Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Sassy's Beef and Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sassy's Beef and Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2012

      Awesome! My husband can't stand eating broccoli and I have heard nothing but "I want beef and broccoli" since I made this last week. Very good flavor and very very easy to make. I did tweak it a little by adding a beef buillion cube and two T Worchestershire sauce to the marinade and I also cooked the meat in 1/2 veggie and 1/2 sesame oil. I think next time I will take the suggestion of other reviewers and add carrots for sweetness and for their nutrition. The recipe definitely doesn't need them but I like to add veggies for my family wherever possible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      So easy and better than take out!! I actually made it with chicken because that was what was defrosted. Looking forward to making it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

    • on March 21, 2012

      We love this, I make it often! I double the amount of cornstarch because otherwise the sauce doesn't thicken up as much as I like. I also use 1/2 low sodium soy sauce and 1/2 regular soy sauce to cut down on the salt. I love ginger so I add a ot more and cut it into large strips and cook it with the meat . Sometimes I add carrots to it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Tried this recipe tonight... Overall it was a very good recipe and my fam liked it..... After reading the previous reviews, I cut the ginger amount almost in half. It still came out with a very heavy ginger taste to it. Next time I make this, I will reduce the ginger again. Also, I used low sodium soy sauce so it did not come out too salty, if anything, we were adding more soy sauce to it at the dinner table. Also, I added a can of water chestnuts and a can of bamboo shoots to the dish. I will def be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      Made this tonight......It was pretty darn good! My 12 year old told me that it was pretty darn good Chinese Food for a NON Chinese person! Lol He's got an Asian Stepmother, so that says alot. I will use a bit less Ginger next time I make it though....That stuff is pretty powerful. Of course I will always try and change things up a bit to suit me, but it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Loved the flavor of the ginger, next time I will try a low-sodium soy sauce though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Great stir-fry. I used sirloin steak and added a sliced red bell pepper. I used Spenda brown sugar mix and low-sodium soy sauce. I did marinate my meat for about a hour. We like our asian dishes a little spicy so I added some red pepper flakes. Served over steamed brown rice. Excellent. Moving to my "Tried & True" folder. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Delicious, though a little on the salty side for me. Next time I'll cut back on the soy sauce a little bit. I added water chesnuts and served with jasmine rice. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, so I added about 1/2 - 1 tsp. of ground ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Delicious! I doubled the water but not the other sauce ingredients, because I like it saucy. I marinated the beef all day. Served it over white rice. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      made this and it was delicious and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I usually make this with chicken. I've never eaten this in a restaurant, and at this point, I don't think it would be as good as this! I love the flavor combo and can't wait to try with a different meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Honestly, I was disappointed because the sauce was too strong for my taste so I gave it 1 star. There was too much soy sauce, sugar, and garlic. But that's just me. DH loved it, he gave it 5 stars so our average is 3 stars. I will be adding this to my roster since DH loved it and it was fairly easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I just realized that I've forgotten to review this recipe even though I've made it enough to know it off by heart! This is one of my absolute favorite standby meals, when I am short on time but want a hearty, tasty meal for my family. I often buy steak when its on sale and slice it in all at once, freezing it in 1lb portions. this way i can have this meal on the table from walking through the front door in about 20 minutes. My entire family loves this dish! I always add a bit of matchstick cut carrot and red pepper for color and serve with Jasmine or Basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This was quick and easy to make. We really liked it, although it didn't taste like the Beef and Broccoli we get from Chinese take-out. This sauce reminded me more of a teriyaki sauce, but it was very good. The ginger really stood out in this. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This was really good. After reading the reviews I decided to half the sugar and add crushed red pepper flakes, as some suggested. Glad I did, it was just right that way. I did thicken it though. This will definitely be a repeat. ^__^ Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      We really liked this, but it was a bit sweet. Next time I would reduce the sugar. I used frozen broccoli and it turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Absolutely amazing! This sauce is tangy, sweet and savory. One of the times we made this recipe my boyfriend also added in some peanut butter which was good too! Success!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This was so easy and delicious. I used the lower sodium soy sauce and it came out great. I will be making this again I'm sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sassy's Beef and Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.4
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    35%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 89.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 2137.3 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 18.2 g
    72%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites