15 Reviews

Goodness gracious this was soooo tasty! I made a few changes b/c of what I had on hand. I used red pepper flakes, and also a lot more ginger than called for b/c we really like ginger. I more than doubled the sauce ingredients so I just mixed a bit of cornstarch in with the broth before adding it. I also used rice vinegar and didn't have any chinese wine. Unfortunately we did not have any nuts but I'm sure it would have been AMAZING with the nuts in there. I also added some chopped red onion and celery pieces at the very end - leaving them semi crunchy and they really added a lot to the dish. The thigh meat was so tasty and just like chinese takeout. I served it over white rice and drizzled a lot of the sauce on the rice. Can't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow, thanks for an easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey July 28, 2009

WOW! This was fabulous! The best recipe from Zaar that we have yet tried! Funny, while trying to decide what to rate, it sounded like an auction, with each person voting even higher! To be sold, this would well go above five stars. 10? 20? Absolutely celestial!!! And the best home cooked Chinese we have had in years. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

This was very good - I doubled the sauce ingredients and added snow peas and bamboo shoots towards the end for some veg. Nice and easy too - I'll definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain Apollo March 20, 2008

This is the best Kung Pao I've had in years. I like my dishes saucy so I tripled the sauce ingredients using 18 TBS (approx 1 cup) of chicken stock which I thickened in the end with cornstarch. For the chilies I used 1 tsp of dried pepper flakes (like the pizza topping kind) and it was spicy but not tongue numbing. SO other said this was the best Asian dinner I have ever made! If you want a real treat use 1 lb of shrimp instead of chicken. I can't tell you enough how thrilled I am with this recipe. Thanks, Jewelies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber February 04, 2008

Made for Aus/NZ Make My Recipe Edition 5 Tag. We didn't really care for this. It was pretty spicy (we normally like spicy) and there really wasn't much sauce (we like a lot of sauce). This doesn't mean the recipe was bad, it just didn't suit our tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft July 07, 2008

This was GREAT! I had to make this using vegetable oil instead of chili oil and I didn't have any Chinese wine, so just left it out. Like Potscrubber, I used about 1 cup of chicken broth, let it cook down and added a bit of cornstarch slurry to thicken in the end. Topped with peanuts. DH and I mmming and ahhing all during dinner. THANK YOU for posting this. I hope to try it next time using the chili oil & Chinese wine, but I can't imagine it being any better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Pea March 02, 2008

This review is loooong over due, because I tried this recipe in the summer of 07. I have loved Gang Pao for years. The first time I tried this chinese dish was 25 years ago. At that time most American/chinese restauraunts batter or breaded and fried chicken in a lot of their dishes with the exception of chicken chow mein. They have slowly been gravitating away from this trend toward what many consider a more "healthful" way of cooking. The balance of flavor and heat in this dish was perfect! even my 14 year old who normally is not a fan of this dish liked it so well that he ate a double portion. My compliments to Mr. and Mrs. Mei for an excellent recipe. And thank you Jewelies for sharing another winner with us here at recipezaar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bshemyshua February 29, 2008

Excellent spicy dish! I used two tablespoons of dried chilies because we love spicy foods, and I also subbed diced pork for the chicken. Came out great! Thanks Jewelies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz February 10, 2008

after reading all the positive review, I was quite disappointed. I used 4 tablespoon of water but it took forever to reduce the sauce. I don't think I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes February 03, 2008

Absolutely outstanding. I inhaled it, then went back for 2nds and didn't even realize that i forgot a pic. I could give a pic of a plate with a few loose saucy peanuts and rice but it wouldnt show the food well lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba January 03, 2008
Gang Bao Chicken