Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Clay Pot Chicken Rice - Without the Clay Pot! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Clay Pot Chicken Rice - Without the Clay Pot!

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2009

      Yummy!!! Other than the chinese sausage, I was happy that most of the ingredients required are usually in my fridge! To give the chicken abit of flavour prior to throwing in into the rice cooker, I marinated it with a tablesp of oyster sauce and sugar for about 30 min whilst i go abt chopping the rest of the ingredients. Didnt use chinese sausage but threw some prawns, frozen peas, carrots, and corn mix. I have also added alittle chinese wine, sesame oil, 1 chilli padi into the rice mix before starting the cooker. So good we went for seconds! Thanks for this no fuss claypot rice recipe, Watermelon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Updated Review: This recipe was just okay for me, but the recipe proportions seemed off. I would have liked it better had it used more rice and much less oyster sauce. The oyster sauce was so over powering that I couldn't even finish one bowl of rice and threw the rest away. March 11, 2010 I would like to know the original recipe since I DO have a Clay Pot, but DON'T have a Rice Cooker! It sounds great, though, and I will attempt this one soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

    • on July 28, 2008

      This was very well received yesterday. Only differences were I used chicken broth for the water, and doubled all ingrediients except the chicken as was making for family of 6. Still had enough left overs for lunch on Monday for me! I used a enameled cast iron dutch oven to cook mine in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours at 375. I had to add an additional cup water half way through. I think the difference in water may be coming from the fact that a clay pot has absorbed water prior to cooking and is releasing steam into the food. Maybe the extra water is being added that way? I now know I want a clay pot so I can try. Thanks Watermelon was a good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Great! Will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      This gets a 5 star from me since my DH loved it. The secret to this meal is in the quality of your chinese sausage. Since we live in a place that has access to a variety of good Chinese sausages, the dish came out splendid. Had to add more broth though (did not use water). I used 5 sausages as 1 doubled the rice and cooked it on my reliable rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      YUMMY!!!! my husband loves it so much. made according to the recipe and it turned out GREAT!!!!!! cant ask for more. my husband like it the original and will put more chinese sausage next time. very easy to make!! thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Simple, fast and very delicious. A perfect weeknight meal. My only modifications: I added ginger and used chicken broth instead of water - oh, and I didn't have any sausage on hand. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, WaterMelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      very simple but tasty =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      We enjoyed this simple dish which is easy to put together. We used some of Emil's gourmet sausages, which went well with the chicken. Next time I think I'll add the cabbage or some vegetable as other reviewers suggested though. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

    • on January 16, 2005

      This was very well received - even a picky eater asked for seconds. However, the rice turned out a bit softer than ideal. It may be because I soaked it for an hour or two before cooking, as I am accustomed to do with the cooker. I will reduce the liquid slightly next time. I used a combination of shitake soaking water and chicken broth instead of water. I also stirred in some cabbage a few minutes before it finished cooking, which added a nice contrast plus some color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      My favorite receipe as it is easy and delicious. I added cabbage into the rice cooker which goes well with the rest of the ingredients. Will make this at least once a month...yummy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      I've tried this version but with the following addition: (i) 5 Chinese Dried mushrooms (shitakes) soaked 1/2 hr in 2 cups water prior. Cut into slices (ii) Dried scallops soaked 1/2 hr in 1/2 cup water. Press to ensure that it is julienned. Save the soaking water for both and add this instead of water/chicken stock for a healthier version....Yums!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      Mmm,good! I took mwong's advice and used chicken stock and added slices of ginger. This is soo quick and easy. I've made it a couple times already, once with light meat and once with dark, and I can tell I will be making it regularly. Next time I think I will try adding a few dried shiitake (winter mushrooms.) All kinds of possibilities...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      Hi, just want to share with you that my Mum taught me this recipe but to add in a bit of ginger. Also when cooking the rice, not to use water but chicken broth (don't buy boneless chicken. slice the chicken and boil the bones). You have to do this first so that the water is cooled when you need to cook, otherwise the cooker will switch to 'keep warm'. Serve with pounded chilli with a bit of light sauce and a squeeze of lime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      Ok folks, if you don't have a rice cooker RUN and get one to try this recipe. This is my favorite Zaar recipe that we have tried. Imagine my surprise and fascination as my chicken nugget and hot dog eating 2 yr old licked her plate and asked for seconds, well with the exception of the meat, she gobbled the rice. I was really skeptical that you could put chicken and lap chong in with rice and have it come out an edible creation, but not only was it perfectly cooked, it was absolutely delicious. My rice cooker is a cheapie version, and it still worked really well. This also uses ingredients I always have on hand because we love lap chong and I usually have it in the freezer. If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I can't believe no one has reviewed it yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Clay Pot Chicken Rice - Without the Clay Pot!

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    75%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1003.4 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless skinless chicken

    Chinese sausage

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes