118 Reviews

Great Recipe! I followed exactly and was extremely happy. Next time I'll double the sauce though. There was just enough to coat the tofu, but not run over onto the rice. Other than that, very pleased.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shylocke December 07, 2010

This was TASTY! My husband is diabetic, so I used SPLENDA instead of sugar & it worked just great. We ate this over quinoa. AWESOME!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rengetsu September 29, 2009

I made this recipe as directed and it was incredible. My Dad who hates tofu actually likes this and requested it again. The sauce was delicious and I had no problems making it as directed without marinading the tofu first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef A.Crews November 10, 2014

This is the second time I have made this recipe and I must say it's a new favorite in our house. Instead of marinating the tofu, I cut the pieces smaller so that the sauce was flavorful enough to cut the tofu taste. I also always gently squeeze the extra moisture from my tofu, to give it a better texture. I added some pepper and onion strips and stir-fried them with a little pam before carrying on with the spices and sauce ingredients (mostly to cut down on the oil). My man officially likes tofu now. Yay!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Gwen August 07, 2014

Oh my gosh! I can't believe I didn't review this before -- we've made this recipe 6 or 7 times since I found it, and it's hands-down the best tofu recipe I've ever had. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!! I made it almost exactly as written -- the only change was instead of using all vegetable oil for frying, I added a splash of sesame oil. I also put the cornstarch in a brown paper bag and added a few cubes at a time, shaking well, and it covered them perfectly with no mess. We like spicy food so we added a good sprinkling of the crushed red pepper flakes. My son likes tofu extra crispy, so I leave it in the pan until it is almost a dark golden brown. I double the sauce and serve this as a meal with broccoli and rice -- with the sauce ladled over all. What a super recipe -- makes my mouth water just writing a review about it. :) Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 26, 2014

Simply the best General Cho-Fu recipe out there! Thanks Hadice....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Boogie in Lansdowne, PA July 07, 2014

Loved this!!! I however did not coat the tofu. I added it as is, and also added a splash of pineapple to the sauce. Next time i will marinade the tofu though. All in all, great dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.LeeAnnMunoz May 18, 2014

This is an incredible recipe! We marinated the tofu overnight like everyone suggested and cut up our tofu in small pieces. This was incredible!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yoda0975 April 10, 2014

This is my favourite tofu dish by now. The sauce is so sweet and tasty and the tofu has just the right consisteny! We now make 4 servings for 2 people, it's just soooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K.Dragon September 10, 2013

OMG! This recipe is a KEEPER!!! I would have given it 5 stars, except that the Tofu is a slight bit bland, so the recipe needs a little tweaking and the amount of sauce is not adequate so the sauce recipe needs to be doubled. The sauce is delicious!! tastes very authentic just like in the Chinese restaurant... I agree with others with regard to making double the sauce recipe. The tofu itself tasted a little bland so next time I will experiment with marinating the tofu in something (haven't decided what to marinate in yet) before I dip in the egg and cornstarch. I also will try baking the tofu cubes next time; I'm not accustomed to eating fried foods so the fried taste was a bit much for me....but this is a truly great recipe....and it looks great on the plate over Jasmine rice (I used Carolina Jasmine rice) and the steamed broccoli on the side with some sauce over it as well. AWESOME!! One last thing....It took a little longer to prepare; I would say from start to finish, it took about an hour....with all the garlic and ginger mincing, etc. But well worth the time and effort!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreainQueens September 03, 2013
General Tso's Tofu