27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would add a minimal amount of broth next time and toss the chicken in the sauce. Sorry. Just way too bland for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming April 12, 2011

Very easy and delicious! I added zucchini too, and will probably add even more veggies next time. At the end I ladled out the sauce and boiled it on the stove for a while to thicken it up. It still didn't get too thick but was very flavorful. I have recommended this to several friends already!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vamottl March 09, 2011

This was alright. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and sodium less chicken broth, which is probably why it was less flavorful than others experienced. My husband and I are anti excessive salt people and I think this would have been one of the times it would have made a positive difference. I also threw in the frozen breasts like others did and by the time it was done the chicken was really tender. We might try it again but we aren't in any hurry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvinmyfamily January 17, 2011

I loved this - as did my husband. My 1 year old daughter ate the chicken but my picky (VERY picky) 3 year old said yuck. Taking advice from some others, I doubled (or tripled, I wasn't measuring) the sugar and doubled the ginger. I also used a 10 oz bag of frozen 3 pepper and onion mix (instead of the pepper and onion called for) and 3 frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts. I didn't brown it or anything, I just threw the "rocks" of chicken in, covered with the frozen veggies, and added the ingredients. After several hours, I stirred. Also, when I added the cornstarch, I doubled it, thinking that would help the syrupy texture. Good plan - on high for one hour, the sauce was delicious! The only thing I would do next time differently is add 1 or 2 more frozen chicken breasts! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelissaO' February 25, 2010

I tried it and its good but it does need more seasonings. Red pepper flakes and maybe even triple the brown sugar and soy sauce and double the ground ginger would be a good idea. Based on the reviews of others, I doubled the brown sugar, soy sauce and ginger and it still needs more. All in all a good recipe just need to tweak the seasonings to suite your individual taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT February 25, 2010

Very good! I added green, red and orange bell peppers, as well as snow peas for a one dish meal (served over rice). I did double the soy sauce, and next time will double the ginger and sugar as well. I used fresh pinapple, and wish I would have used canned so that I could have added the juices as well. I also used chicken breasts, and they were so tender they shredded when I added the corn starch, which was fine by me. thank you so much! next time I will try it with thighs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniRoze February 23, 2010

The family liked this, it had lots of sauce which we served over rice. I think next time I'll double the soy, ginger & sugar. I ran home at lunch and put it in the slow cooker and it was perfectly done. I did forget the salt & pepper to taste, but that's what salt shakers are for right! Thanks Jewels! Made for Aus/NZ MMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 January 20, 2010

Very quick and easy recipe that we enjoyed with edamame and brown rice. The flavor was pretty good, but a bit bland. Still, my kids enjoyed it and with a touch more work, this is a recipe that can work for us all. Thank you for the post Jewel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama2boys August 18, 2009

This dish was sensational, the chicken was flavoured and was complimented by a lovely sweet and tangy sauce. Top Recipe! Thanks for Sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EliteTwig March 28, 2009

This was ok - probably 3.5 stars. I make it with 8 skinless, boneless chicken thighs. I doubled the soy, ginger, and brown sugar. I only used the 1 can of pineapple, and 2 c of chicken stock. There was plenty of liquid, the chicken was cooked, just not much flavor. Mine never thickened up either - I think you would have to pour off the liquid into a sauce pan and boil it to really get it syrupy like in the restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three February 24, 2009
Crock Pot Chinese Chicken With Pineapple