Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Gang Bao Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gang Bao Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2009

      Goodness gracious this was soooo tasty! I made a few changes b/c of what I had on hand. I used red pepper flakes, and also a lot more ginger than called for b/c we really like ginger. I more than doubled the sauce ingredients so I just mixed a bit of cornstarch in with the broth before adding it. I also used rice vinegar and didn't have any chinese wine. Unfortunately we did not have any nuts but I'm sure it would have been AMAZING with the nuts in there. I also added some chopped red onion and celery pieces at the very end - leaving them semi crunchy and they really added a lot to the dish. The thigh meat was so tasty and just like chinese takeout. I served it over white rice and drizzled a lot of the sauce on the rice. Can't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow, thanks for an easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      WOW! This was fabulous! The best recipe from Zaar that we have yet tried! Funny, while trying to decide what to rate, it sounded like an auction, with each person voting even higher! To be sold, this would well go above five stars. 10? 20? Absolutely celestial!!! And the best home cooked Chinese we have had in years. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was very good - I doubled the sauce ingredients and added snow peas and bamboo shoots towards the end for some veg. Nice and easy too - I'll definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This is the best Kung Pao I've had in years. I like my dishes saucy so I tripled the sauce ingredients using 18 TBS (approx 1 cup) of chicken stock which I thickened in the end with cornstarch. For the chilies I used 1 tsp of dried pepper flakes (like the pizza topping kind) and it was spicy but not tongue numbing. SO other said this was the best Asian dinner I have ever made! If you want a real treat use 1 lb of shrimp instead of chicken. I can't tell you enough how thrilled I am with this recipe. Thanks, Jewelies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Made for Aus/NZ Make My Recipe Edition 5 Tag. We didn't really care for this. It was pretty spicy (we normally like spicy) and there really wasn't much sauce (we like a lot of sauce). This doesn't mean the recipe was bad, it just didn't suit our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This was GREAT! I had to make this using vegetable oil instead of chili oil and I didn't have any Chinese wine, so just left it out. Like Potscrubber, I used about 1 cup of chicken broth, let it cook down and added a bit of cornstarch slurry to thicken in the end. Topped with peanuts. DH and I mmming and ahhing all during dinner. THANK YOU for posting this. I hope to try it next time using the chili oil & Chinese wine, but I can't imagine it being any better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This review is loooong over due, because I tried this recipe in the summer of 07. I have loved Gang Pao for years. The first time I tried this chinese dish was 25 years ago. At that time most American/chinese restauraunts batter or breaded and fried chicken in a lot of their dishes with the exception of chicken chow mein. They have slowly been gravitating away from this trend toward what many consider a more "healthful" way of cooking. The balance of flavor and heat in this dish was perfect! even my 14 year old who normally is not a fan of this dish liked it so well that he ate a double portion. My compliments to Mr. and Mrs. Mei for an excellent recipe. And thank you Jewelies for sharing another winner with us here at recipezaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Excellent spicy dish! I used two tablespoons of dried chilies because we love spicy foods, and I also subbed diced pork for the chicken. Came out great! Thanks Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      after reading all the positive review, I was quite disappointed. I used 4 tablespoon of water but it took forever to reduce the sauce. I don't think I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Absolutely outstanding. I inhaled it, then went back for 2nds and didn't even realize that i forgot a pic. I could give a pic of a plate with a few loose saucy peanuts and rice but it wouldnt show the food well lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Whilst this was quick, easy and tasty, there wasn't enough sauce for us. I had the original at the restaurant last week with Jewelies and family and can't figure out how they came up with the amount of sauce they did if they used this recipe. I used the maximum amount of stock, but all the sauce was gone by reducing it to "sticky". I think this dish would shine as part of a banquet where other saucier dishes were served.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Very easy and very good. I cut back on the chilies to adjust for my heat tolerance. I think I would increase the sauce, maybe double the sauce ingredients(it might need a tad of cornstarch to thicken.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      If you think you can't make Chinese food think again. This is so easy and the boneless thighs make this very succulent. I used dried pasilla negro chiles so it had not too much heat but enough to warm my mouth. Great easy recipe Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Yummy! Very quick and easy recipe. Hubby and I really enjoyed this dish I knew it would be very spicy for Little Miss (DD), so I left the recipe as written didn't change a thing. Little Miss enjoyed the side dish we serve with the recipe (steamed rice). Thank you so much for a great recipe Jewelies, please thank the Mei's as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Very good and spicy asian chicken dish. I didn't have any dried red chilies, so I used crushed red pepper flakes. I think I went a little overboard with the chili oil and the red pepper flakes. It was very spicy, but very good. Fortunately, I like spicy food. I also like the fact that this dish is very easy to prepare. Thanks for another great recipe Jewelies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gang Bao Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.0
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    43%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 124.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 530.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili oil

    stock

    Chinese wine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes