Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Evergreen's General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Evergreen's General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2008

      These directions are confusing. What is the marinade? Please be more specific in telling the marinade ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      THIS IS THE BEST General Tso's Chicken I have ever made!!!! LOOK NO FURTHER THIS IS THE ONLY RECIPE YOU NEED!! Iv'e tried so many others but was always disapointed so I was very skeptical about trying another, But we love Tso's chicken and This recipe didn't have alot of reviews but the ones it did have were so good so I gave it a try. So glad I did. Tried another recipe that had alot more reviews that sounded great but it wasn't nearly as good as this one. this was Perfect, thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Oh wow. This is... well, I just want to cry is what. I love Tso's Chicken. But this... this is like Tso's Chicken only better. I wonder if I can get Tom to make this instead of doing take-away? Fabulous! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This was 10 times better than any take-out I've ever ordered. The chicken had so much FLAVOR! I varied this a bit by using GOYA brand cooking wine instead of the white vinegar. I was skeptical of the sauce coming together at the end, but I was quickly suprised after I started mixing in the chicken. Wife loved it, we had nothing left over!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      We've been searching for a recipe for general tso's like they make at our local Chinese restaurant for years! This one is very close and we love it! I'm throwing out all the other recipes I've tried-this is "the one". Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      To help those who had questions about the recipe, the marinade is the soy sauce, pepper, egg and cornstarch.... This recipe is delicious....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Great Chicken! I have tried some of RE's recipes before and I was looking forward to trying this one. I added carrots, but it made the dish a bit sweet, added hoisin and some more spices along the way. Turned out great. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      This is perfect General Tso's ! Tastes better than the restaurant's! I use both reduced sodium soy sauce (make sure it is good quality) and chicken stock. I also use rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. Pan fried in a stick of shortening is the best way to fry the chicken! If you use dried chiles be sure to rehydrate them and slice them before putting them in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Better then any restaurant! I love it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      Great recipe, but I sub half flour for cornstarch and half hoisin sauce for soy, this recipe taste too corn starchy to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Just got my iPad happy to say I tried Evergreen's General Yso's Chicken and my whole family loves it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Made for my son's 18th birthday - loved it. Followed the directions exactly and would not change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This was pretty good the night we made it. Unfortunately, we are big leftover eaters, and the next day this wasn't very good at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Whoah!This was delicious!We gobbled it all up!I have tasted other recipes but this one rocks!!!Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Wow!! This is great. I was doubtful in the beginning but I was wrong!! I did use rice vinegar instead of the regular vinegar. Served with rice and a side of steamed vegetables. YUMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This was awesome! I was looking for a General Tso's chicken recipe that didn't call for wine or sherry & this was a hit. I added some chopped onions and green onions to the sauce. I do think the directions should be more clarified as to what the marinade is. I was a little confused as to what is was at first. Rookie Asian food maker here. =} Thanks for posting everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I am not giving stars because I am convinced that no matter what, I will not be happy trying to copy a dish from a chinese resturaunt, especially my favorite. Not sure what tasted so off to me, but I think was more disappointed in myself than the recipe. Good luck for those who attempt this recipe [[or any asian recipe for that matter!]]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I'm not giving stars because I think I may have used the wrong "red chilies"...I used fresh red chilies and maybe this recipe really meant dried red chilies. I don't know. Followed everything else exactly, but it just wasn't very good. My husband loves spicy General's chicken, so I really would like to make some for him:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      What a great and easy recipe. We go to a local oriental cafe every week and this is just as good if not better. Easy to prepare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Evergreen's General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 623.5
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    39%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 175.0 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1946.9 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 28.4 g
    113%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes