10 Reviews

Easy to make with the following variations: 1) ginger ommitted 2) white pepper replaced with thai chilli powder 3) 1/2 cup of burbon and honey 4) deep fried Nice deep brown color and it tasted great considering that I didn't had the time to marinate it overnight. It was a hit at the party and my guests finished it up.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chap Heng January 03, 2003

Hi to answer some reader's question, yes you can try baking them instead of grilling. It's still good. :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac December 03, 2002

These are wonderful! I got them ready early in the morning and grilled them when we'd gotten home from 'playing'. I halved the garlic at my husband's request, used black pepper because I hadn't any white and used just 1 teaspoon of Tabasco. The rest of the ingredients I followed per the recipe. Also, I didn't cut the wings into pieces due to laziness. They were great! My family and I give them a 5. Thanks KM for a terrific recipe! — Jul 19, 2003, I'm updating my review on this recipe to add that I cooked these wings in my Showtime Rotisserie and they were terrific. Once again, still being lazy, I did not cut the wings apart and I was able to fit 12 wings in the basket of the rotisserie. They were gone in a flash, no time for a picture! Thanks again for this versatile recipe KitchenManiac :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude January 15, 2006

Delicious! I grilled the chicken wings at 375 degrees in the oven for 40 minutes, flipping it halfway through. The whole house smelt wonderful. All my guests loved it. Will definitely make again. Note: I left out the Tabasco sauce as there were kids; and as I didn't have any bourbon, I used chinese rose wine, and the fragrance was unbelievable.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcheng August 25, 2003

Wonderful!! This recipe will definitely be a repeat.MMMMMMM

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay August 01, 2003

Oh I forgot to add that instead of bourbon I used 2 Tbsp of vanilla extract. It tasted awesome! <br/>I wish KitchenManiac would upload more of her recipes 'coz I love her recipes :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jap_girl July 10, 2014

These were very good. I only had drumsticks so I used those. Followed the recipe exactly and will make again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty February 24, 2009

I made this last year for a "Year End" party for the teacher's at my husbands school last spring. Everyone enjoyed them and I've made several times since then. My mom now keeps making them for get holiday's and company. Thank you (sorry it took so long for the review).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenzyGirl January 12, 2009

These were great!! I was looking for something different in the wings for my sons graduation party. I tested these ahead of time and my husband looked like he was eating corn on the cob. They were a hit a the party, will make again. Everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ECChefT June 25, 2008

Yummy! I used deboned chicken thighs, omitted the tabasco sauce, and cut the bourbon to a scant 1 tbsp (to make it more child friendly). I `´fried`´ the chicken in its own juices in a wok over a slow fire with the lid on. The result was a moist golden brown chicken - with yummy brown bits on the outside, and tender moist on the inside. I reheated the balance of the marinade and served it over the chicken. We had it with basmati rice, and stir-fried broccoli with oyster sauce. -- posted Sep 22, 2004

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adelynn September 22, 2004
Drunken Grilled Wings