66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! My husband can't stand eating broccoli and I have heard nothing but "I want beef and broccoli" since I made this last week. Very good flavor and very very easy to make. I did tweak it a little by adding a beef buillion cube and two T Worchestershire sauce to the marinade and I also cooked the meat in 1/2 veggie and 1/2 sesame oil. I think next time I will take the suggestion of other reviewers and add carrots for sweetness and for their nutrition. The recipe definitely doesn't need them but I like to add veggies for my family wherever possible!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAK #3 October 06, 2012

Delicious, though a little on the salty side for me. Next time I'll cut back on the soy sauce a little bit. I added water chesnuts and served with jasmine rice. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, so I added about 1/2 - 1 tsp. of ground ginger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheKatsiki March 18, 2010

Delish! I added 1 tbsp red wine in the marinade and 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms. The result was great! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen January 02, 2015

So easy and better than take out!! I actually made it with chicken because that was what was defrosted. Looking forward to making it again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristine_kiner July 04, 2013

We love this, I make it often! I double the amount of cornstarch because otherwise the sauce doesn't thicken up as much as I like. I also use 1/2 low sodium soy sauce and 1/2 regular soy sauce to cut down on the salt. I love ginger so I add a ot more and cut it into large strips and cook it with the meat . Sometimes I add carrots to it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live March 21, 2012

Tried this recipe tonight... Overall it was a very good recipe and my fam liked it..... After reading the previous reviews, I cut the ginger amount almost in half. It still came out with a very heavy ginger taste to it. Next time I make this, I will reduce the ginger again. Also, I used low sodium soy sauce so it did not come out too salty, if anything, we were adding more soy sauce to it at the dinner table. Also, I added a can of water chestnuts and a can of bamboo shoots to the dish. I will def be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danigrier February 24, 2012

Made this tonight......It was pretty darn good! My 12 year old told me that it was pretty darn good Chinese Food for a NON Chinese person! Lol He's got an Asian Stepmother, so that says alot. I will use a bit less Ginger next time I make it though....That stuff is pretty powerful. Of course I will always try and change things up a bit to suit me, but it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angeldylanluke April 16, 2011

Loved the flavor of the ginger, next time I will try a low-sodium soy sauce though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie July 27, 2010

Great stir-fry. I used sirloin steak and added a sliced red bell pepper. I used Spenda brown sugar mix and low-sodium soy sauce. I did marinate my meat for about a hour. We like our asian dishes a little spicy so I added some red pepper flakes. Served over steamed brown rice. Excellent. Moving to my "Tried & True" folder. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM July 08, 2010
Sassy's Beef and Broccoli