Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Homemade Hoisin Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Hoisin Sauce

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2008

      I was so thankful to have found this recipe-I ran out of store-bought and needed it for Stir-fried Zucchini With Hoisin Sauce. I used molasses and hot chili garlic sauce and it was delicious! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      imho (in my humble opinion) is my take on this is that stick with the molasses i use mushroom soy sauce and i use apple vinegar instead of rice vinegar.the mushroom and apple taste gives it much more depth.
      also i am an onion and garlic freak so what i do is add a half a clove of crush garlic and a crushed leak to taste.
      i have heard of using ginger but i have not tried but what i am suggesting is gitting more complex than the basic hoisin sauce,i look at that as a mere foundation but this is just 1 mans thought on the subject.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Cooking gluten free often means making what you need from scratch to avoid contaminants. I used trusted ingredients from my pantry to put this recipe together and could rest easy knowing the dish I prepared was truly gluten free. The side benefit to making your own homemade condiments, etc, is avoiding preservatives or other undesirable ingredients such as MSG. I really appreciate this recipe. It was terrific! One thing I would suggest is mixing the peanut butter and honey together well first, then slowly incorporating the soy sauce, oil and remaining ingredients. I threw them all together as directed and found that it took lots of elbow grease with the whisk to get the peanut butter to incorporate with everything else. When I make this recipe, I double the ingredients and freeze the extra in ice cube trays, to always have some ready to go. Most trays hold 1 Tb in each compartment, making it super easy to measure out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Wow this was delicious! A different and unique sauce from what I'm use to making. My family loved it. I used honey and just a few dashes of hot sauce. I used it with Hoisin Chicken .and I have a little left over to make something else in a couple days. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      wow! this sauce has become a staple in my kitchen. Chicken is ridiculously moist and tender and tasty when baked in the oven with this simple sauce. And pork too. One of my favourite finds on Food.Com.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I used bean paste (from Ranch 99, Uwajimaya, H-Mart, etc.) instead of peanut butter and Sriracha (aka rooster sauce) instead of Chinese hot sauce. The recipe is easy and flexible, and the results very good. I am accustomed to a sweeter, thicker hoisin sauce, like Lee Kum Kee, but I like this enough to make a double batch to have at the ready.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Very yummy! I don't have a lot of experience with Hoisin sauce so I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, but I really liked this! Used it with Mahogany Beef Stew (which calls for the sauce as a sort of secret ingredient, I guess). Would love to make it again and put it on chicken or something. I followed the recipe, save omitting the hot sauce, which I don't have and don't like, anyway. I didn't miss it. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Thanks so much for this recipe! I've been craving Japanese beef ribs for ages now but I can't have soy due to a recent allergy development . I used coconut aminos from my local health food store as it is a great substitute for soy sauce and sunflower seed butter in place of the peanut butter and it turned out marvelous! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I needed some hoisin sauce to make Chicken With Cranberry-Hoisin Sauce by Shelby Jo that I tagged in the *Pet Parade* event, so I decided to make my own & found your recipe. It is an ingredient-friendly, easy-fix w/an authentic flavor. I used peanut butter & Tobasco for the hot sauce. Thx for sharing your recipe. I cannot imagine buying hoisin sauce again when this is so easy & good. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      I am gluten free and paleo. This recipe was very easy to adapt. Commercial brands are not an option for me. I enjoyed this recipe and will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      I have made this twice. The first time, I was out of molasses and used honey. Second time I used molasses and I prefer the molasses version. I also omitted sesame oil as I don't care for it. I used it over browned ground turkey with sautéed onion, bell pepper and broccoli. This is not like the jarred hoisin sauce but it is very good and is easy to make. I will continue to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      I ran low of hoisin sauce for a recipe and happened onto this recipe. I used part molasses and part honey and had to use peanut butter but will make a note to buy bean paste. Great recipe and thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      Perfect as is recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      Easy and economical to make. Store bought is $4.50!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      I just made the Hoisin sauce and it turned out really good. I made the sauce for Moo Shu pancake. I don't like garlic so I used aseofetida instead. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I was so grateful to find this recipe as I needed Hoisin Sauce for Hoisin Pork Chops With Pineapple Green Onion Relish (Hoisin Pork Chops with Pineapple Green Onion Relish) and this turned out perfectly. According to what I had on hand, I used black bean paste in place of peanut butter, the honey option, and white wine vinegar in place of rice vinegar. This is a perfect MYO recipe - thank you, Alskann :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      This was VERY good! I made it as written except I added an extra 1/2 Tbls of molasses! This is perfect as a dip for steamed dumplings! This recipe saved the day for me because I didn't have any hoisin sauce in the house! And now I'll never need to buy hoisin sauce ever again! Thanks Alskann =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      more like a peanut sauce than a hoisin sauce....tasty, but not what I expected

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Excellent recipe - simple and delicious. Liked the sauce so much I joined the website so I could say thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Hoisin Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.5
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    60%
    Total Fat 33.6 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5734.6 mg
    238%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoned rice vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites