Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / General Tso's Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    General Tso's Tofu

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2013

      Like others, I don't normally use tofu except in hot and sour soup. So decided to try this recipe. I did follow other reviewer's advice and baked the tofu after coating it with cornstarch in the oven for 30 minutes at 325 degrees. Then I put it in the skillet with the sauce. Steamed broccoli and also put that into the sauce. I doubled the sauce amount, and was glad I did...it is an excellent sauce. Still can't get used to the texture of the tofu though. So I'll have to try putting it in the freezer as suggested. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I really enjoyed this dish and found it to be very flavorful. Great dish if you love tofu!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I loved it i also marinated the tofu first in sauce then egg and cornstarch , This was my second time cooking tofu and i found it quick and easy i to highly recommend this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I wanted to try marinated and baking the tofu like other reviewers suggested, however time escaped me and I ended up following the recipe word for word. The sauce was extremely delicious and went really well with snap peas and mushrooms that were cooked with a little bit of olive oil (we didn't have broccoli).
      I wasn't a huge fan of home-cooked tofu, but looking at how a few people have fried it really helped me understand how to make it the way it is in restaurants. The sauce adds so much flavor to the otherwise blandness of the tofu.
      I'm bookmarking this recipe to make on many other occasions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      This is incredible! I doubled the sauce, and used a finely diced white onion instead of a scallion. It has a great flavor, and was really similar to restaurant General Tso's. Great recipe - this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      This dish is AMAZING!!!!! It is seriously so good. Thank you so much for helping me understand how great and versatile Tofu can be. It is perfect. We like to marinate the tofu before. Just one more thing DOUBLE the sauce!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic! I have never liked tofu, and I ate seconds of this! We doubled the sauce and added all kinds of veggies (mushrooms, bell pepper, napa cabage) and instead of red pepper flakes used a little chile garlic paste. I also just used flour instead of egg/cornstarch mix. Set aside a bowl for my brother, who thought it was chicken! Will definately be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      We LOVE this recipe! Even my kids (1 and 3) gobble it down! It is a great veggie alternative to one of my favorite meat dishes! It got the approval of my sister too who is a tofu skeptic! I am making it for dinner tonight and this is my 2nd time making it, which rarely happens because I change things up to make them better, but this didn't need it! Well done and thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Oh wow was this good! The smaller and thinner you slice the tofu the better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      This was yum! I will double the sauce next time so there is more to put on rice. This was yum(yes it needs repeating)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

    • on January 01, 2012

      This recipe was great. I'm not much of a tofu eater but my DH is so i thought I'd give it a try. Wow it was delicious, thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      I've never had tofu before and I thoroughly enjoyed this. The sauce makes the dish, it is DIVINE. I didn't use the green onions or the sherry and I used powdered ginger instead of fresh but it was still awesome. Will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Here's review#93 extolling the virtues of this dish. It's fantastic! DD and I both enjoyed it immensely. Next time I make this I'll try baking it as suggested by some other reviewers. I used firm tofu that was frozen and thawed. The texture was very good. Made for Veggie Swap 38

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Great recipe! I made this last night and everyone loved it. I put the egg and tofu in a ziploc bag and then added the cornstarch instead of dipping each piece and it worked out well. I made double the sauce and used a stir fry vegetable blend. I might triple the sauce next time, but I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      My DS recently became a vegetarian. I wanted to find a good recipe and this one looked really good. My DS did the sauce and I prepared the tofu and put everything together. He told me to get the silken tofu, as that is what they use in the Chinese restaurant where he works. That was a mistake because it broke apart like scrambled hamburg as it was cooking. It tasted great though, and be both loved it! Next time I will use the firm tofu. We doubled the sauce and may even triple it next time. I threw in snow peas instead of broccoli and it was a great addition. Even if you don't like tofu, I really think you would be surprised at how delicious it is made this way. I can't wait to experiment further with tofu now that I have had it like this. I picked up the taste from the sauce while cooking. I replaced the soy sauce with dumpling sauce as I was out of soy, but it has soy, ginger and garlic in it so it worked great. I still used the same amounts of garlic and ginger. Served on top of brown rice it was a winner all the way! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us Hadice! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Really good! I did freeze the tofu and marinated it for about an hour before cooking. I also double the sauce. I just wish I would have cut the tofu in smaller pieces. Thanks for posting this recipe, I learned lots from trying it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Very yummy recipe, I cut the tofu really small and probably used more stock than the recipe called for, I added a lot of brown mushrooms chopped small, a head of broccoli chopped small and some snow peas and served with sesame noodles. The family enjoyed it immensely. Thank you for posting. This would also be just as nice without the coating and just adding cornflour and water mixture if in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This was wonderful! I'm not a vegetarian and haven't really found a recipe for tofu that I like thus far. But this recipe was great!! I served mine with peanut sesame noodles. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Excellent dish for our first foray into the 'World of Tofu'! It took us a little longer than 5 minutes to cook, but we've never used tofu before so maybe that's why. But otherwise, YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for General Tso's Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    21%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 539.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites