21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These directions are confusing. What is the marinade? Please be more specific in telling the marinade ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teachu28 December 27, 2008

THIS IS THE BEST General Tso's Chicken I have ever made!!!! LOOK NO FURTHER THIS IS THE ONLY RECIPE YOU NEED!! Iv'e tried so many others but was always disapointed so I was very skeptical about trying another, But we love Tso's chicken and This recipe didn't have alot of reviews but the ones it did have were so good so I gave it a try. So glad I did. Tried another recipe that had alot more reviews that sounded great but it wasn't nearly as good as this one. this was Perfect, thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
villid September 10, 2008

Oh wow. This is... well, I just want to cry is what. I love Tso's Chicken. But this... this is like Tso's Chicken only better. I wonder if I can get Tom to make this instead of doing take-away? Fabulous! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX September 06, 2008

This was 10 times better than any take-out I've ever ordered. The chicken had so much FLAVOR! I varied this a bit by using GOYA brand cooking wine instead of the white vinegar. I was skeptical of the sauce coming together at the end, but I was quickly suprised after I started mixing in the chicken. Wife loved it, we had nothing left over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BattleRedMark June 05, 2008

We've been searching for a recipe for general tso's like they make at our local Chinese restaurant for years! This one is very close and we love it! I'm throwing out all the other recipes I've tried-this is "the one". Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin January 03, 2008

To help those who had questions about the recipe, the marinade is the soy sauce, pepper, egg and cornstarch.... This recipe is delicious....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KngsGrl June 21, 2013

Great Chicken! I have tried some of RE's recipes before and I was looking forward to trying this one. I added carrots, but it made the dish a bit sweet, added hoisin and some more spices along the way. Turned out great. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nudnik March 17, 2013

This is perfect General Tso's ! Tastes better than the restaurant's! I use both reduced sodium soy sauce (make sure it is good quality) and chicken stock. I also use rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. Pan fried in a stick of shortening is the best way to fry the chicken! If you use dried chiles be sure to rehydrate them and slice them before putting them in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RDeezle September 14, 2012

Better then any restaurant! I love it !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline L August 22, 2012

Great recipe, but I sub half flour for cornstarch and half hoisin sauce for soy, this recipe taste too corn starchy to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twistedcorey941 June 22, 2012
Evergreen's General Tso's Chicken