Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Crab Rangoon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crab Rangoon

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2002

      for you crab rangoon lovers these are great. I never made them before and they are really easy to make. I used a little more cream cheese the second time I made them as a matter of personal taste. This is a keeper recipe.----thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      YUMMY!! Kids loved and so did us adults, one of the wayyyy better crab rangoon recipes out there! THANKS A BUNCH!!<br/>Update: made 3-26-2013: Still yummy but may almost double cream cheese next time and add a few splashes of milk, double worcestershire, and up the garlic. Made em quick and simple. Put the wrappers in muffin tins and fill with the mixture then bake at 350 for about 10-13 minutes. still yummy without all the grease! Crispier shell but also not as light and airy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      This is the BEST recipe EVER!!! I added 2 more oz. Crab Meat ((Imatation Crab Meat)) and I used 16 oz of cream cheese and doubled rest of recipe!!!! OMG It was amazing!!! My husband and I LOVE Asian Food, We go out to eat there its out Favorite place well, now he said "No Need Now! My Wife Out Cooked The People Whose Been Doing All There Life!!!!!"<br/> Thanks Food.com I couldn't have done it without you!!!<br/>Food.com User For Ever, Crystal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Outstanding! I make these all the time now to snack on.
      I do add a thinly sliced green onion to the mix, and go a bit heavier on the garlic and Worcestershire sauce.
      Also, I usually bake the in the oven instead of frying them (425F for a few minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      I can't believe I made these! They were so good and so easy. Perfect with yakisoba.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This did not taste like I expected it to. Had a very dominant cream cheese flavor, but it could also be that my "dash" of something may be very different from another persons. My boyfriend doesn't like rangoons, but he liked these. Something completely unrelated to the recipe is that the only wonton skins available to me fry up very thin, almost chip-like, and I have never ordered rangoons where the skins were that thin, so I was wondering what brand of won-tons you were using? I tried doubling the skins, but the inner skin would not cook properly when I did that. I would try this recipe again with less cream cheese, and more crabmeat, and more worcestershire sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      We LOVED these! Next time, I may add some green onion to give it a bit more flavor. They were pretty simply to make. I found myself taking them out of the fryer pretty quickly because they all seemed to form a little air bubble. I also learned not to rotate them in the oil or they would pop. Definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      A definite crowd pleaser! I omitted the worcestershire sauce since I didn't have it. It was a hit at both potlucks. Everyone was waiting in line for these and Kittencal Sweet and Sour Sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Although I'm not a huge fan of cream cheese, I love crab rangoon! I was making this for a crowd so I doubled the recipe except for the cream cheese. I used 8oz of reduced-fat cream cheese (the typical package size where I live) to two cans of crab meat. The result was fantastic. I thought the seasonings were perfect as-is. We served them with store bought sweet and sour which was fine. A friend and I (we're 21 and avid cooks) put them together in the wontons and thought we were being careful, but apparently not careful enough. Nearly every single one exploded in the oil to some extent. We found that the wontons with less filling were least likely to explode, probably because they were easier to wrap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I used this basic recipe to make a dip with some fried wonton strips... I really was craving some crab rangoon but was way too lazy to form them into cute little packages. I added a little sliced green onion, sour cream and Bragg's Aminos ( soy sauce alternative) to the filling mixture...then I warmed it just slightly in the microwave to soften. I fried up some wonton strips and dipped away!!! I also topped off the dip with a little duck sauce to add a little sweetness... oh yum!!! A great snack idea... Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This was a very good recipe. These crab rangoons are so much better than the crab rangoons that I have eaten at various Chinese restaurants. However, I found the garlic to be slightly overpowering - almost taking away from the flavour of the crab. I will definately make these again, but will use slightly less garlic. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      I make these all the time, although with modifications. I use imitation crab because we have shellfish allergies in the family, and it's much less expensive. I use more worcestershire sauce, a little ginger, and green onions. I also usually add spring peas, defrosted and drained, or chopped broccolli florets, slivered snow peas, etc as a way to sneak more veggies into the kids diet. Because of the age of my assemblers I use water instead of egg to seal the edges, and we make them ravioli shaped using two wonton wrappers per rangoon rather than triangles. They're a bit bigger with more filling, and easier for the kids to make. Frequently they're sealed a little too zealously and are leaking filling before they even make it to the fryer, but generally they hold together quite well while frying. I've also noticed a definate difference in brand names of the wrappers we've used and I'll only get the Azumaya brand now, as they're lighter and crisper. The square wrappers are smaller than the other brand but because we use a different shape it's not an issue for us. We really love these, and make triple or quadruple batches and freeze them for reheating later. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      The filling for these was delicious! I had pretty good luck with making these... nothing "leaked" out, but a couple of them "exploded". Next time I would definitely add a little more filling, but they were just terrific as is. We served them with Lucky Sweet and Sour Sauce #26230, and enjoyed them thoroughly. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      This was great. The first time I made them, I thought they were a little bland, so I added about 3/4 tablespoon of sugar and it gave it that sweet taste that I'm used to from the restaurants. I'm sending this one to my mom. She'll love it. Thanks :^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I didn't have any white pepper on hand so I used fresh ground pepper, it worked wonderful! My family ate them up as fast as they got done. They were also using it as a dip right out of the bowl. Both ways they said were really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This recipe is great! my family loves crab rangoon and now I can make it for them at home. These were really delicious. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Okay, I combined ingredients from several rangoon recipezaar recipes. This one may be the closest to what I did, so I'll rate this one. Deliciouso!!!! I used frozen fake crab meet, and used minced garlic instead of white pepper, and a lot more green onion, and I also dumped in about a tablespoon of fresh cilantro I had sitting around, and like someone else I used water instead of the egg to seal the wontons. It made about 25-30 wontons (not 16-20) PLUS I had about 3/4 cup of filling left over, which I'm eating right now as a Town House cracker dip (WOW!!! This is good!!!). I can't believe I've been deprived of homemade crab rangoons until now. They're heavenly and so much easier to make than I'd expected!!! Does anyone have tips about reheating rangoons?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      These turned out really good. I added 2oz more cream cheese than the meat. I put the meat and cheese together the day before and let it sit over night. I also put a tablespoon of Greek yoghurt in too to make it mix easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      VERY good. I wanted it a little sweeter, so I'm going to play around with the filling a bit. I used water instead of eggs, and I water-washed one wonton skin, then put another on top, THEN filled/sealed it. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crab Rangoon

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.2
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    71%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 27.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 200.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites