Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Egg Foo Yung Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Foo Yung

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      This is a great egg foo yung recipe - I've never had much luck getting the patties to stay together, but these shaped up very nicely. I did use one more egg than in the recipe. I used the bean sprouts, which are fast becoming a favorite vegetable. Definately a keeper recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      This ranks among the best Egg Foo Young I've ever had. I made it with small thawed shrimp which I left whole. I didn't have water chestnuts so I used celery. The water chestnuts would have been great in this dish. The chicken brooth sauce was just delicious! Next time I'm going to make this vegetarian with sauteed mushrooms. I served this dish with rice and stir fry broccoli. I had some problems keeping it in round pattie shapes but think next time I'll use a small rd. frypan instead of my big electric one. Thank you Lorac. My family is still raving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I have never liked Egg Foo Yung from restaurants, but my husband has started making this recipe, and I love it. He doesn't mix the meat and veggies into the eggs, but pours the eggs into the pan and drops the meat/veggie mixture into the top of the "pancake" before he flips it. It is always beautiful and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      In my opinion this meal was better than restaurant quality. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used canned bean sprouts and left over diced chicken. The sauce however was simply awful!!! Not your fault Lorac. In my rushing around, I grabbed the baking soda instead of the cornstarch!!! I'm wondering why isn't this sauce thickening???? It tasted sooooo bad and I had no more chicken broth left, so we ate them without a sauce and they were just delicious. I'm looking forward to making them again, with the real sauce!!!! Thanks Lorac for such a nice recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      I cheated with the preparation of the egg foo yung itself - used a different veggie combo - cleaning out the refrigerator - shredded zucchini, green onion, green peas, canned mushrooms, and diced leftover teriyaki chicken. Also sauteed the veggies/chicken to warm them and then just poured the egg and soy over and made one huge "pancake." Cut into pieces and turned individually. The sauce was excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I LOVED the patties! I always (& did use) use FRESH ingredients. I loved being able to add more meat to my liking. Tasted JUST like restaurant quality! It's part of my home made oriental Valentine's Dinner 07 tonight~! I didn't like the sauce, but added oyster sauce in place of the vinegar.. The addition of vinegar was too strong for me; but the oyster sauce added the zing I like. GREAT! Great! GREAT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I use a Hot Cake Ring to make the traditional thick patties. Stainless band, 4 1/2" diameter, 3/4" wide with handle for lifting away from the pattie. Works great. Makes 3 patties from this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Really neat recipe. I never thought I would be preparing Egg Foo Yung in my kitchen. I prepared the recipe first with chicken and later with shrimp. Both were great. I confess that I did add a tbs. or so of molasses, primarily for color, secondarily for flavor. The leftovers were good as well. I simply mixed up another batch of sauce and nuked the Egg Foo Yung. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      Excellent recipe...quick, easy and delicious. The first time I made it I didn't have any type of meat on hand so made it without and loved it. I've made Egg Foo Yung before but was always disappointed with the sauce. This recipe sauce was excellent and tangy. I did, however, add 2 tbl of molasses the second time I made it, and it was the best. Also, I used 4 eggs instead of 6 and it was perfect, in my opinion. Thanks, I'll be making this recipe regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      Excellent Egg Foo Yung recipe, Lorac! I made these tonight for dinner...one of those spur of the moment things. I used ham and they turned out wonderful. Very flavorful and better than the ones in the restaurant! I did not, however, use the recipe for the sauce. I was a little nervous about the vinegar making it too sour...so I used Mean Chef's Cantonese Brown Sauce #45270 and the two recipes went together perfectly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Very good recipe. My son hates vegetables, but cooked in this way, he eats it right up. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      I thought this was great and you can use you anything you have on hand, I added mushrooms. I didn't have water chestnuts, so I used celery and it was fine. The sauce is very tasty and complements the pancake well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I love egg foo yung. I order it from a great chinese place nearby. I always order vegetable efy and they always use the freshest seasonal vegetable. They use asparagus, broccoli, carrot, cabbage, etc. Use what is in season, it is so good. I like it with very little sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Loved it and am adding this to my standard rotation of recipes. Given the listeria scare with bean sprouts (I have to buy mine from a Vietnamese restaurant because no grocery stores will touch them), I saute the vegetables and meat a bit before pouring on and mixing in the egg mixture. Works great and very delicious using ham as the meat. Sauce is very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      Delicious! I used lump crabmeat, bean sprouts, mushrooms, onions, and water chestnuts. Loved it. Sauce is very good also. Would be even better with shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Pancakes were perfect, sauce was disappointing. Everyone here found it too sweet and too vinagery. Egg Foo Yung is my absolute favourite Chinese dish, looks like the search...and or experimentation.....continues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Made as written except only had five eggs. Was quick and loved it with shrimp. I cooked 1/2 lb. shrimp and put the rest in the sauce to serve over the patties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      We didn't really like these. Couldn't stand the smell of the bamboo shoots, the texture of the bean sprouts was off-putting, and I definitely wouldn't use pork if I were you. A lot of work and it just wasn't all that good. It really needed the sauce but this sauce wasn't that tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Easy & delicious! I did make some changes though. I left out the bamboo shoot/celery/cabbage, and water chestnuts. Also, left out the sugar and vinegar in the sauce. I made this dish alot growing up, but never wrote down the measurements. Thank you Lorac! Tastes exactly how I remember:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      very good and healthy, easy to make. I didnt use the sauce , used some mushroom gravy , will try the sauce next time, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Foo Yung

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.2
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    59%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 289.5 mg
    96%
    Sodium 639.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites