Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Shrimp Egg Foo Yong (Low Carb and Low Fat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Egg Foo Yong (Low Carb and Low Fat)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2013

      I really liked this recipe!! I did make a couple of changes... I added more onion, LOTS! And I added sriracha sauce... I do agree with the author, about finishing it in the oven. It is so much easier !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      We really liked this recipe. did add a little chopped celery with the onion and cabbage, and a tbls. of cornstarch to the eggs before cooking, tasted great! I also mixed a sm. amount of braggs amino acids with siracha and garlic, a splash of h2o, and voila! a sauce! ( I was missing the gravy)... I think some mushrooms would be great, and maybe some water chestnuts, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      This recipe is REALLY good! I am so glad I found it. The key is to let the patties cook until well done on the first side. Literally until they are able to slide around in the pan and are a wonderful deep golden color. I added some sliced baby bellas to my cabbage/onion mixture. Tastes BETTER than from the restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      First time cooking it myself, and it was better than any Egg Foo Young I ever tasted. The greatest thing about this recipe, from reading other reviews is that you can change what you put in it to suit your own taste. I don't eat much meat, so I made mine vegetarian. I was very happy with the results and the recipe was easy to follow. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I was skeptical cause I have seen this in restaurants and it didn't appeal to me. It was easy to put together and would have been easy to cook if I had a large griddle; it just took me longer cause I doubled the recipe. Anyway, I loved it and so did my DH. I did add more shrimp to it. Have it on my list to make again, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Very good meal. No need for two pans. I got the eggs, soy, sesame, spices and sprouts mixed up in bowl... cooked the O&C in the pan then scraped that into the bowl... then stirred in shrimp... then cooked the cakes in the same now empty pan. I used cooking spray instead of canola in most places, lite soy, replaced about 1/3 of the onions with chopped pepper. Lovely dinner. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      MMMMM! This was my first time making AND eating egg foo young. My husband always orders it for take out so I thought I'd give homemade a try. I used canned chicken breast, drained, instead of shrimp and chopped water chestnuts instead of the bean sprouts. Also used fresh garlic. I made 2 versions of this: one with regular eggs for hubby (turned out great!) and mine with only Egg Beaters. It wasn't the prettiest but it tasted AWESOME. I also didn't use any oil but some non-stick spray in the pan for mine, to keep the fat down. I will definately be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      Tried this and it is tasty. It is low carb andlow cal, but it should NOT be referred to as "lowfat". Each serving has three eggs and over 15 grams of fat! Next time, I will substitute one egg plus Eggbeaters to equal 3 eggs for the 6 eggs, Pam for the four tablespoons of oil and use slightly less veggies to compensate for less eggs. I love that you provide the nutrition information - those looking for lowfat recipes should be aware and always check this as many times recipes may be called "lowfat" when they are absolutely not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I took the basic recipe and made a few changes - water chestnuts instead of bean sprouts, fresh garlic instead of powder, diced chicken instead of shrimp. I also added toasted sesame oil, gingered rice vinegar and a little chili garlic sauce to the egg mixture. Then I forgot to drain the vegetables, so I couldn't flip it, I had my burner too hot so it got pretty brown on the bottom, and I ended up with kind of a scrambled egg mess. No matter, it tasted great! After a few bites I decided some cashews were in order. I loved this and have more shredded cabbage waiting in the fridge. A word of warning - if you are eating this alone, be prepared to sleep alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      If you are doing atkins and miss Chinese food then you MUST try this!! It is so darn good and low in carbs. It took me a couple of trys to figure out how to flip it without messing it up (I struggle in the kitchen) The 2nd time i made this i could flip it without a spatula and it looked GREAT! I have made this 4-5 times and have the stuff in the fridge to make it again. This is AWESOME!! I would give it 10 stars if i could

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      I went to find my recipe for shrimp egg foo young in my cookbook and thought heck I'll share it. But you already have it here. The only difference in our recipes is mime calls for 1/4 c bamboo shoots instead of sprouts. Give it a try, it's very nice with the shoots!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      This recipe is so delicous you won't belive that it's actually healthy. Ilove it!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Saw this recipe on Food TV's "Low Carb & Lovin' It". Tried it and couldn't believe how fantastic it tastes. A "must" for anyone on a low carb plan!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Egg Foo Yong (Low Carb and Low Fat)

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.1
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    65%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 558.0 mg
    186%
    Sodium 1023.4 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    small shrimp

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites