Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Chinese / Oriental Chicken Salad with Crunchy Ramen Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oriental Chicken Salad with Crunchy Ramen Noodles

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2010

      I've made this 3 times so far. It's easy to make and tastes good. I skipped sunflower seeds but it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      SOOOOO good and easy. I have been making it once a week since I found the recipe and everyone who tries it wants a copy. I leave out the chicken entirely- it doesn't need it. Yummy on it's own! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      This was sooo good! I've made it twice now, each time using 3 oven-roasted chicken breasts (which was a lot of chicken). The almonds and ramen noodles really give this salad a great taste! I've tried it both with and without extra dressing and prefer this salad with a single batch of dressing. It's just the right amount to be able to taste it but not enough to leave a big puddle of dressing at the bottom of the bowl. The dressing is nice and sweet and tastes yummy! This is a definite keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      My partner's & my favorite cole slaw! We've made it probably 10 times, and I've perfected it to our low-fat low-calorie diet. <br/>(1) Most importantly I only use 1/4 cup oil and always cold-pressed (chemical-free) extra virgin olive oil (which is such a good fat for you raw); honestly sometimes I use even LESS and this slaw is still great with some extra spices. In order to have enough dressing, though, I add 1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce and 1/4 cup brown or dijon mustard. <br/>(2) Splenda or Stevia work great instead of sugar if you're into that (and 3 Tbsps is plenty). <br/>(3) Good spices include lots of fresh-ground ginger root, fresh minced garlic, salt & pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper, and/or even garam masala indian spice blend if I'm feeling exotic. This is a lot of the stuff probably found in the ramen seasoning packet but without the preservatives. <br/>(4) FIBER CEREAL! instead of ramen noodles. The day I realized I could make this salad even more guilt-free without the processed ramen was a glorious day: using fiber cereal (the little sticks) to add the crunch is great. I do toast them (and the almonds & sunflower seeds), but you don't need to use any oil to do it -- just keep an eye on them every 30 seconds!<br/>(5) You can cut the amount of almonds in half too -- there's still plenty of crunch!<br/><br/>LOVE this cole slaw, and these healthy modifications make it taste just as great as the original with probably 60+% less fat (56g/serving to ~20g). :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I have people asking me to bring this to their parties. It is a fabulous and easy salad to make. Instead of sunflower seeds, I brown sesame seeds just because I always have them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      I added sesame seeds and mandarine oranges. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      So very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      So easy to make and so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      LOVE it! For something so easy and simple, it is great tasting, and quick. I will be using this recipe often! Thank you so much for a fast dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Most definitely 5 stars! I used half pre-shredded coleslaw mix and half garden salad mix for a little less cabbage-y taste. Grilled some teriyaki marinated chicken but a deli rotisserie chicken would make this even faster to throw together. Also used other reviewer's suggestions and added just a little soy sauce, garlic and red peper flakes into the dressing. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      So easy and so delicious. I left out the almonds because my son is allergic to them. Can't wait to make this for a potluck. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      First off, this salad converted me to 'crunchy' ramen noodles. The idea of eating them without boiling to noodley form has always been such a peciular idea to me - Nope, they rock, very nutty! Will do anytime now. And this salad is savory delicious too. Super easy and a real hit. I just bought the pre made slaw at the store, super good with a little carrot too! Also, per other similar salad recommendations added 1 ramen noodle seasoning packet to the dressing - yummers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Definite family favorite! Have made this several times for the family and for covered dish parties. It is always a hit!!! I didn't have seasoned rice vinegar and just used apple cider vinegar and a tad bit more sugar! Tasted fine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Love this salad and should have left a review long ago. I do two things differntly though. I add 1 to 1 1/2 of the ramen spice packages to the dressing and omit the salt and pepper. The other thing I do different is after toasting the noodles and almonds I reserve them and store them in a tupperware container so we can add them "as we go". This works out really well if you have left overs the next day and want nice crunchy topping to go with it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I've been wanting to try this recipe because I've tried some at potlucks and this one was great! A few tweaks: I used Broccoli Slaw that was in a bag to make half the recipe, instead of salt I used the season packet, instead of sunflower seeds I used sesame seeds, added a little sesame oil for fun. Next time: it was a little dry for me, so I think I will add some soy sauce and more rice vinegar and more green onion. Thanks for sharing! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Brought this salad to a dinner at friends...It was a hit! I cut back the oil. And burnt the noodles (Then discarded them) I added the "browned" noodles just before serving. They stayed crunchy that way. Now my friend is joining Recipezaar! Keep the good recipes coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I've made this a couple times now and it gets rave reviews. I leave out the sunflower seeds because I don't have any. Instead of adding salt to the dressing I add the two seasoning packets from the Ramen. The amount of dressing is perfect for us. I prefer to add the dressing to the salad a couple hours before serving. The last time I made this I ran short on oil so added a little sesame oil to the pan and it turned out nice. Easy to make and it's yummy! Thanks Tulip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

    • on March 18, 2009

      I liked this recipe alot, however, the dressing didn't turn out quite right until I added more sugar. Used my little hand blender to incorporate the oil and then the dressing came together. Enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I've been making something very similar for years but had misplaced my handwritten recipe. Thanks for helping me to find the recipe :) I use coleslaw mix for ease of preparation and sesame seeds in place of the sunflower seeds as a personal preference but everything else is spot on to how I have always made it. I really like the dressing ration here and I also love to eat the leftovers with the soft noodles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oriental Chicken Salad with Crunchy Ramen Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.0
     
    Calories from Fat 466
    73%
    Total Fat 51.8 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 39.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 839.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 15.7 g
    63%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Top Ramen noodles

    seasoned rice vinegar


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites