Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    301 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 301

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2004

      OUTSTANDING!!I have tried other General Tso's recipes and they always had a real strong vinegar taste and this one didn't,it was perfect.I followed the recipe to the T,it is very easy to prepare,I made the chicken a few hours ahead and refrigerated it till the 2nd frying and no problems whatsoever.This will be the only recipe that I need for G. Tso's Chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      oh thanks so much for this recipe, mean chef. it's too yummy for words! i used boneless, skinless breasts instead of thighs because that's all i have. i only made 1/3 of the recipe; there are only two of us and we are small eaters. besides we had this with stir-fried vegies and steamed rice, so the amount was perfect. i really enjoyed the sauce. i only had those tiny Thai birds' eye chillies, so i used 3 of that. Next time (there will be) i shall try with 5 chillies with 1/3 of the recipe. thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      I made this ast night and served it with Mona's Easy Fried Rice (on this site) and all I can say is DELICIOUS!! My son came up with a great idea to use the General's sauce with chicken wings. So on Super Bowl Sunday, that is what I'm going to try. Wish me luck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      This was so delicous! I have always felt intimidated by deep frying but this recipe worked like a charm. Like BostonMark, I added a little garlic and ginger, and then some chopped spring onions at the end. I doubled the sauce ingredients. We will definitely be having this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Believe the hype, this is a great recipe! I've looked at over a dozen recipes and this one is tops. I added some chopped garlic and ginger and in the end a teaspoon of sesame oil. Awesome. My dinner guests couldn't get enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      excellent recipe! my husband's favorite chinese meal, and he said this was the best one he ever had, thanks so much mean chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      This is my new FAVORITE meal! I love General Tso's chicken and never imagined I could make it myself. The only difference I made was to triple the sauce ingredients. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      Mean Chef, we really enjoyed this recipe. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. I substituted boneless chicken breasts for the chicken thighs and doubled up on the sauce. I loved the flavor but will probably add extra chili pods next time. DH has already requsted that I make this dish again. Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      Another exceptional recipe from Meanchef. We really loved it. I used cooking sherry instead of rice wine, 2 large fresh thai chilis instead of the dried pods and added some chopped green onions at the end of cooking. My husband and I really enjoyed it with some steamed white rice and sitr fried spinach. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      It was my first time to cook this dish and all i can say is "OMG" i love it right away. It just tastes like it came from a chinese restaurant :) and it goes really well with plane brown rice. I made a few changes in the recipe. i used tofu instead of chicken and i doubled the sauce mixture and i used cayenne pepper since i run out of chili pods. The next time i cook this i will combine the chicken and tofu :) I'm excited for my family to try this. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe.. You rock Mean Chef!!! I'm looking forward to try your other recipes :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

    • on February 09, 2014

      This was amazing. This was my first attempt at Chinese and it came out fabulous. My husband took one bite and his face lit up, told me it was great, and then he ate the rest of the batch! I doubled the sauce like recommended and it was the right thing to do. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      I'm sorry but I hated this recipe:<br/><br/>i. The 1/2 C cornstarch + 3 eggs = TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE batter which is not crispy/crunchy whatsoever but more fluffy/puffy (plus it refuses to brown). This batter really seems like one which only a person who did not know how to cook would make and are pleased with - who do not know any better. You could say this is the exact opposite set of instructions I would follow for the batter I would want.<br/><br/>ii. I am not sure if I just don't like "General Tso" (I thought I did) or if I just don't like this recipe, but the "General Tso Sauce" is very plain - tastes like I just threw put some sugar in soy sauce and boiled it. I don't know that I would want to eat such a one-dimensional sauce. It is incredibly lacking in nuance and complexity.<br/>To a lesser extent: (since this section is not necessarily about eating healthy), why all the sugar? That is 36g added sugar - and some people doubled the sauce recipe: 72g added sugar (not to mention the cornstarch)!<br/><br/>This recipe really was a "flop" for me - however, it was more of a "disappointment" than a "disaster". I cannot understand why anyone would give this more than 3 1/2 stars. For a recipe that only contains 2 major components (sauce + batter), 50% of the recipe was completely wrong (the batter) and the other 50% earned a "perfunctory performance".<br/><br/>Maybe I just haven't eaten General Tso enough times to remember what it is supposed to be like?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

    • on October 28, 2013

      We did enjoy this chicken very much and we had no problem eating up the leftovers and it is at the top of my list, but it's not quite like what Chinese restaurants make. This is not a criticism of the submitter, as I've been trying for years to make that "perfect restaurant clone" and have turned out unsuccessful. What is that secret ingredient(s)?? Anybody want to give it up, I'll take it..............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

    • on August 21, 2013

      After reading so many rave reviews I decided to attempt this recipe. I followed every instruction step-by-step. To say that we were disapppointed doesn't begin to tell the story. In short the sauce, that is supposed to be the part that makes this recipe, was certainly not nearly what it was proported to be. Most reviewers suggested doubling or even trippling the sauce ingredients which I did. However that made the sauce very, very sweet, which I thought it would be, and extremely guey if there is such a word. The sauce clung or better yet attached to some of the chicken but not all and the entire meal was still sauce lacking. Not nearly what we expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      This is definitely a good General Tso's recipe....not the best I've found but very good. I halved the amount of chicken but left the sauce amount alone. I wanted some sauce for my steamed broccoli. I also increased the pepper to chicken amount, but I like things spicy. Served over jasmine rice, and this was a very good dinner!! Thanks for sharing your adopted recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      General Tso's chicken is the only chinese I eat when we go out. I was excited when I seen all the great reviews for this recipe. I made for dinner last nite. For some reason we all agreed it tasted like it had to much soy sauce. I did make a double batch as many recommended which I'm glad I did but will cut back a little of the soy when I make this again, which I will give another try. Also we didn't feel there was enough heat generated from the chiles. I may add pepper flakes as well as whole chiles or a blast of cayenne pepper. We did like how the chicken turned out! Will definitely give it another shot. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      This was very tasty!! Love it! I didn't have peanut oil on hand so I just used vegetable oil, will def. use peanut oil next time to see how it alters the taste, but it was still good with just regular veggie oil. I didn't have Chile peppers so I just used red pepper flakes, it worked fine too! Before I added the sauce mix (but after frying chicken) I added sliced red and yellow peppers and sweet onions to the oil. Once that was cooked I then added my sauce, which thickened very quickly! I also doubled the sauce and will maybe even triple the sauce next time if I put it over white rice. I am sure this is 100xs better with the right oil and Chile peppers! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites