Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    304 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 304

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2009

      Great recipe! I made this and served with white rice and "Broccoli Parmesan" #17402. No need to go to the buffet anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      I must be a terrible cook because this didn't work out for me :( What I did differently was use red pepper flakes in place of the chili pods, use Tio Pepe sherry in place of the rice wine (couldn't find it anywhere) and I also added a dab of minced garlic and ginger; otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I fried in a typical frying pan because I do not have a wok, so that could be the partial cause of my problems. The sauce didn't taste anything like General Tso's to me, the sherry taste came through VERY strongly. I used two tablespoons of sherry (since the recipe states 2 tablespoons of rice wine) but perhaps I should have reduced it. I don't know ANYTHING about sherry so perhaps I got a bad brand or used the wrong type of sherry or something (it was an extra dry sherry). Also, the sauce almost seemed kind of gritty and definitely didn't have the right texture. I am assuming this is because I used a frying pan...It was a little difficult to swirl all the chicken around in the sauce. I'm DYING to be able to enjoy this recipe since I'm sure it's a good one with so many wonderful reviews. I'd be so appreciative if there was someone that could Z-mail me some tips that may fix my problems so that I can enjoy this recipe with the rest of you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Wow! So good! This is my husband's favorite, he's addicted. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I did add more spice and a little bit more soy sauce to it. I added a couple of dashes of powdered cayenne pepper. We loved it that way, a little kick is always good in my family. My husband doesn't like sweet meat too much, so I added about another Tbsp of soy sauce to the mix. This is a keeper, thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This chicken is awesome. I have fixed it many times in the last few months. My husband (the pickiest man in the world) asks for it all the time. It does take a while to fix, so sometimes I wish he wouldn't ask for it, but once it is on the table, the taste is worth it! I have only used chicken tenderloins and it turns out great. I also use white wine for the rice wine, and most of the time i will double or triple the recipe, but I sometimes cut back on the sugar when I do that, once my husband mentioned it was too sweet. But, nonetheless a WONDERFUL recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This turned out great! Using some of the reviews I did change things up a bit. I couldn't find chili pods so I used 1 tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes in the sauce. I also tripled the sauce recipe using 5 tablespoons of cornstarch. I will follow the review next time and use only 4 because the sauce did get extremely thick. Husband, daughter, niece and I all loved this. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was a great recipe. I used chicken breast but was delicious! Served with Perfect rice Perfect Rice Everytime and Oven Roasted broccoli Oven Roasted Broccoli. Great Meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Loved it! What can I say that hasnt already been said? This dish is easy to prepare and has great flavor. We chopped up one of the chili pods (used Thai dragon chilis) and left the other 4 intact to give the dish some heat. I will definitely double the sauce next time. Thanks for this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

    • on October 25, 2008

      What a pity...we can't give occasional 10 stars to recipes! This is very good, with a flavorful sauce. It is not too hot (if you want it hot, chop up some of the chili pods). I suggest using Chinese rice wine (I use Shao Xing brand). The only problem I had was not the recipe's fault--my glass-top stove is just terrible for stir-frying over, so it didn't really crisp up like it should have. Next time I may take DH up on his offer to stir-fry outdoors over his portable gas stove!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      We loved this in our house! I also used boneless chicken breast and red pepper flakes and it was still delicious. I also doubled the sauce and honestly could have tripled it because it was delicious with rice. I thought this would be really time consuming but it honestly was very easy. I did the first fry in advance and then when the rice was close to done I did the second fry. The only tricky thing was making sure the chicken was actually done cooking on the first fry. I will make this again and again because it was amazing. There are no good chinese restaurants here so this was a really welcome meal for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Good Stuff ! I also added the crushed red flakes. The rice does'nt get enough sauce in it though.Doubling or maybe tripling the sauce is the way to go. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Very good. I didn't have rice wine so I used cooking Sherry and the flavor was still wonderful. The dried chili pods didn't add nearly enough spice for me so I added crushed red pepper flakes too. Will definitely make this again! My 2 year old loved it too. She said, "Mmm...de-wish-ous!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Excellent chicken dish! From the first mouthful I was hooked! This is one of the tastiest dishes I have had in a long time. I doubled the recipe to have enough for leftovers, and it came out great! Chicken was very tender and the flavors were perfect. I will be making again and again here! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us Kirstin! Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      although this doesn't taste exactly like the general tso's i'v tried...it was really good! i doubled the sauce which i regretted because it almost tasted a little salty. and my kids mentioned they didn't want extra sauce on their chicken. so next time i'll listen to the chef's direction and not double. my husband enjoyed this so much that he emailed me while at work to say how "really good" the lunch was. he never does that plus he's so darn picky! so i'll put this in his favorites file. next time tho i'll add a little more sugar or brown sugar to make it a little sweeter since that's what i'm used to. thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This came out great! My only regret is that I meant to double the sauce and forgot so it didn't cover the rice & steamed broccoli. But the chicken came out fantastic! I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Whoa!!! AAA+ 5 star all the way!! Easy and tasty, doubled the sauce like others suggested. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      A thousand thanks for this recipe, Kirsten! It's in my top five recipes! I used 1 1/2 rounded tsp. chili paste instead of the pods and chicken breast instead of thighs. I doubled the sauce like others suggested. My husband thought it was a little sweet (I adjusted it for him, as per usual), but I loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Simply the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Loooooooove it! I used 2 eggs instead of 3 and just 1 chili pod. DOUBLED the sauce mix for more glaze but just used 5T sugar. Peeeerfection! Will make this again on Sunday when my sister comes with her boyfriend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This gets a triple 5 stars rating from my entire family. It's to die for! I added some grated gingerroot on the sauce. Decreased the sugar (personal preference) and cooked the batter just using 1 large egg. Will make it again VERY SOOON!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes