Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Imperial Chinese Restaurant Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Imperial Chinese Restaurant Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2012

      This recipe made quite a nice dinner for me, but I've decided not to give a star rating because I think I strayed too far from the recipe. I did use the basic idea of coating and frying chicken breast strips and putting them in sauce. I added a lot of vegetables - onion, carrot, shiitake and precooked bamboo shoot. I sauteed the vegetables first with the ginger and garlic, which I increased, and mixed in the sauce ingredients. I then fried the chicken, with potato starch, rather than cornstarch. (The two are very similar.) I used a bit more starch, but could not get a crisp crust, either. Then I put everything together, with sesame seeds sprinkled on top. The chicken was tender and moist and the sauce was pleasantly tangy. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      we really didn't like the taste of this. It was a little to bitter and we didn't think it tasted anything like the restrants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This tasted unbelievably good. It was so yummy. Like another reviewer, I could not get a crispy coating on the chicken while frying, and it made a terrible mess (probably more to do with my cooking skills than anything to do with the recipe). I will definately make it again, but this time I will simply saute the chicken and add it to the sauce and not fry it. The sauce, on the other hand, was to die for. I doubled the recipe as you suggested, melsmom, and was very glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Took your suggestion, melsmom, doubled the sauce and served it over rice. I also added red and green bell pepper and broccoli to the stir-fry. I wasn't able to get the golden, crisp crust shown in the photo, but Dh didn't seem to care. He made a point of telling me (more than once) how good it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      Yummy!! My wife loved it and our guests invited themselves over for the same meal next week. Only thing I changed was to add spring onions, 2 red peppers,baby corn and some pea pods. Great sauce, thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      Didnt seem to have the authentic taste I was looking for and I should have cut down on the vingar. It made a nice tasting dipping sauce simlar to sweet n sour sauce. Took A LONG TIME to put it all together :-/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      This was great. I've tried to make Sesame Chicken before but it never came out quite right. Next time I will add a little red pepper to spice it up a bit and probably more sesame seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      My and family and I eat Chinese food, at least once a week. I am certain my husband indulges more often than we know. This is one of our favorite dishes, so when I prepared it for dinner tonight the entire family went wild. For me, the recipe was so easy to follow and adaptable for our individual tastes. As for the family, they were glad to add this dish to their list of "favorite foods cooked by Mom." I cooked it with brown rice, added more spices and tossed in some broccoli, to make it a well balanced meal. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      I've made this dish 3 times, and it seems to get better each time...Although it does take some time to fry the chicken, it is such an easy recipe. I usually fry the chicken early in the afternoon and then put the whole dish together when my husband walks through the door. The first couple of times I made this, I served it with rice, but tonight I'm going to try it on shredded lettuce. It will fit our diets better, and sounds as if it might be a good contrast. Thanks for this one melsmon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      Delicious!!!!! We loved it. It doesn't have a thick coating and if you like less or more spicy, you can adjust the amounts of the chili oil. Not hard to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Imperial Chinese Restaurant Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.3
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    18%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 613.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 42.4 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili oil

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes