Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    301 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 301

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2010

      Very good, only issue I had was that the sauce carmelized and clumped leaving most the chicken w/out any sauce. Will totally remove from heat next time and allow the sauce to slowly carmelize and coat the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This recipe is a winner! My husband and I moved to a small midwest town with absolutely no chinese food. We've been craving this dish and decided we'd have to learn how to make it ourselves. Our first attempt at another recipe was not so great. This recipe hit it out of the park!! I think this is better than the best chinese food restaurant I ever ordered this at. By mistake we didn't fry the chicken two times. After frying we just put the sauce in a a pan, reduced it a little and then tossed the chicken in to coat. Also, I used Mirin for the rice wine. I found it in the asian section next to the rice vinegar. I think it's the same as rice wine but not sure. Regardless, it turned out delicious! We also used the hit peppers but didn't get any heat. I think I might just add a little siracha to the sauce next time since I like everything a little spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Outstanding! - we like it spicy hot and added double or more pepper pods. Not too sweet like the restaurant versions. Easy to do .. this is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Delicious. Quite a process though with the double frying. I actually substiture seitan (wheat gluten) for the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I dont even have words for this recipe it was so good and perfect. I later had some at a restaurant and was quite disapointed. VERY GOOD, even if a little labour intensive. Worth every secong of prep time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      My hubby raved over this one. The flavor is better than what you would get at a restaurant. The sauce is suppose to be thick so I didn't change the recipe. The pepper pods added a nice "crunch" so the texture of the whole meal was great. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great recipe. Only difference was I used chicken breasts and added in some onions I needed to use up. We will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Made this a week ago and per my hubby's request we are having it again. Used Sriracha hot sauce instead of dried chili's. A delicious recipe. Doubled the sauce and added a bunch of fresh veggies. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Very good recipe, I always double the sauce to make sure that I have plenty. My family really enjoys this, thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

    • on December 09, 2009

      Excellent recipe! This is my sons birthday dinner request. I made the chicken a night ahead and did a test batch for the sauce. Very yummy. I will be adding ginger root, garlic and wee pinch of cayenne for heat to my finished product tomorrow for added flavor. But very good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was great. Used BSCB in place of thighs. Saw a few people say the sauce was too sweet...The key is to make sure you really caramelize the sauce, not just let it cook out. It should look almost burned when it's done. Thanks Mean Chef/Kirsten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Delicious!! Beats any take out general tso's. Added some fresh garlic and ginger and the flavor was amazing. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Very yummy!! Although, next time I'd use a half the sugar, it was very sweet. Added a lots of chopped green onions at the end and it gave it nice freshness and color. I also used chicken breast. So much better than take out because the take out stuff usually has too much fatty blobby bits in it. I'll make this again experimenting with other meats, or without frying. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      WOW! This was absolutely awesome. I did not have all of the ingredients so I did the following. In place of rice vinegar I used white vinegar, I replaced the rice wine with white cooking wine and I fried them in canola oil instead of peanut oil. My husband said it was wonderful and we ate every last bit of it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Made this tonight and my family looooved it!!! This will be on the top of my favorites list along with the bourbon chicken recipie that everyone loves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Never had before, but will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

    • on September 01, 2009

      Yum Yum Yum... I made this for the first time a couple of weeks ago and have made it 3 times since. My boyfriend now requests this for his lunches every week. I have to triple the recipe. I actually double the sauce... so 3 times the chicken and 6 times the sauce. The only difficult part is finding a store that carries Mirin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites