13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe!! I did make a couple of changes... I added more onion, LOTS! And I added sriracha sauce... I do agree with the author, about finishing it in the oven. It is so much easier !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Alyse~ January 25, 2013

We really liked this recipe. did add a little chopped celery with the onion and cabbage, and a tbls. of cornstarch to the eggs before cooking, tasted great! I also mixed a sm. amount of braggs amino acids with siracha and garlic, a splash of h2o, and voila! a sauce! ( I was missing the gravy)... I think some mushrooms would be great, and maybe some water chestnuts, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefemmit July 15, 2012

This recipe is REALLY good! I am so glad I found it. The key is to let the patties cook until well done on the first side. Literally until they are able to slide around in the pan and are a wonderful deep golden color. I added some sliced baby bellas to my cabbage/onion mixture. Tastes BETTER than from the restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robynherron March 15, 2011

First time cooking it myself, and it was better than any Egg Foo Young I ever tasted. The greatest thing about this recipe, from reading other reviews is that you can change what you put in it to suit your own taste. I don't eat much meat, so I made mine vegetarian. I was very happy with the results and the recipe was easy to follow. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coviedo2009 December 28, 2010

I was skeptical cause I have seen this in restaurants and it didn't appeal to me. It was easy to put together and would have been easy to cook if I had a large griddle; it just took me longer cause I doubled the recipe. Anyway, I loved it and so did my DH. I did add more shrimp to it. Have it on my list to make again, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamato4boys November 28, 2007

Very good meal. No need for two pans. I got the eggs, soy, sesame, spices and sprouts mixed up in bowl... cooked the O&C in the pan then scraped that into the bowl... then stirred in shrimp... then cooked the cakes in the same now empty pan. I used cooking spray instead of canola in most places, lite soy, replaced about 1/3 of the onions with chopped pepper. Lovely dinner. Thanks. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy October 23, 2007

MMMMM! This was my first time making AND eating egg foo young. My husband always orders it for take out so I thought I'd give homemade a try. I used canned chicken breast, drained, instead of shrimp and chopped water chestnuts instead of the bean sprouts. Also used fresh garlic. I made 2 versions of this: one with regular eggs for hubby (turned out great!) and mine with only Egg Beaters. It wasn't the prettiest but it tasted AWESOME. I also didn't use any oil but some non-stick spray in the pan for mine, to keep the fat down. I will definately be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear February 11, 2007

Tried this and it is tasty. It is low carb andlow cal, but it should NOT be referred to as "lowfat". Each serving has three eggs and over 15 grams of fat! Next time, I will substitute one egg plus Eggbeaters to equal 3 eggs for the 6 eggs, Pam for the four tablespoons of oil and use slightly less veggies to compensate for less eggs. I love that you provide the nutrition information - those looking for lowfat recipes should be aware and always check this as many times recipes may be called "lowfat" when they are absolutely not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat M August 15, 2006

I took the basic recipe and made a few changes - water chestnuts instead of bean sprouts, fresh garlic instead of powder, diced chicken instead of shrimp. I also added toasted sesame oil, gingered rice vinegar and a little chili garlic sauce to the egg mixture. Then I forgot to drain the vegetables, so I couldn't flip it, I had my burner too hot so it got pretty brown on the bottom, and I ended up with kind of a scrambled egg mess. No matter, it tasted great! After a few bites I decided some cashews were in order. I loved this and have more shredded cabbage waiting in the fridge. A word of warning - if you are eating this alone, be prepared to sleep alone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Queen May 22, 2006

If you are doing atkins and miss Chinese food then you MUST try this!! It is so darn good and low in carbs. It took me a couple of trys to figure out how to flip it without messing it up (I struggle in the kitchen) The 2nd time i made this i could flip it without a spatula and it looked GREAT! I have made this 4-5 times and have the stuff in the fridge to make it again. This is AWESOME!! I would give it 10 stars if i could

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Reynolds in Virginia May 01, 2006
Shrimp Egg Foo Yong (Low Carb and Low Fat)