Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Crock Pot Chinese Chicken With Pineapple Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chinese Chicken With Pineapple

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2011

      I would add a minimal amount of broth next time and toss the chicken in the sauce. Sorry. Just way too bland for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Very easy and delicious! I added zucchini too, and will probably add even more veggies next time. At the end I ladled out the sauce and boiled it on the stove for a while to thicken it up. It still didn't get too thick but was very flavorful. I have recommended this to several friends already!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      This was alright. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and sodium less chicken broth, which is probably why it was less flavorful than others experienced. My husband and I are anti excessive salt people and I think this would have been one of the times it would have made a positive difference. I also threw in the frozen breasts like others did and by the time it was done the chicken was really tender. We might try it again but we aren't in any hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I loved this - as did my husband. My 1 year old daughter ate the chicken but my picky (VERY picky) 3 year old said yuck. Taking advice from some others, I doubled (or tripled, I wasn't measuring) the sugar and doubled the ginger. I also used a 10 oz bag of frozen 3 pepper and onion mix (instead of the pepper and onion called for) and 3 frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts. I didn't brown it or anything, I just threw the "rocks" of chicken in, covered with the frozen veggies, and added the ingredients. After several hours, I stirred. Also, when I added the cornstarch, I doubled it, thinking that would help the syrupy texture. Good plan - on high for one hour, the sauce was delicious! The only thing I would do next time differently is add 1 or 2 more frozen chicken breasts! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I tried it and its good but it does need more seasonings. Red pepper flakes and maybe even triple the brown sugar and soy sauce and double the ground ginger would be a good idea. Based on the reviews of others, I doubled the brown sugar, soy sauce and ginger and it still needs more. All in all a good recipe just need to tweak the seasonings to suite your individual taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very good! I added green, red and orange bell peppers, as well as snow peas for a one dish meal (served over rice). I did double the soy sauce, and next time will double the ginger and sugar as well. I used fresh pinapple, and wish I would have used canned so that I could have added the juices as well. I also used chicken breasts, and they were so tender they shredded when I added the corn starch, which was fine by me. thank you so much! next time I will try it with thighs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      The family liked this, it had lots of sauce which we served over rice. I think next time I'll double the soy, ginger & sugar. I ran home at lunch and put it in the slow cooker and it was perfectly done. I did forget the salt & pepper to taste, but that's what salt shakers are for right! Thanks Jewels! Made for Aus/NZ MMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Very quick and easy recipe that we enjoyed with edamame and brown rice. The flavor was pretty good, but a bit bland. Still, my kids enjoyed it and with a touch more work, this is a recipe that can work for us all. Thank you for the post Jewel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This dish was sensational, the chicken was flavoured and was complimented by a lovely sweet and tangy sauce. Top Recipe! Thanks for Sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was ok - probably 3.5 stars. I make it with 8 skinless, boneless chicken thighs. I doubled the soy, ginger, and brown sugar. I only used the 1 can of pineapple, and 2 c of chicken stock. There was plenty of liquid, the chicken was cooked, just not much flavor. Mine never thickened up either - I think you would have to pour off the liquid into a sauce pan and boil it to really get it syrupy like in the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I was really looking forward to this recipe. Unfortunately it didn't live up to my expectations. It was rather bland and I didn't like what flavor there was, at all. My children had seconds, though. I guess this recipe is just not for my tastebuds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I never comment. But this was delicious. The family loved it. The only thing i did different was use some chili pepper flakes and boneless thighs. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I am afraid it would have been only a one star, because I had to add some a whole glass of sweet&sour sauce to it, to even make it ok. It really was bland before that, maybe it's the crock pot, because it really coocked down the flavor to next to nothing. Maybe I'll try this one day in the pan with shorter cooking time, because it does sound good, maybe I'll make it more like a stir fry, to preserve the flavors. I'll update the review if it gets better....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This was okay but I think something was missing to kick up the flavor a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Very easy, my crock pot is not big enough so I just cooked it slow on the stove. Tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      The chicken was very tender and shredded when I mixed in the cornstarch. That was ok, but the pineapple had lost all it's flavor. I added more salt and pepper but that didn't do it. The sauce just didn't have any flavor. I won't be making this again, Sorry. I only needed to cook for 5 hours for the thighs to be done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      I am so sorry but this did not work for us at all. For some reason the chicken had no flavor, it was as if it was poached in water. Very very tender but no flavor. I followed the recipe to the letter so I am not sure what happened. Even the sauce tasted week. So sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      It was good but the sauce was very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      Chicken is soft and tender. Pineapple add the sweetness to the gravy. Wld prefer it savoury.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Oh, my, I made this twice back in January and forgot to rate it! We really enjoyed this. Thanks for a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chinese Chicken With Pineapple

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.7
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    53%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 81.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 435.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes