24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

outstanding recipe! Intense flavours, meltingly soft eggplant, crunchy water chestnuts and green onions. ALL eggplant lovers out there HAVE to try this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 31, 2003

The sauce is wonderful! Many thanks for the great recipe! I make a fat-free version by grilling the eggplant and eliminating the oil and sesame oil. I also add a handful of sliced onions to the sauce while it's cooking and fold in a big handful of fresh basil a minute before serving.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirugai November 08, 2008

Fantastic eggplant recipe! All the other reviews say it all. I roasted the eggplant in the oven, sprayed with a bit of oil, because I don't have a non stick pan and was afraid the eggplant would soak up too much oil frying in a regular pan. Also, I didn't have the hot bean paste and use crushed red pepper flakes instead. This is SO good, I can't wait to have it agsin!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi December 09, 2005

Wow that's good! I made it twice, once w/o the water chestnuts and it's great that way too. I'm thinking it might be nice with fresh beansprouts on top, too. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lortle September 11, 2003

Great recipe! We really enjoyed this one, and it was very straightforward to make. It will be made again. We threw in some steamed broccoli instead of the water chestnuts, and it worked okay. I was not sure how hot to saute the eggplant in Step 2, I'm guessing Medium.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre January 05, 2009

I'm not giving this a rating because I changed it in a way that affected the quality. I did think this was a fabulous recipe and will make it again - but will stick to the original more. I didn't have hot bean paste, so I substituted with garlic black bean sauce and a little garlic chili sauce. This was very tasty, but too salty. I think the true hot bean paste wouldn't cause these problems.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reddyrat August 27, 2008

Loved this recipe. Wonderful flavor with a nice crunch from the water chestnuts. I did halve the recipe with good success. Also I omitted the peanut oil to cut the fat, using just nonstick spray on my pan and didn't have a problem at all. To compensate I covered the pan once I added the sauce ingredients and was left with the perfect texture for both the eggplant and the sauce. Served over jasmine rice for a delicious meatless meal. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ June 22, 2007

Every eggplant lover should try this dish. I only had black bean paste so I added a TB of sambal olek chili paste. Four alarm fire in your mouth! But the steamed rice tempers the heat and it works out very well in the end. Another great recipe RitaL! I never tire of your food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber September 22, 2005

Thanks for a AMAZING recipe! Didn't have hot bean paste at home, so i used black bean paste + Chilli sauce+ sugar. It turned out great! The water chestnut, i agree, gives it a wonderful additional crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoukncook July 21, 2005

Very good. I used regular eggplant since I have soooo many in my garden. About 2 1/2 to 3 regular eggplants seem to substitute nicely. Great! Tastes as good as a restaurant! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyJane August 10, 2004
Eggplant (Aubergine) With Hot Garlic Sauce