Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / P.f. Chang's Hot and Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    P.f. Chang's Hot and Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2013

      Awesome recipe! 1 qt of chicken stock was definitely the perfect amount, even after it simmering and steaming away. I used a good quality light soy sauce, which naturally made it less salty and perfect. Followed the recipe to a T except used shittake, i couldn't find wood ear either which was disappointing since i love the chewy texture! This soup is best very chunky, like PF Changs serves it, so adding more liquid would definitely ruin the chunky goodness! Tasted very similar, but i recommend using very good homemade chicken stock. I have a good recipe from Emiril Lagasse, Changs obviously uses a great quality stock, i can tell that was the missing element since i had to use store bought. Was definitely delicious all the same, and quanties were perfect to me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      This is by far, the best hot and sour soup I have ever tasted! It tastes so much like P.F. Chang's version! My husband and I love it! thanks for the recipe my friend!!!!! Buon Appetitto!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      I too used a little less soy sauce and added scallions. I LOVE hot and soup soup and cannot believe that this is the first time I am making it! This really is a great recipe. I couldn't find wood ear mushrooms so I used Shiitake and I really enjoyed them. Thank you very much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Soup was pretty good but I thought the vinegar was a bit overpowering. I think I'll use rice vinegar next time I make it.

      thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I've never been to pf chang's, so I can't rate how this compares. I chose this because I had all the ingredients with no trip to the store where all the crazies are buying milk, bread, and eggs (snow predicted tonight). I used dried shitake and used the water from reconstituting in the soup. This makes a ton of soup, so be prepared for leftovers. I felt like this was missing something, but I can't figure out what. I added some ginger and some hot chili oil. My other change was to thicken with guar rather than corn starch to cut back on carbs. Thanks for sharing. I'll try this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Followed this exactly as written and had two comments. (1) A full cup of soy sauce makes this WAY too salty -- at least if you use regular kikkoman soy sauce. (2) 6 oz of actual wood ear mushrooms is WAY too much. 3 oz is much closer. In fact, my guess is that you should use 2 Quarts of Chicken stock and then the rest of the ingredients fall into proportion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I made this last night to go with our "take-out" night. Very good. I was always so intimidated by hot and sour soup.....no need, this is really simple to prepare. The kids and I really loved this soup. Hubby did too but he wanted more kick, so next time I'm going to add more white pepper. This is really great soup and we ate the whole think except for one cup that is calling me to lunch today. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      My husband loved this! Just made it for his birthday dinner. He also loves the PF Changs one and thought this one was just like it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Wow! This turned out great from the first try. It really does taste just like P.F. Chang's Hot and Sour soup! My husband loved it and helped himself to 2nds! :) I will keep this recipe for this winter because it is quick and simple and the ingredients were cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for P.f. Chang's Hot and Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (360 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.3
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    27%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 127.4 mg
    42%
    Sodium 4434.9 mg
    184%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wood ear mushrooms

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites