17 Reviews

Yummy!!! Other than the chinese sausage, I was happy that most of the ingredients required are usually in my fridge! To give the chicken abit of flavour prior to throwing in into the rice cooker, I marinated it with a tablesp of oyster sauce and sugar for about 30 min whilst i go abt chopping the rest of the ingredients. Didnt use chinese sausage but threw some prawns, frozen peas, carrots, and corn mix. I have also added alittle chinese wine, sesame oil, 1 chilli padi into the rice mix before starting the cooker. So good we went for seconds! Thanks for this no fuss claypot rice recipe, Watermelon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook Food Mood December 23, 2009

Updated Review: This recipe was just okay for me, but the recipe proportions seemed off. I would have liked it better had it used more rice and much less oyster sauce. The oyster sauce was so over powering that I couldn't even finish one bowl of rice and threw the rest away. March 11, 2010 I would like to know the original recipe since I DO have a Clay Pot, but DON'T have a Rice Cooker! It sounds great, though, and I will attempt this one soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slicey April 03, 2010

This was very well received yesterday. Only differences were I used chicken broth for the water, and doubled all ingrediients except the chicken as was making for family of 6. Still had enough left overs for lunch on Monday for me! I used a enameled cast iron dutch oven to cook mine in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours at 375. I had to add an additional cup water half way through. I think the difference in water may be coming from the fact that a clay pot has absorbed water prior to cooking and is releasing steam into the food. Maybe the extra water is being added that way? I now know I want a clay pot so I can try. Thanks Watermelon was a good meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Chef July 28, 2008

Great! Will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexbitong July 26, 2008

This gets a 5 star from me since my DH loved it. The secret to this meal is in the quality of your chinese sausage. Since we live in a place that has access to a variety of good Chinese sausages, the dish came out splendid. Had to add more broth though (did not use water). I used 5 sausages as 1 doubled the rice and cooked it on my reliable rice cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl July 25, 2008

YUMMY!!!! my husband loves it so much. made according to the recipe and it turned out GREAT!!!!!! cant ask for more. my husband like it the original and will put more chinese sausage next time. very easy to make!! thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnie Sim January 10, 2008

Simple, fast and very delicious. A perfect weeknight meal. My only modifications: I added ginger and used chicken broth instead of water - oh, and I didn't have any sausage on hand. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, WaterMelon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelT August 30, 2007

very simple but tasty =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akubi-chan August 24, 2006

We enjoyed this simple dish which is easy to put together. We used some of Emil's gourmet sausages, which went well with the chicken. Next time I think I'll add the cabbage or some vegetable as other reviewers suggested though. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ November 18, 2005
Clay Pot Chicken Rice - Without the Clay Pot!