Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    304 Total Reviews

    Showing 281-300 of 304

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2004

      very good. It is much more simple than other recipes I have used. I would increase the sauce a bit and I was wondering if I could add a little something to the coating batter to peak the flavor, I will give it some thought. I will certainly be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      Ahh, what a beautiful dish. This was wonderful! The only bad part was there were no leftovers! :) I used tien tsin peppers from Penzey's,and made the recipe as directed, but unfortunately couldn't locate any rice wine. I will renew my search however, because I'm sure that would have made this perfect. I served with Ginger Broccoli #82896 and steamed rice. Did I mention that even the picky sons ate it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      i made a quadruple batch of this recipe. all i can say is there are four eaters in our house and there was absolutely none left. it was better then most restaurants. ty for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      Very yummy. Mine didn't turn out as crispy as I would like; probably should have left the chicken to cook in the oil a little longer but I didn't want to overcook it. I used boneless breast and canola oil and cayenne pepper in this recipe and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      Oh wow! This was WONDERFUL! Next time I will double/triple the sauce! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      This is a great recipe!! A keeper at our house.. I made extra sauce and my family loved this and has ask for me to make it again. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      what number am i????? well here's to add .......this is WONDERFUL...i add a few things: fresh garlic,table wine(white).mmmnnn this is great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      I have made this twice now. Last week when 11 yr old son saw what I was cooking he knew instantly what it was and started jumping up and down-I think this is one of his favourites! Everyone in the family loves it and I like that it can be partially made ahead and then quickly finished off. The first time I made as written, the second, I doubled the sauce. We like it better with less sauce on the chicken. I would still double the sauce, but serve the extra on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Add me to the list of this recipe's fans. Absolutely wonderful. Double the sauce and add some heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      Great recipe! My husband is a food snob, but he loves this recipe! For health reasons, we made some changes and it still turned out delicious. We sauteed chicken breast cubes in canola oil with garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes. We were too lazy to remove the chicken so we left it in the pan and poured the sauce over it and finished glazing the chicken. We also tossed the chicken with chopped green onions at the end. Like one other reviewer, we had a problem with excess fried egg pieces, but we just picked them out before adding the sauce. This will become a weekly regular for us! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      This is a terrific recipe! Thanks to all the posters who said to double the sauce-they were right. I used breast meat (all I had on hand) and it was great. This is easy to make and the Chinese restaurants that price this as a premium dish are getting away with murder. This is a very inexpensive dish to make. Oops, almost forgot, I used a dry white wine instead of rice wine 'cause that's what I had in the fridge. This recipe goes on my "short list" of absolute faves. Kudos to Mean Chef and this excellent site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      This is the best recipe. I have eaten General Gau (Tso)'s chicken countless times from take-out mainly because I thought there was no way I could reproduce those results on my own. Well, Mr. (and Mrs.) Chinese Food Take-out, you may be in trouble, at least from the perspective of lost business. I bought a cheap ($6) wok to cook this dish in because I had a feeling it was going to be good and I would want to cook it again. I was right. I plan on adjusting the sauce each time for the sake of experimenting. The best thing about this recipe is it is SO basic that adjustments can come very easily. I plan on trying some bean paste in the sauce, cutting the sugar back a little, and also perhaps the vinegar, and adding some kind of dried hot pepper powder or flake (the dried whole chilis will not cut it for the spice lovers out there). Also some ginger and garlic. I can't say enough about this recipe. It is cheap...the peanut oil will be the biggest expense. The texture produced by the egg-corn starch deep fry batter is EXACTLY as I would have hoped...that is the real secret to this recipe as far as I'm concerned. Long Live Chicken Thighs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      This recipe is great! I was impressed with how easy it was to make. I used chicken breast and kept everything else exactly the same. I probably will double the sauce next time - personal preference to have lots of sauce. Great flavor. We like it as much if not more than our favorite Chinese restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Ooops...I just submitted a review but forgot the rating!!! Please add my rating to the previous review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Does this really taste like General Tso's Chicken ? I haven't the foggiest since I'd never eaten it before, but it is delicious ! I prepared it with chicken breast and sherry instead of rice wine (didn't have any, but will next time). Husband gave the thumbs up after only one bite. This recipe is definitely going into my permanent file. Thanks for posting, Mean Chef !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      like you need another 5 star review on this! Fabulous!! So easy, too. I cut down the chili peppers...only used 3 (so the kids wouldn't breathe fire-next time I'll use 4) It was was wonderful--

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Absolutely Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      OH OH OH! What a fantastic recipe. A wonderful blend of flavors. The recipe was so easy to make. I doubled the sauce and would of liked more to pour over the rice. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      Delicious! I doubled the sauce ingredients and was glad I did. I would use a little less sugar (maybe 4 TBSP) next time. It was a little sweeter than I prefer with 6 TBSP. The whole family loved this. I had another recipe for this that I always used and never thought I would find one better but this is better and EASIER! I served it over thin spaghetti that I had sprinkld with soy sauce. Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      Meanie, I love you! This recipe is so easy and surprisingly tasty! The chicken was moist with not too much breading, the carmelized sauce had such a full flavor but not too rich, and the peppers gave off just enough heat to leave wonderful after-affects. I think that this recipe is easy enough that I feel safe tinkering with it, adding more or less of this or that for variety, specifically the number of peppers and perhaps trying mushroom flavored soy sauce. My ultra-picky dh even suggested I buy a wok just so I can make this more often! We served it over basmati rice, and in the future I will add sides of steamed snow peas and marinated carrots. This is a certain keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites