15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome duck! I've prepared 3 ducks this way now and absolutely love the method and the glaze. I must agree with other reviewers that the aromatics do not seem to impart any flavor to the duck, which has been a disappointment, but not enough for me to downgrade the recipe. I simply won't put those into the duck next time I cook duck. I am raising ducks now and will definitely use this method again. I like the spice rub from this recipe, but will try out different spice rubs just to change it up. But the method results in a beautifully cooked duck. One note, I like to steam the duck breast side down and then flip for roasting. This seems to baste the breast in some of the fats as it renders out in the steaming. Thanks so much for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer April 25, 2011

This was a very good duck-high praise from my family of duck lovers! We don't get tangerines, so I used mandarine skin instead. I found that it took longer than 5 minutes to reduce the sauce to a stickyglaze, and longer than 1 hour to cook my 1.9kg duck. I basted it several times, and the oven lost heat each time. Still the duck was (almost) the most flavoursome we have eaten-only beaten by a thrice cooked duck we were served at a Malaysian restaurant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 07, 2003

This is very reminiscent of those yummy ducks that hang in the windows of Chinatown BBQ stores, yet very easy for me to pull off in my tiny kitchen! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and it came out just as MEAN says....with a 'deep mahogany color' and the flavor is awesome. The picky daughters ate it and loved it. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. Thanks MEAN, good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude November 15, 2003

this recipe should be credited to Bobby Flay, of the food network, posted 2001. Give credit were do. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbocskor November 01, 2012

This was very tasty! It served 3 adults, with enough leftovers for 2 more meals. I really like this method, as it cuts down on some of the fat. My bird was done after 30 minutes in the oven, but the skin wasn't crispy at that point point. To solve this, I put it under the broiler briefly, which crisped it up nicely. The glaze is also wonderful, I think next time I will use the remainder as a sauce, as I had about half of it left after basting several times. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH November 01, 2009

DH and I enjoyed this duck recipe last night. We followed all directions and ingredients as posted. I agree with many of Sackville's posted comments. Thank you for this tasty duck recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny March 29, 2008

This was my first time ever making duck. Both dh & I were pleasantly suprised! We both liked it. Although, I think I liked it more than he did, because I ate all the left-overs. The glaze was very tasty. I don't know how much more duck I will make in the future, it's more work than chicken. But if I do make it, I'm using your recipe. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 14, 2007

This recipe is divine! I used spices my family likes but I followed roasting method and the glaze directions exactly. It made for a moist, tender and very tasty duck. I cooked it to the temperature of 180*. The only thing I would do different, is line my roasting pan with non-stick foil..the pan was a bear to clean. I can't sing the praises of this cooking method enough. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely December 20, 2006

MMMMMM I made this for dinner when my soon to be in-laws came over for dinner. It turned out FANTASTIC. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kneeling_redhead January 12, 2006

Gorgeous and delicious duck. Great flavors and I could eat the crispy skin all day long. Yum. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Shelly* February 25, 2005
Steamed and Roasted Whole Duck