304 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OUTSTANDING!!I have tried other General Tso's recipes and they always had a real strong vinegar taste and this one didn't,it was perfect.I followed the recipe to the T,it is very easy to prepare,I made the chicken a few hours ahead and refrigerated it till the 2nd frying and no problems whatsoever.This will be the only recipe that I need for G. Tso's Chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen March 09, 2004

oh thanks so much for this recipe, mean chef. it's too yummy for words! i used boneless, skinless breasts instead of thighs because that's all i have. i only made 1/3 of the recipe; there are only two of us and we are small eaters. besides we had this with stir-fried vegies and steamed rice, so the amount was perfect. i really enjoyed the sauce. i only had those tiny Thai birds' eye chillies, so i used 3 of that. Next time (there will be) i shall try with 5 chillies with 1/3 of the recipe. thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterMelon March 05, 2004

I made this ast night and served it with Mona's Easy Fried Rice (on this site) and all I can say is DELICIOUS!! My son came up with a great idea to use the General's sauce with chicken wings. So on Super Bowl Sunday, that is what I'm going to try. Wish me luck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lusil January 10, 2004

This was so delicous! I have always felt intimidated by deep frying but this recipe worked like a charm. Like BostonMark, I added a little garlic and ginger, and then some chopped spring onions at the end. I doubled the sauce ingredients. We will definitely be having this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream November 18, 2003

Believe the hype, this is a great recipe! I've looked at over a dozen recipes and this one is tops. I added some chopped garlic and ginger and in the end a teaspoon of sesame oil. Awesome. My dinner guests couldn't get enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BostonMark November 17, 2003

excellent recipe! my husband's favorite chinese meal, and he said this was the best one he ever had, thanks so much mean chef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee October 28, 2003

This is my new FAVORITE meal! I love General Tso's chicken and never imagined I could make it myself. The only difference I made was to triple the sauce ingredients. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maddy331 October 22, 2003

Mean Chef, we really enjoyed this recipe. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. I substituted boneless chicken breasts for the chicken thighs and doubled up on the sauce. I loved the flavor but will probably add extra chili pods next time. DH has already requsted that I make this dish again. Thanks !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CardaMom October 15, 2003

Another exceptional recipe from Meanchef. We really loved it. I used cooking sherry instead of rice wine, 2 large fresh thai chilis instead of the dried pods and added some chopped green onions at the end of cooking. My husband and I really enjoyed it with some steamed white rice and sitr fried spinach. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl June 03, 2003

Of the different General Tso's Chicken recipes I have tried, this is the best by far. It is simply constructed using few ingredients, and comes out fabulously each time I make it without fail! I do use chicken breast instead of thighs and red pepper flakes are just the thing to use instead of the chili pods if you don't have the latter. My FIL, who loves this dish at Chinese restaurants, says mine is the best he's ever tasted. Five stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiona L. November 12, 2014
Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken