39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great. I have never been able to make good fried rice and I think I found a great recipe to stick with. It did seem to be missing a little something, I think I might add a little garlic or something next time I make it, but it was wonderful just the same. I am a huge Pork Fried Rice junkie. I order it for lunch at least twice a week when I'm at work (the girl at the counter always laughs at me and asks if I want "my usual".) The best thing about this recipe is it has all the things I miss about fried rice I used to get in Minnesota. I have yet to find a recipe that adds anything more than peas, carrots and onions to it's fried rice here in Columbia Missouri. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Erin April 08, 2003

Great as is, but I did make a couple of changes:

I added some garlic powder (not salt), bumped up the soy and used short grain Asian rice (CalRose style). I cooked the rice in my rice cooker and threw it into the freezer in a ziplock for an hour to cool it off. It probably could've been colder, but it worked.

As we're not huge bean sprouts and mushroom fans here in my house, I pan-sauteed diced finely-diced fresh carrots and chopped fresh broccoli.

The leftovers are completely gone, which is highly unusual in our home!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BikeBookBread February 22, 2011

few ingredients, easy, and good flavor - a great throw together meal with remnants in the cupboards!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LatinaAtHeart September 25, 2010

I made this last night for dinner and it was good, but I might have used too much oil because it was really greasy. Didn't have bean sprouts, so I subbed peas and carrots. Diced up a boneless pork chop and 1 was the perfect amount. Used the amount of soy sauce called for, but subbed cayenne pepper for 1/2 of the black pepper. Sprinkled it with garlic powder and about 1/2-1 teaspoon of chili sauce. Next time will cut back on the oil and add water chestnuts and try with beef and/or shrimp. Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing. I never have made a fried rice that tasted very good until now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXmamacooks September 02, 2009

Just wonderful! I used Sue L's Thai pork in this recipe and the flavour was wonderful! I also beat the eggs with a touch of soy sauce and sesame oil and cooked them as a pancake and then cut it into little pieces which I threw into the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever November 22, 2004

Finally found a quick and easy recipe that works every time! I love fried rice. Any kind. I have never actually measured out the ingredients, but i have made it with anything I had in the fridge! Bean sprouts or not, who cares. No mushrooms? Didn't notice. But I always add a little sauteed garlic & celery. Corn, peas or peppers if I have them really add to the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dchefincharge September 30, 2014

I have tried many recipes for pork fried rice as I am a Chinese food addict. They always seem to be too oily and also I'm not a fan of carrots and peas. This turned out great, just what I was looking for! Posting pic soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JEFFERY AARON August 12, 2014

This recipe was delicious! It was my first crack at making chinese food and it was well worth it! I doubled the amount of pork recommended because I had it left over and I added peas for color. Everything tasted great! Thanks for the recipe. Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef#1236187 January 13, 2014

This is a really good recipe, and I am sure it is wonderful with the mushrooms, but I did not have them. Only had peas, onion, ginger, garlic and pork roast for the egg and rice mixture. I had to add some chicken stock to hydrate because the rice was leftover and quite dry. I also needed plenty of extra soy sauce. Otherwise, it was great and I like the recipe. I would use this one for the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robinstauffer July 29, 2013

Great recipe and really easy. After reading other reviews, I used sesame oil and added ginger. We're not big mushroom fans, so I substituted 1/2 cup peas and 1/2 cup water chestnuts. I added 1/2 cup of broccoli slaw and reduced the bean sprouts to 1/2 cup. Could have used a little more soy sauce, but we just added it at the table. Delicious recipe! Not a bite left!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VaPeach3 March 20, 2013
Pork Fried Rice