Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Egg Foo Yung Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Foo Yung

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      This is a great egg foo yung recipe - I've never had much luck getting the patties to stay together, but these shaped up very nicely. I did use one more egg than in the recipe. I used the bean sprouts, which are fast becoming a favorite vegetable. Definately a keeper recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      This ranks among the best Egg Foo Young I've ever had. I made it with small thawed shrimp which I left whole. I didn't have water chestnuts so I used celery. The water chestnuts would have been great in this dish. The chicken brooth sauce was just delicious! Next time I'm going to make this vegetarian with sauteed mushrooms. I served this dish with rice and stir fry broccoli. I had some problems keeping it in round pattie shapes but think next time I'll use a small rd. frypan instead of my big electric one. Thank you Lorac. My family is still raving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I have never liked Egg Foo Yung from restaurants, but my husband has started making this recipe, and I love it. He doesn't mix the meat and veggies into the eggs, but pours the eggs into the pan and drops the meat/veggie mixture into the top of the "pancake" before he flips it. It is always beautiful and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      In my opinion this meal was better than restaurant quality. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used canned bean sprouts and left over diced chicken. The sauce however was simply awful!!! Not your fault Lorac. In my rushing around, I grabbed the baking soda instead of the cornstarch!!! I'm wondering why isn't this sauce thickening???? It tasted sooooo bad and I had no more chicken broth left, so we ate them without a sauce and they were just delicious. I'm looking forward to making them again, with the real sauce!!!! Thanks Lorac for such a nice recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I love egg foo yung. I order it from a great chinese place nearby. I always order vegetable efy and they always use the freshest seasonal vegetable. They use asparagus, broccoli, carrot, cabbage, etc. Use what is in season, it is so good. I like it with very little sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      Delicious! I used lump crabmeat, bean sprouts, mushrooms, onions, and water chestnuts. Loved it. Sauce is very good also. Would be even better with shrimp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      I cheated with the preparation of the egg foo yung itself - used a different veggie combo - cleaning out the refrigerator - shredded zucchini, green onion, green peas, canned mushrooms, and diced leftover teriyaki chicken. Also sauteed the veggies/chicken to warm them and then just poured the egg and soy over and made one huge "pancake." Cut into pieces and turned individually. The sauce was excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Easy & delicious! I did make some changes though. I left out the bamboo shoot/celery/cabbage, and water chestnuts. Also, left out the sugar and vinegar in the sauce. I made this dish alot growing up, but never wrote down the measurements. Thank you Lorac! Tastes exactly how I remember:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      My 11 year old daughter and I made this recipe and it was not only fun, but it tastes just like carry out. The only draw back is that the sauce was too runny. I couldn't get it nice and thick. We also made the fried rice with shrimp AND pot stickers. Our family loved it. Really does have restaurant quality.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I love egg foo yung!! this is a great recipe thank you for a wonderful meal

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I was going to add something to the rating I'd given this before, and realized I'd not rated it the first time. This is a keeper, it's absolutely delicious, it's easy to make, need I say more? For those of you that like Chinese food but are afraid to try it, grab your apron, your knife, and head straight to your stove! Great job Lorac!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Oh wow, this was wonderful! I cut the recipe in half, and left out the cabbage because I completely forgot. I used one egg, and made up the difference with eggbeaters, I also added cilantro and a dash of sesame oil to the eggs. It was heavenly. The sauce is perfect, I did add a dash of sesame oil to that too. It thickens up so nicely. Such a keeper, thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Easy, quick, inexpensive, tasty and healthy....What's not to love about this dish! I did make a few slight changes. I only had 5 eggs, I used a can of LaChoy chinese stirfry vegetables instead of fresh. I rinsed, drained them then squeezed them dry first. I did add some fresh chopped green onions though. I added some garlic powder, salt and white pepper to the egg mixture and fried them in a non-stick skillet sprayed with grill spray. I also left out the meat, and I subbed beef broth for the chicken broth and added extra soy sauce to the gravy. My boyfriend and I both loved it and there were no leftovers! I most definately will be making this often! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      I love this stuff! Very good recipe and versatile. I have made with many different vegetable fillings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Very good! I only used 5 eggs because I was worried that I wouldn't be able to keep them from running. I used shredded chicken and used a nonstick griddle so I didn't need any oil. The sauce was delicious - I might double it the next time. Served with brown rice and steamed broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Although I was never a fan of this dish (but I love asian) my hubbby had a yen for this the other night. I've never made it before so I logged on and found this recipe - mercifully simple and pretty healthy. I cheated a little served it on top of fried rice from our favorite take out joint and it was de-lish! My husband liked the sauce, although it didn't appeal to me. He and I give this both a big thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I LOVED the patties! I always (& did use) use FRESH ingredients. I loved being able to add more meat to my liking. Tasted JUST like restaurant quality! It's part of my home made oriental Valentine's Dinner 07 tonight~! I didn't like the sauce, but added oyster sauce in place of the vinegar.. The addition of vinegar was too strong for me; but the oyster sauce added the zing I like. GREAT! Great! GREAT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I use a Hot Cake Ring to make the traditional thick patties. Stainless band, 4 1/2" diameter, 3/4" wide with handle for lifting away from the pattie. Works great. Makes 3 patties from this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Really neat recipe. I never thought I would be preparing Egg Foo Yung in my kitchen. I prepared the recipe first with chicken and later with shrimp. Both were great. I confess that I did add a tbs. or so of molasses, primarily for color, secondarily for flavor. The leftovers were good as well. I simply mixed up another batch of sauce and nuked the Egg Foo Yung. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      This was wonderful, I was told tonight it was better then any chinese rest. we have been to. I served it with NurseDi Sweet and Sour Chicken. Will do this combination again very soon. Iva

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Foo Yung

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.2
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    59%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 289.5 mg
    96%
    Sodium 639.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes