45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great egg foo yung recipe - I've never had much luck getting the patties to stay together, but these shaped up very nicely. I did use one more egg than in the recipe. I used the bean sprouts, which are fast becoming a favorite vegetable. Definately a keeper recipe - thanks!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisMc June 20, 2002

This ranks among the best Egg Foo Young I've ever had. I made it with small thawed shrimp which I left whole. I didn't have water chestnuts so I used celery. The water chestnuts would have been great in this dish. The chicken brooth sauce was just delicious! Next time I'm going to make this vegetarian with sauteed mushrooms. I served this dish with rice and stir fry broccoli. I had some problems keeping it in round pattie shapes but think next time I'll use a small rd. frypan instead of my big electric one. Thank you Lorac. My family is still raving.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patric April 16, 2003

I have never liked Egg Foo Yung from restaurants, but my husband has started making this recipe, and I love it. He doesn't mix the meat and veggies into the eggs, but pours the eggs into the pan and drops the meat/veggie mixture into the top of the "pancake" before he flips it. It is always beautiful and delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CTRmom August 22, 2008

In my opinion this meal was better than restaurant quality. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used canned bean sprouts and left over diced chicken. The sauce however was simply awful!!! Not your fault Lorac. In my rushing around, I grabbed the baking soda instead of the cornstarch!!! I'm wondering why isn't this sauce thickening???? It tasted sooooo bad and I had no more chicken broth left, so we ate them without a sauce and they were just delicious. I'm looking forward to making them again, with the real sauce!!!! Thanks Lorac for such a nice recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat January 13, 2004

I love egg foo yung. I order it from a great chinese place nearby. I always order vegetable efy and they always use the freshest seasonal vegetable. They use asparagus, broccoli, carrot, cabbage, etc. Use what is in season, it is so good. I like it with very little sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tander September 24, 2003

Delicious! I used lump crabmeat, bean sprouts, mushrooms, onions, and water chestnuts. Loved it. Sauce is very good also. Would be even better with shrimp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdfill January 14, 2014

I cheated with the preparation of the egg foo yung itself - used a different veggie combo - cleaning out the refrigerator - shredded zucchini, green onion, green peas, canned mushrooms, and diced leftover teriyaki chicken. Also sauteed the veggies/chicken to warm them and then just poured the egg and soy over and made one huge "pancake." Cut into pieces and turned individually. The sauce was excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeachyLia August 29, 2013

Easy & delicious! I did make some changes though. I left out the bamboo shoot/celery/cabbage, and water chestnuts. Also, left out the sugar and vinegar in the sauce. I made this dish alot growing up, but never wrote down the measurements. Thank you Lorac! Tastes exactly how I remember:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie April 05, 2010

My 11 year old daughter and I made this recipe and it was not only fun, but it tastes just like carry out. The only draw back is that the sauce was too runny. I couldn't get it nice and thick. We also made the fried rice with shrimp AND pot stickers. Our family loved it. Really does have restaurant quality.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmichelle75 October 24, 2009

I love egg foo yung!! this is a great recipe thank you for a wonderful meal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho April 21, 2009
Egg Foo Yung