Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Eggplant (Aubergine) With Hot Garlic Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) With Hot Garlic Sauce

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2003

      outstanding recipe! Intense flavours, meltingly soft eggplant, crunchy water chestnuts and green onions. ALL eggplant lovers out there HAVE to try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      The sauce is wonderful! Many thanks for the great recipe! I make a fat-free version by grilling the eggplant and eliminating the oil and sesame oil. I also add a handful of sliced onions to the sauce while it's cooking and fold in a big handful of fresh basil a minute before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Fantastic eggplant recipe! All the other reviews say it all. I roasted the eggplant in the oven, sprayed with a bit of oil, because I don't have a non stick pan and was afraid the eggplant would soak up too much oil frying in a regular pan. Also, I didn't have the hot bean paste and use crushed red pepper flakes instead. This is SO good, I can't wait to have it agsin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      Wow that's good! I made it twice, once w/o the water chestnuts and it's great that way too. I'm thinking it might be nice with fresh beansprouts on top, too. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Great recipe! We really enjoyed this one, and it was very straightforward to make. It will be made again. We threw in some steamed broccoli instead of the water chestnuts, and it worked okay. I was not sure how hot to saute the eggplant in Step 2, I'm guessing Medium.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I'm not giving this a rating because I changed it in a way that affected the quality. I did think this was a fabulous recipe and will make it again - but will stick to the original more. I didn't have hot bean paste, so I substituted with garlic black bean sauce and a little garlic chili sauce. This was very tasty, but too salty. I think the true hot bean paste wouldn't cause these problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Loved this recipe. Wonderful flavor with a nice crunch from the water chestnuts. I did halve the recipe with good success. Also I omitted the peanut oil to cut the fat, using just nonstick spray on my pan and didn't have a problem at all. To compensate I covered the pan once I added the sauce ingredients and was left with the perfect texture for both the eggplant and the sauce. Served over jasmine rice for a delicious meatless meal. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Every eggplant lover should try this dish. I only had black bean paste so I added a TB of sambal olek chili paste. Four alarm fire in your mouth! But the steamed rice tempers the heat and it works out very well in the end. Another great recipe RitaL! I never tire of your food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      Thanks for a AMAZING recipe! Didn't have hot bean paste at home, so i used black bean paste + Chilli sauce+ sugar. It turned out great! The water chestnut, i agree, gives it a wonderful additional crunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Very good. I used regular eggplant since I have soooo many in my garden. About 2 1/2 to 3 regular eggplants seem to substitute nicely. Great! Tastes as good as a restaurant! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      Super recipe! Gave it an Indian twist, using Indian garlic/hot pepper paste instead & basmati rice. Nicely chewy/tender. I don't use animal products & would especially cook this for those who do & are afraid they might "miss" the meat -- it's reminiscent of Chinese beef dishes, such as beef & broccoli. Yummmm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      I must say this is one of the best asian style recipes for eggplant that I have had, and it is so quick to do to get such good flavour. I didn't alter this at all and can't see how it can be improved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      Yum! I love the flavors in this dish! I didn't have water chestnuts so I used celery to give it the crunch. I will use water chestnuts next time and there will be a next time! Thanks so much Rita, keep those recipes coming!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      First off, I have to say that the sauce is fantastic. A perfect combination. However, I did have some trouble with my eggplant--the skins were just so darn tough! I kind of wish I had used european eggplant... That said, I think that I'll make this again with some other veggie or meat to replace the eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Very good. My entire family liked it, including my 2-year-old. I did not have the hot bean paste this time but decided it was worth it anyway. It did seem to be missing a little something, but I can't fault the recipe, just my omission. I'm sure the fermented taste and spice will do the trick next time. I would also like to try this with some thinly sliced chicken, doubling the ingredients for the sauce. Thanks for sharing this. Egglplant Garlic Sauce is one of my favorite dishes and I'm glad to be able to make it myself now! This is the flavor and texture combination that I crave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This was really good! Even my husband who hates eggplant ate this right up. The flavor is right on! It is a tricky dish becasue it is so healthy and light but feels very satisfying. Try this one for sure! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

    • on January 23, 2007

      This was wonderful as everyone has stated. I used 1 large eggplant and it was perfect. This was fast easy and delish. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Just as described, this is bursting with flavour. I used one large eggplant and it worked fine. I only used 1/2 tsp bean paste which was enough for the kids. I tossed in Vietnamese Meat Balls (Vietnamese Meatballs) which worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      *yum!!*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) With Hot Garlic Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.6
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    60%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 557.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 16.5 g
    66%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot bean paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes