Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Simple Stir-fried Udon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Stir-fried Udon

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      I really like the taste of this but the directions were a bit confusing. I haven't worked with udon much and I wasn't sure how long a "few" minutes was, so I boiled the udon and broccoli for 3 minutes. Next time I would try 5 because my udon wasn't quite cooked. Also, since you're supposed to add the noodles separately, it might be helpful to just boil them separately unless you want to pick out the broccoli at the end. I made this vegan by leaving out the meat and egg and using vegetarian oyster sauce. Next time I'll add carrots and bell peppers. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Prepping the ingredients is the most time-consuming part of this recipe; cooking the dish actually takes only 10-15 minutes and is still quite easy to do. I added 1/2 tablespoon of granulated sugar to the sauce ingredients and used Sriracha chili paste instead of the pepper flakes. I also used layers of bok choy instead of the broccoli and threw in some rehydrated Shitake mushrooms. It was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      i didn't have any ham or oyster sauce but made this anyway with all the other ingredients and it tasted great! i doubled the sauce for 900g of noodles and it was enough sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Yum! Very packed full of flavour. I used steak peices to substitute the ham to make it more of a meal, and tripled the recipe which only just feed 6. I chopped the the spring onion but forgot to add to the meal lol. Its spicy but not to spicy =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This is a good noodle recipe. I found it quite easy to make. For personal preference, I decided to leave out the ham, but I think it was good without it. I had a pound of noodles to use up, so I doubled the sauce. It was just enough, so next time i may triple the sauce if I have that many noodles. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I'm not sure if I would call this "simple" *big grins*, but it sure it good! I left out the ham (on purpose) and the dark soy (on accident), but other than that stayed with the recipe as far as ingredients go. I would recommend to future chefs to get everything prepped ahead of time and ready to go ahead of time. As with most stirfries, there is no stopping to make the sauce up (so you call to hubby and ask him to do it and grimace at his inability to eyeball measurements! *grins*). This one is definitely going in my Asian folder for safe keeping! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      i used 200g of udon but still found it a bit salty. great dish but will reduce the amount of oyster/dark soy sauce next time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      thumbs up my fellow watermelon! The hoisin really brings a different flavour to the udon, not making it bland like most yaki-udon recipes......I will be making this over and over again..Thanks very much for the lovely recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Stir-fried Udon

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.5
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    31%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1857.6 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites