8 Reviews

Beware when cooking with fire oil!! The food tasted incredible. It was spicy but still had a lot of flavor.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabine Knedlik March 26, 2002

The best! I've made this twice now with no additions, just added more veggies, and that doesn't really change the recipe. It is indeed very spicy, especially because I use fire oil!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock January 06, 2003

This dish is not for the faint of tongue! I love spicy food and it was almost too much for me. I used Enoki and Shitake mushrooms in place of the eggplant and I added some shrimp too. It was delicious. Vegetarians could add more more vegetables and this would be a delicious meatless dish. The sauce made 1 1/3 cups and I reserved 1/2 cup to stir fry with. If you were to use just veggies this would probably be just the right amount. The Soba noodles helped with the heat some.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn September 30, 2002

I am not much of a spicy food eater, but this one was great!!! I served it over steamed rice, and it was so wonderful. The marinaded chichen made a big difference. Thank you.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerstc January 25, 2002

I love spicy food , and this was good.I made the chicken a let it marinate overnight.I served it with noodles and had a green salad on the side to cool down the heat :) thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
** Poppy ** October 30, 2003

It's important that you like orange-flavored stir-fry for you to enjoy this dish. That was the dominant flavor for us, and, unfortunately, am just not a fan of orange in my Chinese food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexanExpat April 12, 2008

Very good flavor, I put half the marinade on the chicken and let it sit for about 30 minutes. The other half went in the pan at the end of cooking with a slurry of cornstarch and water and boiled for a minute. It made a nice thick sauce that stuck to all the veggies and chicken. Serious spice lovers should use the fire oil, I used peanut oil and could have had it hotter! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 March 15, 2007

I'm not sure if this will over-ride my previous five star review, but I did want to add that I made the marinade from this recipe again last night. I made some additions though...although, believe me, it is just FINE as is! I also asked s'kat if it would be ok for me to post this second review with the changes I made, and she said fine. I added 1 tsp of dry mustard, about 1/4 cup of chili oil, doubled the Thai Spices, doubled the chili-garlic sauce, added freshly minced garlic, 1 tsp of black pepper, and 1 tsp HOT Hungarian Paprika. I had three good sized top sirloin steaks, marinaded them in a plastic bag for about 3 hours, and fired up the grill. DH cooked them medium/rare, sliced them up and served over hot rice. DELISH!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crabzilla April 08, 2005
Spicy Chicken Stir Fry, # 3