Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / General Tso's Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    General Tso's Tofu

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2009

      I am not much of a tofu lover so I decided to try this with A couple of modificatitions. I made the sauce and marinated the tofu in it before breading it with the egg and cornstarch.( for a couple of hours.) Then I baked the tofu in a 325 oven for approximatley 30 min. so that it was crispy and then I used the "marinade" plus made an extra batch of sauce and proceded with the rest of the recipie. I must say it was YUMMY YUMMY. I had it with stirfried broccoli, baby corn, snowpeas and rice. The tofu had better flavour by marinating first and you can eliminate a lot of the oil by baking it instead of frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Flavorful sauce, and overall a good recipe. I highly recommend following some of the other reviewers' suggestions to marinate the tofu in the sauce before coating in the egg and cornstarch mixture and baking at 325F for about 30 minutes. If you like your General Tso's with a lot of sauce, I recommend doubling the sauce recipe, which will give you enough marinade for the tofu and plenty of sauce for the dish itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      This was good. I think if I make it again I will follow in the footsteps of some of the other reviewers and marinate the tofu so it takes on more flavor and maybe try baking it instead. This had too much of a fried flavor, but that may just be me, we try to eat healthy and don't eat fried foods very often so I probably noticed this more than anyone else. I did double the sauce and may try to thicken it a little more next time. Served with steamed broccoli and brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Fantastic! I started by freezing the block of tofu overnight to make a more chicken-y texture. I followed the top review and baked the egg and cornstarch coated tofu pieces in the oven at 325 for 30 minutes. This made the texture come out wonderful! I used half the tofu called for (what I had on hand), and marinated the cubes for a couple hours in a ziploc bag with the sauce. After lightly squeezing the tofu as I removed it from the marinade, I had plenty of sauce left to pour in the pan later. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      Awesome! I doubled the sauce recipe and used water and ketchup rather than broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      This is the best tofu I've ever eaten. Ever. I did, however, make a few modifications. I baked it after marinating, as per Tracy Pontarollo's suggestion (I didn't freeze it though, I'm fine with the texture), used cider vinegar and chicken stock, halved the soy and sugar, and used my own dried Bird's eye chiles. I also pretty much doubled the garlic and ginger. This wasn't too spicy and it was all delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      5 stars is an insult. I LOVED this and even my tofu hating husband loved this. So happy I found it and took the chance in making it. I love the coating on the tofu. It fried up nicely with very little oil. I will try it for other dishes this way as well. I doubled the recipe and it worked well. I used rice wine vinegar and skipped the sherry. After I fried the tofu I added a touch more oil to the pan and sir fry broccoli and cauliflower (1 mixed bag), 2 sliced Japanese eggplants and 1 head of bok choy cut into pieces. When they were done I placed in a large bowel and proceeded with step 7. I mixed all the sauce ingredients together b4 I got this far so all I had to do was pour it in the pan. The cornstarch brought it to the perfect consistency and this was the perfect amount of sauce; not too much or too little. I poured the tofu over the veggies and served brown rice on the side. It was great and I’ll defiantly be making this again. The only complaint I got from DH was that there were no egg rolls LOL. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      What a delicious, flavorful vegetarian dish! I still can't believe how much flavor this dish gives: it made tofu and broccoli, like, AMAZING!! I made half a batch and accidentally doubled the garlic and onion, but loved it regardless. I put the tofu in the freezer for about 4 hours and it firmed up really well. Some of it actually completely froze (looked like yellow ice) so I ran it under some hot water to "turn it back into tofu" before dunking in the egg mixture, etc. I served it on brown rice with the steamed broccoli, and I think next time I'll mix the broccoli in with the sauce/tofu before serving, just to really coat it. I'll be making this regularly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      if you make this, be prepared to eat an entire block of tofu by yourself. it's that addicting. no shame! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Oh my gosh this was sooo good!!! It wasn't until this recipe that I knew tofu could taste so good. Since then I have tried tofu in other formats and it can be really good. This recipe will go in my family recipe book for sure. I didn't change a thing and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Great Recipe! I followed exactly and was extremely happy. Next time I'll double the sauce though. There was just enough to coat the tofu, but not run over onto the rice. Other than that, very pleased.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was TASTY! My husband is diabetic, so I used SPLENDA instead of sugar & it worked just great. We ate this over quinoa. AWESOME!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      Oh my gosh! I can't believe I didn't review this before -- we've made this recipe 6 or 7 times since I found it, and it's hands-down the best tofu recipe I've ever had. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!! I made it almost exactly as written -- the only change was instead of using all vegetable oil for frying, I added a splash of sesame oil. I also put the cornstarch in a brown paper bag and added a few cubes at a time, shaking well, and it covered them perfectly with no mess. We like spicy food so we added a good sprinkling of the crushed red pepper flakes. My son likes tofu extra crispy, so I leave it in the pan until it is almost a dark golden brown. I double the sauce and serve this as a meal with broccoli and rice -- with the sauce ladled over all. What a super recipe -- makes my mouth water just writing a review about it. :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      Simply the best General Cho-Fu recipe out there! Thanks Hadice....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      Loved this!!! I however did not coat the tofu. I added it as is, and also added a splash of pineapple to the sauce. Next time i will marinade the tofu though. All in all, great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      This is an incredible recipe! We marinated the tofu overnight like everyone suggested and cut up our tofu in small pieces. This was incredible!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This is my favourite tofu dish by now. The sauce is so sweet and tasty and the tofu has just the right consisteny! We now make 4 servings for 2 people, it's just soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      OMG! This recipe is a KEEPER!!! I would have given it 5 stars, except that the Tofu is a slight bit bland, so the recipe needs a little tweaking and the amount of sauce is not adequate so the sauce recipe needs to be doubled. The sauce is delicious!! tastes very authentic just like in the Chinese restaurant... I agree with others with regard to making double the sauce recipe. The tofu itself tasted a little bland so next time I will experiment with marinating the tofu in something (haven't decided what to marinate in yet) before I dip in the egg and cornstarch. I also will try baking the tofu cubes next time; I'm not accustomed to eating fried foods so the fried taste was a bit much for me....but this is a truly great recipe....and it looks great on the plate over Jasmine rice (I used Carolina Jasmine rice) and the steamed broccoli on the side with some sauce over it as well. AWESOME!! One last thing....It took a little longer to prepare; I would say from start to finish, it took about an hour....with all the garlic and ginger mincing, etc. But well worth the time and effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      I have been searching for a different kind of tofu recipe & this one is a winner! Based on other reviews, I marinated the tofu over night. Then drained the tofu, dipped in egg & corn starch, and baked for ~ 30 min at 325. I doubled the sauce as well and used sesame oil instead of veg oil. Served with steamed broccoli and wild rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      It is an absolutely amazing recipe! Easy to make and delicious! My husband tried tofu once in Chinese restaurant and didn't it like it. Now, when I make tofu according to this recipe, he loves it. I prepared it for the 3rd time this week :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for General Tso's Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    21%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 539.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites