21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very easy to make and we had very tasty dinner! Followed as directed, this is a snap! I'm surely going to try them for my OAMC soon enough. Served with rice, they made a delicious meal! Thanks so much for sharing, Sharon123!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl May 30, 2012

This is so easy to prepare and delicious to eat! I used chicken tenderloins and cut them in half. Cooked them on the George Foreman grill for about 3-4 mins. They were nice and tender. Thanks for posting. Made in honor of Sharon's DH.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 05, 2010

Yummmmy...this was SO delicious! I used chicken stock and fresh ginger and basil in my version and marinated overnight,before cooking the strips on an indoor electric chargrill hotplate. They turned out beautifully tender and packed full of flavour...and tasted a little like a chicken version of Chinese Char Siu,which in my household (I'm half Chinese!) is no bad thing! We served it on top of a fresh,crisp salad,and enjoyed it no end. Thank you Sharon,for a fabulously tasty and simple recipe,that I will be using again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo May 19, 2009

A bit time consuming, but so flavorful!! My DH loved it! Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 September 20, 2008

I doubled up on the five spice powder and red pepper because we like it spicy. Easy to put together and tastes very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 15, 2008

I've made these several times and just now realized that I had never submitted a review - how silly of me. These are super simple and very very tasty. Leftovers (if there are any) are great on salad the next day for lunch. Thanks Sharon for a really easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 05, 2008

I had some chicken breasts from a 3 lb bag I had used for another recipe. Mixed the marinade using chicken broth and dried basil. Put it in a quart freezer bag with the frozen chicken and put it in the freezer. Probably took 5-7 minutes to put together (I was putting another sauce together with some of the same ingredients and both took me less than 15 min). I took it out of the freezer one morning on my way to work. When I got home, I put in the oven and fixed some rice and veggies. He loved it! It is definitely a 'keeper' and is being prepared this weekend for the freezer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby LSW January 25, 2008

yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dio_the_world January 18, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect, having never used five spice powder before, but since we love ginger and garlic, I though I would give it a try! It was delicious and we will definitely be making this again! I used dried basil, fresh ginger (pressed through the garlic press), and subbed vegetable broth for the sherry, since I had some to use up. the chicken looked a little dry when it was done broiling, but it was actually VERY moist and tasty. And the leftovers were really good in fried rice. :) THanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al September 22, 2007

My husband and daughter actually liked this dish more than I did. I have just decided I am not a fan of Chinese Five Spice Powder. However, that said, it is tasty and easy to make. I made this ahead of time by slicing the chicken breast, that I then placed in a zip top bag with the marinade. I placed the reserved marinade in a second small zip top bag and froze. I allowed to thaw overnight in the fridge and cooked as directed. The only thing I would warn of is be careful as it is easy to over cook your chicken. I served with a quick low fat vegetable fried rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity September 14, 2007
Garlic Ginger Chicken Strips