Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Roast Duck Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Duck

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      I knew this would be good, and I wasn't disappointed! It was easy and the smell as it cooked was mouth watering. The only change made was to use fresh ginger as I always think dried ginger is for baking and fresh (if you have it on hand) for savoury.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This is one of the best Roast Ducks my family has had! I had company last night and everyone could not stop saying how good it was! I will use this one over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      DH recently bought me a 'Duck and Turkey' cookbook, but all of the 'duck' recipes called for parts...we wanted to try a whole roast duck. If we liked it, DH promised me that we would order some ducks to raise this spring, so I had more than usual riding on the results of this recipe. Well, we weren't disappointed. I was amazed at how easy it really was. Initially, I thought maybe I should put a little water in the bottom of my roaster, but decided the recipe didn't mention it and others had had success with the recipe as is, so it must not need it and didn't. Good decision! It created plenty of juices as well as rendered duck fat (can't wait to try that) without the addition of any water. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe Tonkcats...and yippeee...I'm getting ducks this spring!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This was really very good, but given that duck skin is so greasy, most of the flavor went into the skin and therefore we didn't taste it much because we don't eat the skin. My suggestion would be to put the marinade in a baster and inject it under the skin to flavor the meat more. Great recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I made this duck recipe for our Christmas Eve dinner. It sounded good, was well-reviewed & I thot deserved a pic after so many fine reviews. It was great, but now I know why there is no pic because I did not get 1 either. DH & my MIL were so impatient to eat that a pic was just not gonna happen. I did have my anxious moments as it got darker & DH almost scowled as it was put on the table, but the next words he spoke were THIS IS EXCELLENT! I did not marinate the duck, but basted it well w/the marinade at the start & twice more while cooking. The skin was crisp & the duck was well-flavored & not at all dry. This darn duck had no giblets & I had used all my canned broth in the dressing ... so I used the last of the marinade, deglazed the pan, strained the yield, added chicken bouillon + milk & made a lovely gravy. Great recipe! We loved it & will revisit it ea Christmas Eve. Thx for sharing it w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I'm not going to rate this recipe, even though I wonder what happened to Tonkcats ...? This recipe has 29 5-star reviews (one 4-star, I think) and I've just had to do some crisis management over this sauce: the ginger was burning my mouth, and totally overpowering in the sauce! I am not aware that there are "hot" powdered ginger and "mild" powdered ginger. I believed the recipe and remarks, and used the full tablespoon. Yikes. Called husband, who tasted, made a face, and asked me not to put the sauce over the duck. Now the problem is: is it my ginger?? If anyone else secretly thinks the ginger is too much, I suggest, do NOT leave it out as it's an interesting flavour here -- but rather use 2 or 3 teaspoons finely chopped fresh ginger. That should be much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Great recipe! VERY easy to make. This recipe is a real winner "as is", and it's simple enough that you can add your own touch to it. I made a double batch of ingredients (extra garlic), and liberally coated the duck. I then marinated it all night in a plastic bag. I turned the duck once in the roasting rack, but did not baste. Resulted in nice crispy skin. I made a sauce out of the giblets. Browned them in olive oil, added the garlic and then the rest of the ingredients in the recipe. Also added about half a bottle of the wine I planned to serve with the duck. Reduced to about half. It was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      I made this for Mother's Day and it was just delicious! The duck was so tender and juicy and not at all dry. I was very pleased with how the duck looked and tasted. I didn't even marinate it, just spread the marinade on top, put a quartered apple in the cavity and popped it in the oven. Wonderful! Will definitely use the recipe again next time I want to have duck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      The flavor combinations of the marinade was fantastic! I did get a little worried about this because it got very dark, almost black, while it roasted. I thought that I had ruined the duck that my husband had been looking forward to all day long. I was so wrong! The meat was very moist and the skin perfectly crispy and very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2014

      This recipe is fantastic! My husband does a lot of hunting, and I've had made some less than amazing duck recipes in the past. But this was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Duck was literally falling apart. It was so tender, and cooked just perfectly. I will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      This turned out really well. I only used 1 generous teaspoon of ginger, and instead of marinating and cooking with the glaze the whole time, I simply stuffed an onion into the cavity, salted and peppered the duck, and cooked it without the sauce for the first hour. I then brushed the sauce on the duck and cooked the remaining hour. This worked well, resulting in a nice, crispy, flavorful skin, and the shorter cooking time meant the sugars in the sauce didn't scorch. I also made a giblet gravy to go with the duck. Overall, I was really pleased with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Loved it! I made the marinade as directed except used fresh ginger intead of the powdered. I spooned the marinade in and around the bird and let it soak in the marindate in a plastic Ziplock for the hour prior to roasing. I cut slits in the skin to let the grease escape. I roasted for 45 minutes on a rack, flipped the bird & roasted for 45 more minutes to cook top & bottom. After the 2nd 45 minutes, I flipped again so the breast was on top & roasted for 15 more minutes so it would brown up. Each time I flipped it, I spooned the juices over the bird. I let the bird sit for 15 minutes before carving. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Thank you for sharing your recipe Tonkcats. It was awesome. Quick and easy to make, with excellent instructions. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing. I used fresh ginger and wasn't sorry that I did. The duck was perfect, tender, juicy and flavorful. The skin was very dark and crispy. Made a duck lover out of my very picky dh, kudos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      The duck turned out good. I marinated it for an hour, but i wish the flavor was a bit stronger thou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Very very tasty....I eat duck at restaurants all the time and although the skin wasn't as Crispy as I like it was Juicy and Tender and was a Big hit with he family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I'm not a big duck fan but my spouse is and so I checked RecipeZaar for an easy recipe and tried this one. I was not disappointed. The marinade did give the skin a wonderful sweet and salty flavour that was not overpowering. Even though I typically do NOT eat poultry skin, there was an exception with this recipe. Next time, I may just try this marinade recipe on chicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I love this recipe! The ducks tastes great, and all guests come straight to the kitchen to check what smells so good :-). Works every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Not as good as it looked; tasty & easy but nothing spectacular. Would not make this for guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      what can i say other than fab, what a meal. thanks tonkcats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Whole Duck Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Duck

    Serving Size: 1 (782 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2359.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1109
    47%
    Total Fat 123.2 g
    189%
    Saturated Fat 33.2 g
    166%
    Cholesterol 1543.6 mg
    514%
    Sodium 3123.0 mg
    130%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 280.3 g
    560%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites