Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Ken Hom's "dead Easy" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ken Hom's "dead Easy" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2012

      I really thought I would love this ricepe but it was good (the DM and DS devoured theirs) but there was something in the taste that left me puzzled and well thinking I have a beautiful piece of moist chicken but the taste is just not right (timing for the recipe is perfect).. Thank you Hey Jude for a recipe I will try again but with some tweeking to suit me, made for I Recommend on KateL's recommendation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      We didn't really love this dish, it was just okay. While the chicken was moist, the flavors just didn't do it for us and we won't likely make it again. Maybe we're not really five spice people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I was gifted 4 bottles of Chinese Five spice and was looking for ways to use it up. I was hesitant because the first review I read was negative but I read the others and when I got to "Uncle Bill's" I knew it was a keeper. He know's his stuff. (I'm a secret admirer of his, LOL). Anyway, I changed the amount to feed 8 and it was not enough!! They would have licked their plates if they could have it was that good. Needless to say this will be in permanent rotation in our house. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this for its ease of preparation, taste, and overall feeling of satisfaction I get when I make a "gourmet" meal on the cheap!!! Really is restaruant quality!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      So sorry to be a party pooper, but we really didn't like this. I've used five spice powder before successfully, but it just seemed to over-power this dish. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked it a wok. My sauce didn't ever get to a glaze stage, even after cooking a little longer than suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      5 Stars, great taste, and easy. I doubled the recipe and used a giant nonstick frying pan, which means I had to keep the thighs warm in the oven while I reduced the sauce for another 10-15 minutes. Three-fourths pound of chicken thighs translated to 3 thighs, so I made 6 thighs to avoide a confrontation with DH. Made for Healthy Choices ABC 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I love the smell of the 5 spice powder! Great easy recipe! Simple and delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Talk about restaurant quality! I really, REALLY liked this. I would definitely recommend doubling the sauce if you are using a large skillet. Mine reduced to nothing after only about 15 minutes and I was pretty bummed that I didn't have any to put on the rice. Nevertheless, the chicken was super moist and extremely flavorful. Served over some brown rice with a side of edamame and we had ourselves some yummy, healthy eatin'! :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      DH especially loved this, and even though I don't LOVE 5-spice, this was good. It was a decent amount of 5-spice, but I think the simmering really mellows out the taste. Love that it's made with thighs, as I think breasts would be good, but not nearly as good. I added a dash of cornstarch at the end because even after 30 mins of simmering, the sauce hadn't come to a glaze. We will make this again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I love 5-spice powder,this chicken dish is just wonderful.Easy to make and I like the amount for 2. Thank you for posting.Rose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I'm sorry, I thought I would like this a lot after reading the great reviews. I had never had Chinese five spice powder, and I think that's the problem....I don't like the taste at all. On the plus side, the chicken was very tender, it smelled good while cooking, and the sauce did boil down to a glaze. Based on the great reviews, I tripled the recipe so my husband and I would have enough for lunch the next day. My husband said he would still take it to work, but just because he hates to waste food. He actually rated this a "0". I did find that salting the chicken a bit when on my plate helped the taste a little. Again, I'm sorry I can't give it a good review. :o(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      I enjoyed this very much. I did make a bit more sauce and thickened it with some cornstarch. I wanted it for the rice. I think my spices are getting old.....loosing some of their umph!! Will do this with new spices next time. Thanks Hey Jude

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Our chicken was very tender but we found 1 tsp of Chinese five spice powder was overpowering. Next time we would only add a 1/2 tsp of Chinese five spice powder & considering we love spicy foods, we would also add some chili flakes to the oil prior to browning the chicken. Thank you for posting this recipe! It was "dead easy"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      This is good! And very easy to make. I cut the chicken into rather small pieces and reduced the amount of water because I didn't want the chicken to overcook. Other than that, I stayed with the recipe, and I'm glad I did. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      We thought this was absolutely dynamite! The flavor was so intense and unique. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      I have to agree with the dog lover. With so much garlic in this recipe, the critter's breath would probably be out of control. I found this creation to be super easy to make and all the spices blended very well. I did take the advice from the other reviewers in that I made more sauce and I thickened it by adding 1 teaspoon of flour and mixed it in with the cold sauce ingredients before adding it into the hot pan. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Hello Hey Jude; I had to make this recipe twice before I posted my review. The first time I made it, I made a very big mistake, I DID NOT MAKE ENOUGH, because by the time I finished tasting and sampling the chicken along with the sauce, the entire amount was devoured. The second time was last nite, added some chicken wings and drumettes along with the thighs, so I doubled the recipe and I'll be darned, I did not finish it all. I have enough for lunch today. The Chinese 5 spice powder really made the recipe. The sauce was absolutely fantabulous. I just cannot understand anyone saying that it was terrible, oh well, to each their own. This is one of the best and quickest Chicken recipes that I have made for a long time and it will be on my SPECIAL list for a long time. Thank you ever-so-much for posting and sharing this recipe with us. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      What an excellent asian dish! Yummy! I made the recipe exactly as written and it definetly has the WOW factor! My husband and I love to eat asian meals at home and while I was making it he kept saying how amazing it smelled and how even better it tasted! Thank you so much for a great recipe! And for the review that was posted before mine the only thing I can think of that would not make this dish so yummy is if you misread the GARLIC cloves and put in actual cloves. Not sure if that's what happened but it's a great recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I thought it was terrible , but it did give me a chance to try the 5-spice . If you don't like the taste of clove you won't like this . For me it has just to much clove in it . Truth be told , I wouldn't feed it to my dog , REALLY !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This chicken is DELICIOUS. Sadly, I had to substitute cidar vinegar for the rice vinegar, and I also used chicken breast, however whatever I ended up making tasted great! The sauce doesn't really boil down to a glaze, just a kind of not-thick liquid. My suggestion is to make DOUBLE the amount so you can have plenty to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      I saw this while browsing during my lunch break and decided that it would be perfect for dinner. I did use boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs and sliced them horizontally to form thin cutlets. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and even made rice and steamed broccoli for sides, as suggested in the intro. Quick, easy, and tasty. This is a fabulous combo for a busy night. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ken Hom's "dead Easy" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.4
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    31%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 141.6 mg
    47%
    Sodium 701.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese five spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes