12 Reviews

After reading the reviews I decided to use 1 cup of instant brown rice instead of noodles. We really enjoyed this and will make it again. Very easy and fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar December 04, 2012

I had to skip using celery, i thought we had some but didn't. Used a smaller elbow noodle, tasted fine. probably used more beef then told.. added green onions. the things i didn't have or added extra i believe didn't change the dish too much. So i believe it's safe to say that this dish is a win! Everyone liked it & i'll definitely be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cryssy88 December 01, 2012

My Husband and I loved this recipe. I left out the celery and mushrooms because we don't like those ingredients. We served it with eggrolls. It was delicious. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl March 13, 2011

I've been served a similar ground beef with minced celery dish in China, but it was always served with rice, never with macaroni.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KunmingCook January 06, 2011

This was quick and easy to do, however, it needed something more. I cooked the pasta separate from the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u November 01, 2010

Because of the taste I have to give it 5 stars even though I'll have to do it differently next time.I'll cook the pasta in another saucepan in boiling water. Cause they were not cooked to perfection and also it stuck to the pan and I had to add more beef broth. You wrote 1 1/2, but I guess it was 1 1/2 cup? And next time I'll use more pasta. Cause it's more meat than pasta. I used thinly sliced carrots instead of celery. I used a package of mushroom. For the soy sauce it's perfect. No need to add more. I used green bell pepper. Thanks Sage :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 31, 2010

Good, and easy to make, but needed a bit more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 June 03, 2008

This is a very kid friendly dish that we enjoyed at lunch today. It has just a hint of soy sauce which is perfect. I think we tend to over do with sauces sometimes. I made this for *Zaar World Tour 4* for the Asia Region. My team for ZWT4 is the Tastebud Tickling Travelers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 02, 2008

This was good and easy to make. I didn't add the celery as I didn't have any but follwed the rest of the recipe exactly. Quick and simple to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 06, 2007

I'm not giving a star rating because I took so many liberties! I skipped the onions, added onion powder. Skipped the celery and added pureed bok choy that was filling up the fridge. Pureed the mushrooms because my DH won't eat them if he can see them. Used a full cup of red peppers instead of a half cup of green, forgot the water, added a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a half teaspoon of minced garlic, and used shell noodles instead of Macaroni! Oh yeah, and I cooked the noodles separately, mixed them into the meat/veggie mixture, and simmered for about half an hour! Whew! Despite all this, it was pretty good -- but because I forgot the water, rather dry. I'm going to try this recipe again because even with all my adjustments, it was happily eaten by everyone in the family. I think it'll be even better made according to plan, so I'll plan it into a weekly meal and actually have everything on hand to make it right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW May 24, 2007
Ground Beef Chinese Style