10 Reviews

This recipe made quite a nice dinner for me, but I've decided not to give a star rating because I think I strayed too far from the recipe. I did use the basic idea of coating and frying chicken breast strips and putting them in sauce. I added a lot of vegetables - onion, carrot, shiitake and precooked bamboo shoot. I sauteed the vegetables first with the ginger and garlic, which I increased, and mixed in the sauce ingredients. I then fried the chicken, with potato starch, rather than cornstarch. (The two are very similar.) I used a bit more starch, but could not get a crisp crust, either. Then I put everything together, with sesame seeds sprinkled on top. The chicken was tender and moist and the sauce was pleasantly tangy. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao December 24, 2012

we really didn't like the taste of this. It was a little to bitter and we didn't think it tasted anything like the restrants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halloweencat01 November 21, 2008

This tasted unbelievably good. It was so yummy. Like another reviewer, I could not get a crispy coating on the chicken while frying, and it made a terrible mess (probably more to do with my cooking skills than anything to do with the recipe). I will definately make it again, but this time I will simply saute the chicken and add it to the sauce and not fry it. The sauce, on the other hand, was to die for. I doubled the recipe as you suggested, melsmom, and was very glad I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ryana October 08, 2007

Took your suggestion, melsmom, doubled the sauce and served it over rice. I also added red and green bell pepper and broccoli to the stir-fry. I wasn't able to get the golden, crisp crust shown in the photo, but Dh didn't seem to care. He made a point of telling me (more than once) how good it was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea April 10, 2006

Yummy!! My wife loved it and our guests invited themselves over for the same meal next week. Only thing I changed was to add spring onions, 2 red peppers,baby corn and some pea pods. Great sauce, thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieYank May 06, 2005

Didnt seem to have the authentic taste I was looking for and I should have cut down on the vingar. It made a nice tasting dipping sauce simlar to sweet n sour sauce. Took A LONG TIME to put it all together :-/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinMama January 04, 2005

This was great. I've tried to make Sesame Chicken before but it never came out quite right. Next time I will add a little red pepper to spice it up a bit and probably more sesame seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen D November 04, 2004

My and family and I eat Chinese food, at least once a week. I am certain my husband indulges more often than we know. This is one of our favorite dishes, so when I prepared it for dinner tonight the entire family went wild. For me, the recipe was so easy to follow and adaptable for our individual tastes. As for the family, they were glad to add this dish to their list of "favorite foods cooked by Mom." I cooked it with brown rice, added more spices and tossed in some broccoli, to make it a well balanced meal. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Eclectic Cook October 07, 2004

I've made this dish 3 times, and it seems to get better each time...Although it does take some time to fry the chicken, it is such an easy recipe. I usually fry the chicken early in the afternoon and then put the whole dish together when my husband walks through the door. The first couple of times I made this, I served it with rice, but tonight I'm going to try it on shredded lettuce. It will fit our diets better, and sounds as if it might be a good contrast. Thanks for this one melsmon!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 April 28, 2004

Delicious!!!!! We loved it. It doesn't have a thick coating and if you like less or more spicy, you can adjust the amounts of the chili oil. Not hard to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeeva22 January 20, 2004
Imperial Chinese Restaurant Sesame Chicken