Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    301 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 301

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2003

      This is the best General Tso recipe out there!!! The taste was marvelous! It tastes so much better than a buffet or what not. I mad a few adjustments though. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thighs.(highly recommended) and I didn’t have any chili pods so I substituted dried red peppers (like the stuff you put on pizza). It turned out beautiful! It was very easy to make as well. This was the first time I’ve made it and I had absolutely no trouble. If you love General Tso chicken YOU’VE GOT TO TRY THIS!!! Mean Chef you’re the king!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I had read all the reviews before making this and listened to doubling of the sauce and I am so glad I did. This was the most delicious General Tso I have had..it was the perfect blend of flavors. Not too sweet but sweet enough, spicy hot but not overly and not salty at all. I didn't find a problem with any of it. I followed the recipe but as I said I doubled the sauce, I did add in some spring onions, a little garlic and fresh ginger and sprinkled some toasted sesame over the cooked dish. After I did the second stage cooking I took the chicken out of the pan and kept warm and then cooked the sauce till it caramelized then re-added the chicken and mixed then served. This worked out perfectly, with the chicken having a nice crispiness to it. I give this recipe high praises and will do this restaurant quality recipe again. But I too will definitely recommend to anyone making it to double the sauce minimum. Can't wait till I make it again, I served mine with some spring rolls I had made, perfect for a lunch. Thanks Kirstin for adopting this recipe and to keep sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      The taste was great. I wasn't sure what type of chile pods to use, so I just picked up the dried New Mexico chiles. I liked it a lot. Now I don't have to go out for Chinese with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      This General's Chicken was the best I've ever had, and I made it! I did substite boneless, skinless chicken breast for the chicken thighs, but otherwise followed it to the letter. I've made serveral versions of this recipe, and this is by far the best. Don't be intimidated by this recipe, it really is fairly easy to put together, and you won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Been making this for eight years. Nice you "adopted" this recipe so others could enjoy it. I use 1 1/2 lbs of bite-sized chicken breasts. I quadruple the sauce but only use 4 tsps of cornstarch. I also add 1/4 tsp of garlic powder. Instead of chili pods, put 1/4 tsp of pepper flakes in the sauce. When pressed for time, I've done almost all of the steps early in the day or day before. After putting chicken in egg/cornstarch mix, cover and refrigerate. Or after first fry I refrigerated the chicken, as recipe states. Same for the sauce. Chicken will get crispy when doing the second stage frying. I've even cooked the broccoli and rice and refrigerated them. While frying the chicken, the broccoli & rice are microwaved. Doing it this way, I have dinner ready in 30 minutes. I serve the broccoli over the rice, then the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Yummy recipe! My husband said "Let's have this again!" as he went for THIRDS. I used boneless chicken breast too, yum. For the chili peppers, I used dried Santaka Chili Pods (Japones) - the long skinny red ones. They worked great. I also used sherry b/c I didn't have rice wine (where do you get this?) and I doubled the sauce recipe. It could have used even more sauce - I love the sauce. Be sure to let the sauce cook after you add it b/c it's the carmelizing sugar that gives the General Tso it's yummy texture. And I followed another poster's idea and added some green onions. I recommend having everything arranged before starting to cook - mix up the cornstarch/eggs and also the sauce. Then the cooking goes much faster. We're definitely having this again. UPDATE: I find that if I cook the sauce in with the chicken, the chicken loses its nice crunch. Now I take the chicken out when it's cooked, then put in the sauce and get it nice and thick with the carmelized sugar, and then pour it over for serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      I was reluctant to review this recipe as when I was in the process of making this I discovered I only had about 1 tbs cornstarch. Being that I was short on time I decided to make the recipe, only I did not fry the chicken (I used chicken breast) but I sauteed it in a little peanut oil. I followed the rest of the recipe as stated and it turned out wonderfully. Spicy and tender. My family said it was excellent and never realized my goof. I served this with brocolli and sticky rice. Mean chef this is one great recipe! Next time I will make it with as the recipe states but honestly the taste was so good we didn't miss it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2003

      This recipe is incredible! The only changes I made were boneless skinless chicken breast and I doubled the sauce recipe. Very delicious. Keep up the great work Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      I have tried over 30 different recipes for General Tso's Chicken and this is THE BEST EVER !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      This was wonderful - even better than take-out!. It does take time and patience for a beginner like myself but well worth it. Again, thanks so much Meanchef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      It is good, but to make a portion for 4 people it takes more than an 1h. Let's be honest but fresh chicken properly fried in deep fat is always good - so cornstarch and egg whites is a standard in such a recipe; the rest is nothing special and unique - typical mixture of soy sauce, rice wine and sugar for many so called Chinese cuisine poultry chicken meals. In my opinion chicken can be marinated earlier for 2 hours with rice wine, chillies, soy sauce, garlic in quantities the maker likes and the rest after frying process - it is a good foundation for any mixtures of ingredients according to your inspiration and sense.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      FANTASTIC!! I stuck to the recipe except I had planned to follow others advice and double the sauce however I had a LOT of chicken, both breasts and thighs and it probably ended up being the regular amount of sauce since I quadrupled it. But I bet I had 3-4 pounds of chicken. I didn't have rice wine so used Sake which was fine. I also added fresh grated ginger, garlic, sesame oil and some crushed red pepper to the sauce. I sauteed broccoli with the red peppers (crush a few if you want some heat) and added chopped green onions and sesame seeds on top. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! My girlfriends came over after dinner and stood by the stove and picked at it and raved about how great it was! Hubby loved it and so did the kids. Certainly restaurant quality!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      I found this same recipe somewhere else about 8 years ago and misplaced it. I'm so happy that I found it here! It is better than most take-out I've had. It does take some time to make, but so worth it. I used the pepper pods the first time making this and it wasn't spicy enough for us so, I used red pepper flakes. Much better. I use dry sherry instead of rice wine, chicken breasts(we don't like thighs), and quadruple the sauce. I like to serve this with jasmine rice and steamed broccoli. YUM!!!!! For those of you who found this salty, try low sodium soy sauce. For the person who used mirin it's just sweetened sake. If you love General Tso's Chicken you have got to try this recipe. It's the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Yum. I have a secret love of WalMart's generals chicken and decided to give it a try at home. Excellent results. A big enough hit that it has entered into the normal circuit. I took the tip and cooked the chicken in advance which made actual dinner cooking time almost non-existent. I did double the sauce as suggested. I also threw in a good shot of sciracha because my family likes things REALLY hot. Served with fried rice and stir fried veggies (#63485 minus the beef).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Hey, this is good stuff! I didn't have rice wine so I used sherry and it worked great. I also didn't bread my chicken to save on calories. Subed crushed red pepper flakes. Doubled the sauce and added a bunch of veggies (how else am I suupposed to get the kids to eat them?). Excellent. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I have to say I made this General Tso chicken and the chicken itself came out crispy and good however the sauce for this chicken was way to salty!!! And I am the type of person that has to have salt on everything but this sauce was soooo salty I could not eat it! The sauce needs to be less salty and a little sweeter! Sorry for the bad review but people need to know that the sauce needs to be changed a little bit. Maybe use less soy sauce or use the low sodium soy sauce???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I made a big error making this one, but even with my goof up it still ended up tasting good. I forgot to brown up my chicken and just put my liquid mixture into the pan without chicken being in there...well it turned into a big huge jello-ish ball lol I have no clue what happend but nothing I did would thin it down..I tried some more wine, water, chicken stock lol it just got bigger and bigger...so strange! So I threw my chicken on top of my blob and just mixed it all in...and it still turned out good! I'll definitely make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      EXCELLENT!!! I give this 5+ stars and my son gives it 5 stars, so that means 10+ stars for this one :) We truly enjoyed this recipe. The flavor was great and the meat was nice and tender. We used chicken thighs and breast and doubled the recipe and sauce. We had enough left over for one lunch, so I would have to say it only serves 2 if you don't eat like a bird! I will be passing this one along to family and friends and will be making often. We LOVED it!!! Thanks for adopting Mean's recipe and sharing it with us Kirstin!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      wow! this tasted just like the general tso chicken we order in, its amazing!! what a wonderful recipe..the only trouble i had was when i fried the chicken for the first time, because a lot of the excess cornstarch/egg mixture cooked itself and was left in the pan..it also took a lot longer than expected to brown the second frying time..but it was DEFINITELY worth the wait!! and i made it with mona's easy fried rice..the family all loved it..thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      This was good -the sauce was a little more vinegary than we like for our Tso's, but the chicken part turned out excellent. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 895.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites