20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really thought I would love this ricepe but it was good (the DM and DS devoured theirs) but there was something in the taste that left me puzzled and well thinking I have a beautiful piece of moist chicken but the taste is just not right (timing for the recipe is perfect).. Thank you Hey Jude for a recipe I will try again but with some tweeking to suit me, made for I Recommend on KateL's recommendation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 21, 2012

We didn't really love this dish, it was just okay. While the chicken was moist, the flavors just didn't do it for us and we won't likely make it again. Maybe we're not really five spice people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze April 09, 2011

I was gifted 4 bottles of Chinese Five spice and was looking for ways to use it up. I was hesitant because the first review I read was negative but I read the others and when I got to "Uncle Bill's" I knew it was a keeper. He know's his stuff. (I'm a secret admirer of his, LOL). Anyway, I changed the amount to feed 8 and it was not enough!! They would have licked their plates if they could have it was that good. Needless to say this will be in permanent rotation in our house. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this for its ease of preparation, taste, and overall feeling of satisfaction I get when I make a "gourmet" meal on the cheap!!! Really is restaruant quality!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen June 27, 2010

So sorry to be a party pooper, but we really didn't like this. I've used five spice powder before successfully, but it just seemed to over-power this dish. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked it a wok. My sauce didn't ever get to a glaze stage, even after cooking a little longer than suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins September 19, 2008

5 Stars, great taste, and easy. I doubled the recipe and used a giant nonstick frying pan, which means I had to keep the thighs warm in the oven while I reduced the sauce for another 10-15 minutes. Three-fourths pound of chicken thighs translated to 3 thighs, so I made 6 thighs to avoide a confrontation with DH. Made for Healthy Choices ABC 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 28, 2008

I love the smell of the 5 spice powder! Great easy recipe! Simple and delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl July 26, 2008

Talk about restaurant quality! I really, REALLY liked this. I would definitely recommend doubling the sauce if you are using a large skillet. Mine reduced to nothing after only about 15 minutes and I was pretty bummed that I didn't have any to put on the rice. Nevertheless, the chicken was super moist and extremely flavorful. Served over some brown rice with a side of edamame and we had ourselves some yummy, healthy eatin'! :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunsetHappy July 01, 2008

DH especially loved this, and even though I don't LOVE 5-spice, this was good. It was a decent amount of 5-spice, but I think the simmering really mellows out the taste. Love that it's made with thighs, as I think breasts would be good, but not nearly as good. I added a dash of cornstarch at the end because even after 30 mins of simmering, the sauce hadn't come to a glaze. We will make this again and again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM October 04, 2007

I love 5-spice powder,this chicken dish is just wonderful.Easy to make and I like the amount for 2. Thank you for posting.Rose

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
out of here September 27, 2007

I'm sorry, I thought I would like this a lot after reading the great reviews. I had never had Chinese five spice powder, and I think that's the problem....I don't like the taste at all. On the plus side, the chicken was very tender, it smelled good while cooking, and the sauce did boil down to a glaze. Based on the great reviews, I tripled the recipe so my husband and I would have enough for lunch the next day. My husband said he would still take it to work, but just because he hates to waste food. He actually rated this a "0". I did find that salting the chicken a bit when on my plate helped the taste a little. Again, I'm sorry I can't give it a good review. :o(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taterluvr September 26, 2007
Ken Hom's "dead Easy" Chicken