44 Reviews

Very nice. However, I've been making fried rice for years and am half Chinese, and I would say you really don't NEED the sesame oil (no offence). The peanut oil, I've found, is quite important though. Peanut oil (as opposed to olive oil and other oil) seems to give it the best flavour and colour.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefdownunda November 21, 2010

This was delicious! It was a special request of my son's as he will only eat rice if it's fried! Green onions are not favorites around my house so I substitued chopped sweet onion. Also, I subbed vegetable boullion for the chicken broth since my daughter is a vegetarian (and omitted the meat). For the rest of us, I served it with Thai Shrimp, and peas on the side. The sesame oil really added a little extra oomph. Really easy and quick and delicious. I will definitely make this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSCook September 14, 2009

Easy and very flavorable. Very easy to add variations (peas, cooked diced carrots, shrimp, chicken, pork, etc.). Thanks for sharing this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie February 25, 2010

WOW this was so good!!!!! You are correct when you say you will never need to get fried rice from a restaurant again. Lots of flavor and very easy to make. I added cooked pork and thawed peas to mine. Served it with Lemon Chicken-Just Like Take Out (137627) and Easy Chicken Egg Rolls (113223). Made for a wonderful dinner. The only thing is that I made the rice using 2 cups of uncooked and it made well over 4 cups of cold rice, so next time I will only use 1 cup of uncooked rice to make this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick September 01, 2008

There are a ton of fried rice recipes on the site and this is BAR NONE is the closest to authentic Chinese restaurant fried rice. Next time I'll add bean sprouts, as is traditional in Chicago's restaurants. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoydaP August 06, 2008

Wonderful recipe! I have wanted to make Chicken Fried Rice awhile and some how thought it would be harder. My first batch received rave reviews even though it was too mushy. My second attempt went much better because I followed the recipe. :) The cooked rice needs to be really cold, my first batch had only been refridgerated for a few hours...next day it was perfect. I also tried to add the eggs later as one of the reviewers did, but it was much better when I cooked it earlier as the recipe directs. Great recipe that I'll be making a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggiecme June 09, 2008

WOW! Was this ever good! Claudia Dawn, kudos to you! And, you're right about the sesame oil--that was the PERFECT touch! I used zucchini, carrots, celery, peas, green onions and leftover pork, but the meat was not even necessary. I used canola in place of the peanut oil only because that's what I had on hand. And Tamari since that was what I had. It was so flavorful! Gonna Pin this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B July 19, 2013

We have been looking for a good fried rice recipe....This is it. I added peas and little bits of ham..excellent. Five stars from me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenemma January 14, 2011

Yeah - first time for me in years to make brown rice correct and used chicken stock instead of water, which makes this dish beautiful. I used bacon bits and yellow onion and the rest as written. Used with Shrimp fry #129262 also tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoandrita February 03, 2010
Fried Rice