Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2010

      Very nice. However, I've been making fried rice for years and am half Chinese, and I would say you really don't NEED the sesame oil (no offence). The peanut oil, I've found, is quite important though. Peanut oil (as opposed to olive oil and other oil) seems to give it the best flavour and colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was delicious! It was a special request of my son's as he will only eat rice if it's fried! Green onions are not favorites around my house so I substitued chopped sweet onion. Also, I subbed vegetable boullion for the chicken broth since my daughter is a vegetarian (and omitted the meat). For the rest of us, I served it with Thai Shrimp, and peas on the side. The sesame oil really added a little extra oomph. Really easy and quick and delicious. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Easy and very flavorable. Very easy to add variations (peas, cooked diced carrots, shrimp, chicken, pork, etc.). Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      WOW this was so good!!!!! You are correct when you say you will never need to get fried rice from a restaurant again. Lots of flavor and very easy to make. I added cooked pork and thawed peas to mine. Served it with Lemon Chicken-Just Like Take Out (137627) and Easy Chicken Egg Rolls (113223). Made for a wonderful dinner. The only thing is that I made the rice using 2 cups of uncooked and it made well over 4 cups of cold rice, so next time I will only use 1 cup of uncooked rice to make this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      There are a ton of fried rice recipes on the site and this is BAR NONE is the closest to authentic Chinese restaurant fried rice. Next time I'll add bean sprouts, as is traditional in Chicago's restaurants. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! I have wanted to make Chicken Fried Rice awhile and some how thought it would be harder. My first batch received rave reviews even though it was too mushy. My second attempt went much better because I followed the recipe. :) The cooked rice needs to be really cold, my first batch had only been refridgerated for a few hours...next day it was perfect. I also tried to add the eggs later as one of the reviewers did, but it was much better when I cooked it earlier as the recipe directs. Great recipe that I'll be making a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      WOW! Was this ever good! Claudia Dawn, kudos to you! And, you're right about the sesame oil--that was the PERFECT touch! I used zucchini, carrots, celery, peas, green onions and leftover pork, but the meat was not even necessary. I used canola in place of the peanut oil only because that's what I had on hand. And Tamari since that was what I had. It was so flavorful! Gonna Pin this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      We have been looking for a good fried rice recipe....This is it. I added peas and little bits of ham..excellent. Five stars from me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Yeah - first time for me in years to make brown rice correct and used chicken stock instead of water, which makes this dish beautiful. I used bacon bits and yellow onion and the rest as written. Used with Shrimp fry #129262 also tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Loved it! I added frozen peas and smoked pork chops. Served this with Chinese Ribs and Asian Beef Kabobs and we had fortune cookies for dessert

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This rice okay. I won't make it again. I found it bland and only ate it after I decided to add some garlic and other flavorings and stir fry for another 2 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Really good and easy! I added cooked/chopped bacon insted of other meats, bean sprouts, peas and carrots and thinly sliced water chestnuts. No peanut oil so subbed sesame oil. Cooked the egg in the bacon fat. It was a hit with the men in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Loved it! Cooked it just as it was then aded more veggies. I add different veggies everytime and the kids love it. A family favorite for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Great recipe. We added a yoghurt chicken I made separate and it was all delightful! Can't wait to make again and add veggies or other goodies. Thanks for your posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Very tasty fried rice. I made it exactly as written except for not adding the pork and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      My 3 children and I found that the taste of the soy sauce and the sesame oil was overwhelming. They didn't like it at all. I tolerated it better (perhaps because I cooked it), but next time I'll stick to my own recipe and definitely not use sesame oil. Whenever I've used it in Chinese cooking, my kids and my husband hate it, but after reading all the reviews, I thought I'd give it one more shot. Oh well, perhaps it's an acquired taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Great recipe. I made it without any meat and left out the broth. Used Sake instead. The sesame oil is essential for a full flavor. Also added the eggs during cooking, we like the smaller pieces. Used zucchini, carrots, mushrooms and lots of green onion and garlic. Served it with egg drop soup and had more than enough for a complete meal. Very easy and tastey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made this again the other day and I added chicken and shrimp to it for a main dish. This is very good. The whole family enjoyed this very much. Again, thank you, Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      This was just like the rice at our favorite restaurant. I didn't use any meat and I added some carrots and celery but otherwise followed the directions, which were so simple the kids could help. The grown ups and the big kids really loved this, thanks Claudia Dawn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful - exactly like you get in restaurants! I added frozen vegis to it and chow mein noodles on top, and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    42%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 70.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 737.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites