Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Crock Pot Cantonese Dinner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cantonese Dinner

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2002

      Wonderful dish! And it was so nice to have it done and the kitchen already clean. I served it over rice. At the last minute I decided to add about 1/2 cup of roasted cashews to give it a bit of crunch, and that worked really well. Definitely 5 stars! This one goes in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      ...plus 5, plus 5!!!! I LOVED this dish!! I used boneless pork chops and left them whole. I followed the recipe exactly, but added some garlic powder and black pepper to the sauce. I also doubled the mushrooms. I can't wait to make this again!! I think next time I will double the sauce and add a bunch of veggies (carrots, water chestnuts, celery, and maybe some broccoli) Thank you so much for a great and easy dish!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      We enjoyed this dish that we served with rice. I added baby carrots, fresh mushrooms and used garlic salt instead of regular salt. Although the taste was excellent there was a little too much broth for our taste, so I will thicken it a little next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      This is a really good dish. Used Sirloin Steak instead of pork. Found the sauce to be not thick enough (my preference) so will thicken next time with a little cornstarch/water mixture. Put on low for 1 hour then high for 2 hours then on low for 1 hour. Added a little garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      I truly enjoyed this dinner! Only made half the recipe and cooked it for 4 hours on low - kept it on warm for 1 hour. I used fresh mushrooms, added 1 jalapeno & 1 tsp fresh grated ginger Excellent will be a regular - served with rice & new carrotts. Thanks Inez

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      This really was quite tasty,I followed the recipe with no changes and it was ready for me in about 5 hrs. I fed two adults and a toddler with a little left,which would have fed my three year old , (except she was at her Nanny's for a sleepover!) so I would probably double this to feed 6 people. I also might consider doubling the sauce next time too. I almost thickened it but there was really not that much sauce to do so, so I decided not to and it ended up fine over the rice as is. The meat was fork tender, I didn't even need a knife to cut it for the baby. This was an easy,tasty way to use pork steak that I would make again. Thanks again Inez for another good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      Very good taste! I also had to thicken the gravy with cornstarch before I served it. I added baby carrots and garlic to the mixture. I really liked the tenderness of the pork and the tangy taste of the sauce. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      This was an excellent and easy dish. I followed the instructions exactly, and it turned out great. I wasn't sure if any of it would make it to the table. Everyone was grabbing a spoon to taste it straight out of the pot, and going back for more. Thanks for a great recipe. Will make this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Delicious! Love it! I haven't made this in a couple years now so I guess it's time to make it again. I love the fact that I don't have to be home to watch it so it doesn't burn and only one dish to clean up. Good old crock pots, what would we do without them. In fact I own 3 of them all different sizes; small, med. and big.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This has too much of a tomato taste for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Thank you for posting an excellant crock pot meal!! My husband enjoyed this so much that he sang its praises all through dinner. Will def. be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Thanks for the recipe, it was good. I added just a little more brown sugar to make it a touch sweeter, and added some fresh tomatoes from the garden, which made the tomato flavor 'pop'. It was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      This is wonderful. I love to throw this in the crockpot in the morning. The aroma that fills the house while this is cooking is incredible! Simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      Great dish, even if you have to "tweak" the recipe a little :) I used 2 large shoulder chops, I didnt have canned mushrooms, so I used 4 fresh ones, and a handfull of dried ones. I dont know what "canned tomato sauce " is, so I used a can of chopped tomatoes. It was wonderfull! Next time I think I will add a little garlic, and maybe a chilli. I served this with my fried rice done in the microwave, so the kitchen was nice and tidy, which is a real bonus for a messy cook like me!!! thanks, its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2004

      4 out of 5 because of its simplicity. Must say it is more of a stew than a Chinese dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cantonese Dinner

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.3
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    52%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 126.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 508.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 35.5 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes