Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    304 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 304

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2013

      After reading so many rave reviews I decided to attempt this recipe. I followed every instruction step-by-step. To say that we were disapppointed doesn't begin to tell the story. In short the sauce, that is supposed to be the part that makes this recipe, was certainly not nearly what it was proported to be. Most reviewers suggested doubling or even trippling the sauce ingredients which I did. However that made the sauce very, very sweet, which I thought it would be, and extremely guey if there is such a word. The sauce clung or better yet attached to some of the chicken but not all and the entire meal was still sauce lacking. Not nearly what we expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      This is definitely a good General Tso's recipe....not the best I've found but very good. I halved the amount of chicken but left the sauce amount alone. I wanted some sauce for my steamed broccoli. I also increased the pepper to chicken amount, but I like things spicy. Served over jasmine rice, and this was a very good dinner!! Thanks for sharing your adopted recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      General Tso's chicken is the only chinese I eat when we go out. I was excited when I seen all the great reviews for this recipe. I made for dinner last nite. For some reason we all agreed it tasted like it had to much soy sauce. I did make a double batch as many recommended which I'm glad I did but will cut back a little of the soy when I make this again, which I will give another try. Also we didn't feel there was enough heat generated from the chiles. I may add pepper flakes as well as whole chiles or a blast of cayenne pepper. We did like how the chicken turned out! Will definitely give it another shot. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      This was very tasty!! Love it! I didn't have peanut oil on hand so I just used vegetable oil, will def. use peanut oil next time to see how it alters the taste, but it was still good with just regular veggie oil. I didn't have Chile peppers so I just used red pepper flakes, it worked fine too! Before I added the sauce mix (but after frying chicken) I added sliced red and yellow peppers and sweet onions to the oil. Once that was cooked I then added my sauce, which thickened very quickly! I also doubled the sauce and will maybe even triple the sauce next time if I put it over white rice. I am sure this is 100xs better with the right oil and Chile peppers! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      The first thing i tried making that didn't come out of a box and was amazed how much it tasted like restaurant quality Chinese food. I did double the sauce as so many suggested and was glad i did. This dish is responsible for getting me into to cooking as a hobby and couldn't happier about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

    • on January 03, 2013

    • on June 08, 2012

    • on April 22, 2012

      Excellent flavor! I will definitely be making this one again! My husband says it's better than the chinese restaurant. Thanks Puckhead for posting about using the red pepper flakes that was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I was looking for a new General Tso's recipe and I had to try yours as I'm a Hudson's Bay alumni. My only complaint was that there wasn't enough for leftovers! It was devoured immediately. Good recipe Kirsten. Thanks for posting. Go Eagles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      I thought this was excellent! I am not one to eat fried foods, but my fiance loves Asian food, so I decided to make my first attempt at this type of recipe. I thought I did a fantastic job, and so did my fiance....thanks to your recipe! The only thing that we both felt was "off" was the fact that it wasn't spicy. I used the dried peppers as you stated, did not burn them, but there was no hot factor to the dish. Did I do something wrong? The sauce was absolutely great, but again, we were both expecting something spicier. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

    • on January 21, 2012

      made just as is. was perfectly spiced. thinking i may try shrimp instead next time. no breading.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      I am pregnant and recently moved to Italy, and have been craving some General TSO chicken like i used to get at home, unfortunately Chinese restaurants here aren't as good as home so i decided to make for myself, the pics looked so good but the chicken was not, i was highly disappointed . :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Oh yum! I've been waiting for the right time to try this dish and last night seemed perfect. I was wanting chinese food, but something tastier and fresher than the dismal takeout we'd had recently. I used chicken tenders which I cut into large pieces. I wasn't very impressed with the batter (not crispy at all, even after the 2nd stirfry) but it didn't detract from the overall taste. I didn't have any chili pods, so I used a couple squirts of sriacha sauce. I was surprised how quickly and how perfectly the sauce became a glaze! Just like we get at our favorite restaurants. Yum, yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      this was delicious! We both gobbled it down. I did add spring onions and garlic and I found it did need it. I also got shot in the eye with some oil.. I also think you definitely need some vegetables to go with it. I would also quadruple the sauce next time! It was delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I made this yesterday and my family loved it. My normally picky daughter gobbled it down.
      I followed the recipe as written except I used chicken breast meat. We did feel that it could have used a bit more sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Wow, this is a fantastic recipe! General Tso's is my son's favorite meal and I gave up on finding a recipe as good as we can get down the street. I tripled it and still didn't have leftovers. I substituted water for the rice wine and used the dried Chipotle peppers I had on hand. It was far easier than expected and I still can't believe I made something that tasted THAT good. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Oh, this is soooo good. My family really loved it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This recipe is the BEST. Added some mongolian fire oil to the sauce and to the oil while frying. Also fried up some veggies in oil and served with the chicken. Thank you very much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites