Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Kung Pao Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kung Pao Chicken

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2011

      We didn't like peanuts so we skipped those.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      this is avarage. My sister-in-law is Chinese and she does not put hoisin sauce in her recipe. I thought this one would be good, but I was wrong. Its nothing special. I will not make it again. Also, two cups of oil, does this make sense to anyone?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      The best Kung Pao recipe I've had!!! I used crushed peppers as well, and also used regular party peanuts, and skipped the frying. All I had was rice wine and it worked fine. We will definately use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      We loved this recipe!!! I used crushed red peppers in place of the other peppers and I just sauteed the chicken in a little canola oil (to cut calories/fat). It was awesome over rice!! will definately be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      We really enjoyed this. I used a tsp of crushed red pepper instead of the dried chili peppers and it was soooo spicy, loved it. I doubled the sauce, but that was NOT necessary at all...in fact we scooped some out. This is slightly different that kung pao's I have had, but still wonderful and fabulous with the peanuts. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Wow - this is a great Kung POW! Chicken. Nice and spicy, just as promised. My family was very pleased with this (though I did spare the 8-year old by giving her some chicken before I seasoned it). I skipped the cornstarch and oil and just stir fried the chicken pieces and added the heat! I also added some bamboo shoots and shredded carrots and used cashews instead of peanuts. We will definitely have this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Delicious Kung Pao Chicken! Didn't use as many chillies but it was still great.Thanks sugarpea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

    • on October 04, 2004

      We had guests and I decided to make a dinner with an Asian theme. This just bowled them over. I also served Bergy's delicious Oriental Green Beans, which complimented the chicken perfectly. I didn't have whole chilis, so just substituted crushed red pepper flakes instead. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      This is very close to the version of Kung Pao chicken that I use. However I alter it a bit by (1) omitting the salt; (2) substituting cream for dry sherry; (3) pressing the garlic; and (4) substituting ½ to 1 t hot red pepper flakes for the halved dried red peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kung Pao Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 835.1
     
    Calories from Fat 750
    89%
    Total Fat 83.4 g
    128%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 145.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black bean sauce

    chili paste with garlic

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes