304 Reviews

This should probably be two stars, but since I've only made it once, I'm giving it three. I had high expectations reading the reviews, and while the chicken itself was done just right, the sauce was definitely substandard from what you'd get in a restaurant. I made it exactly according to the recipe, except I added 3 more chili pods. I still didn't get any heat from them, and the flavor was basically sweet soy sauce. It wasn't bad at all, but it wasn't General Tso's as I know it and love it. I'll be trying a different recipe next time, but thanks for posting. It was fun to give it a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LibbyAnne November 27, 2007

Double or tripe the sauce. Otherwise don't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 26, 2007

This was great! I used the wrong kind of peppers, but I won't let my mistake stand in the way of this awesome chicken! It looked like something we had ordered out. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyene November 20, 2007

Wow! This was as good, if not better than from the restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly. It was quite mild, but I have little kids, so that worked for us. I more than doubled the recipe and after our family of 5 got through, there were no leftovers. YUM! If you like it spicy, you might want to add a few more peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrfaretra November 18, 2007

My daughter made this for dinner and their were no leftovers. While it's time consuming it is worth it. We ended up using extra rice vinegar since we had no rice wine and we used red pepper flakes for the dried chili pods(the girls don't like really hot food).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 November 17, 2007

Wonderfully easy and quick to prepare. My family loved it. The kids were picking on the chicken before I got the sauce on, and raved about how yummy that was. I will use this tempura chicken to make sweet and sour chicken with sesame. Highly recommend this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eworthocnp November 14, 2007

General Tso's is one of my DH favorites, so I thought I would give this a try. His response; "this is the best General Tso's I have ever eaten!" I substituted chicken breast for the thighs, used about 4 t. of szechwan chili sauce (my store does not carry dried chili pods), used Splenda and used Marsala instead of the rice wine. I felt it was okay for me to rate still since the substitutions are close the original and the integrity of the dish was not lost. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 07, 2007

Time consuming but fabulous! I quadrupled the recipe and used Mexican dried red chilis cut in half, seasoned rice vinegar, and cooking sherry in place of rice wine. Served with broccoli and sushi rice. Rave reviews from everyone. I served it for a party of six and they ate it ALL! If you're making this recipe for more people, after you've done the first and second-stage frying in batches, put the finished chicken on a roasting pan and warm in the oven at 185 degrees. THEN get a huge bowl and add the sauce right before you serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynmoz November 01, 2007

Use a gluten-free soy sauce or a gluten-free tamari sacue and this recipe is suitable for a gluten and lactose free diet :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** October 20, 2007

With 171 ratings, you probably don't really need one more, but I have to tell you that this is a most delicious chicken recipe. I didn't have rice wine, so I used a very good white wine and followed the recipe as directed. Served it with jasmine rice and a steamed mixture of buttered and seasoned broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. It has been requested as a repeat in my household. Thank you, Mean, for sharing the recipe and Kirstin for looking after it in his absence.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen From Colorado October 16, 2007
Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken