the most flavoursome we have eaten-only beaten by a thrice cooked duck we were served at a Malaysian restaurant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This is very reminiscent of those yummy ducks that hang in the windows of Chinatown BBQ stores, yet very easy for me to pull off in my tiny kitchen! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and it came out just as MEAN says....with a 'deep mahogany color' and the flavor is awesome. The picky daughters ate it and loved it. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. Thanks MEAN, good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      this recipe should be credited to Bobby Flay, of the food network, posted 2001. Give credit were do. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This was very tasty! It served 3 adults, with enough leftovers for 2 more meals. I really like this method, as it cuts down on some of the fat. My bird was done after 30 minutes in the oven, but the skin wasn't crispy at that point point. To solve this, I put it under the broiler briefly, which crisped it up nicely. The glaze is also wonderful, I think next time I will use the remainder as a sauce, as I had about half of it left after basting several times. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      DH and I enjoyed this duck recipe last night. We followed all directions and ingredients as posted. I agree with many of Sackville's posted comments. Thank you for this tasty duck recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was my first time ever making duck. Both dh & I were pleasantly suprised! We both liked it. Although, I think I liked it more than he did, because I ate all the left-overs. The glaze was very tasty. I don't know how much more duck I will make in the future, it's more work than chicken. But if I do make it, I'm using your recipe. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This recipe is divine! I used spices my family likes but I followed roasting method and the glaze directions exactly. It made for a moist, tender and very tasty duck. I cooked it to the temperature of 180*. The only thing I would do different, is line my roasting pan with non-stick foil..the pan was a bear to clean. I can't sing the praises of this cooking method enough. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      MMMMMM I made this for dinner when my soon to be in-laws came over for dinner. It turned out FANTASTIC. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      Gorgeous and delicious duck. Great flavors and I could eat the crispy skin all day long. Yum. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      This was very tasty and the skin was crispy yummmmmmy. I used my new rotisserie instead of roasting it, but it came out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh yes, I cooked it for 1 hour 20 minutes and basted it several times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      I asked my wife if I could write the review for her. The man says: The best duck I've ever had! The sauce, we licked from the plate, we put it on our green beens, we sang its praise all dinner long. I'm inspired to take up duck hunting. Great dish! Gracious thanks for sharing this recipe with my wife.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Combined this with the technique in Spicy Roast Duck a La Princess and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      We made this for our Christmas dinner and were quite pleased with it. The skin came out beautifully and the duck was moist. I'm not quite giving it full marks though, since it took far longer for the sauce to boil down into a thick glaze (10-15 minutes) and also because I didn't feel much taste came through from all the fillings. The skin was wonderful, but although the ginger, orange, garlic etc certainly made the duck smell good when it was steaming, the flavour didn't really filter through to the meat. Next time I would make a sauce to go over the duck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      hi mum! (jan s) as a duck lover, this was yummy!. It's great having a mum who is a chef!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed and Roasted Whole Duck

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2924.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2247
    76%
    Total Fat 249.7 g
    384%
    Saturated Fat 83.8 g
    419%
    Cholesterol 481.8 mg
    160%
    Sodium 6757.6 mg
    281%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.0 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 80.5 g
    322%
    Protein 82.0 g
    164%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese five spice powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites