304 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had read all the reviews before making this and listened to doubling of the sauce and I am so glad I did. This was the most delicious General Tso I have had..it was the perfect blend of flavors. Not too sweet but sweet enough, spicy hot but not overly and not salty at all. I didn't find a problem with any of it. I followed the recipe but as I said I doubled the sauce, I did add in some spring onions, a little garlic and fresh ginger and sprinkled some toasted sesame over the cooked dish. After I did the second stage cooking I took the chicken out of the pan and kept warm and then cooked the sauce till it caramelized then re-added the chicken and mixed then served. This worked out perfectly, with the chicken having a nice crispiness to it. I give this recipe high praises and will do this restaurant quality recipe again. But I too will definitely recommend to anyone making it to double the sauce minimum. Can't wait till I make it again, I served mine with some spring rolls I had made, perfect for a lunch. Thanks Kirstin for adopting this recipe and to keep sharing it.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 05, 2011

This is the best General Tso recipe out there!!! The taste was marvelous! It tastes so much better than a buffet or what not. I mad a few adjustments though. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thighs.(highly recommended) and I didn’t have any chili pods so I substituted dried red peppers (like the stuff you put on pizza). It turned out beautiful! It was very easy to make as well. This was the first time I’ve made it and I had absolutely no trouble. If you love General Tso chicken YOU’VE GOT TO TRY THIS!!! Mean Chef you’re the king!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puckhead April 17, 2003

Been making this for eight years. Nice you "adopted" this recipe so others could enjoy it. I use 1 1/2 lbs of bite-sized chicken breasts. I quadruple the sauce but only use 4 tsps of cornstarch. I also add 1/4 tsp of garlic powder. Instead of chili pods, put 1/4 tsp of pepper flakes in the sauce. When pressed for time, I've done almost all of the steps early in the day or day before. After putting chicken in egg/cornstarch mix, cover and refrigerate. Or after first fry I refrigerated the chicken, as recipe states. Same for the sauce. Chicken will get crispy when doing the second stage frying. I've even cooked the broccoli and rice and refrigerated them. While frying the chicken, the broccoli & rice are microwaved. Doing it this way, I have dinner ready in 30 minutes. I serve the broccoli over the rice, then the chicken.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spagetts March 27, 2012

The taste was great. I wasn't sure what type of chile pods to use, so I just picked up the dried New Mexico chiles. I liked it a lot. Now I don't have to go out for Chinese with this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton February 03, 2003

This General's Chicken was the best I've ever had, and I made it! I did substite boneless, skinless chicken breast for the chicken thighs, but otherwise followed it to the letter. I've made serveral versions of this recipe, and this is by far the best. Don't be intimidated by this recipe, it really is fairly easy to put together, and you won't be disappointed!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty May 30, 2003

Yummy recipe! My husband said "Let's have this again!" as he went for THIRDS. I used boneless chicken breast too, yum. For the chili peppers, I used dried Santaka Chili Pods (Japones) - the long skinny red ones. They worked great. I also used sherry b/c I didn't have rice wine (where do you get this?) and I doubled the sauce recipe. It could have used even more sauce - I love the sauce. Be sure to let the sauce cook after you add it b/c it's the carmelizing sugar that gives the General Tso it's yummy texture. And I followed another poster's idea and added some green onions. I recommend having everything arranged before starting to cook - mix up the cornstarch/eggs and also the sauce. Then the cooking goes much faster. We're definitely having this again. UPDATE: I find that if I cook the sauce in with the chicken, the chicken loses its nice crunch. Now I take the chicken out when it's cooked, then put in the sauce and get it nice and thick with the carmelized sugar, and then pour it over for serving.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PBF October 13, 2008

I was reluctant to review this recipe as when I was in the process of making this I discovered I only had about 1 tbs cornstarch. Being that I was short on time I decided to make the recipe, only I did not fry the chicken (I used chicken breast) but I sauteed it in a little peanut oil. I followed the rest of the recipe as stated and it turned out wonderfully. Spicy and tender. My family said it was excellent and never realized my goof. I served this with brocolli and sticky rice. Mean chef this is one great recipe! Next time I will make it with as the recipe states but honestly the taste was so good we didn't miss it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher September 02, 2003

This recipe is incredible! The only changes I made were boneless skinless chicken breast and I doubled the sauce recipe. Very delicious. Keep up the great work Mean Chef!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bailey5 May 24, 2003

I have tried over 30 different recipes for General Tso's Chicken and this is THE BEST EVER !!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Huggins May 01, 2003

This was wonderful - even better than take-out!. It does take time and patience for a beginner like myself but well worth it. Again, thanks so much Meanchef.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W February 02, 2003
Mean Guy's General Tso's Chicken