Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Soy Sauce Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Soy Sauce Chicken

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2012

      I love how EASY this recipe is! It doesn't require a lot of watching and goes together so fast! Thank you. (Apologies to the creator of the dish: I didn't have the five spice powder or the star anise. Just left it out and it was still very good. I didn't have the scallions either but garnished the top with some chopped cilantro I happened to have - along with the sesame seeds - and got lots of compliments.) Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Very very salty, almost inedible. May try again someday with a reduced sodium soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Quick and tasty dish for those nights that you are just too tired to fuss. I made it with drumsticks but the next time, I will make it with skinless boneless thighs or breasts that have sliced in pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I made this for dinner last week, but I made it with thin-slice cut chicken in the wok. I did add the birds-eye chilies as we prefer a little spice, and we enjoyed the recipe! I did remove the star anise after a short time so as to not overwhelm the chicken, I don't love love too much anise. Also used rice wine and toasted the sesame seeds prior to adding. Served over Jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe, it was a slightly different taste for us and we will probably make again sometime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Your recipe is totally authentic - so yummy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Everyone in my house liked this recipe, which is rare. I would cut back on the star anise next time, it was alittle strong for me. I grilled the chicken for a few minutes after to crisp up the skin. (soggy chicken skin isn't very appetizing) I didn't have any oyster sauce so I left it out. It turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Loved this recipe. Have had it from a favorite chinese restaurant before I moved so I know what the real dish should taste like. Star anise and brown sugar are essential ingredients. I also used mushroom soy sauce that an Asian friend gave me. After cooking according to recipe minus a few minutes, grill the chicken for 5-10 minutes and it tastes even better! I also save and re-use the sauce with maybe slight adjustments (more anise, brown sugar to taste) and it's just as good second, third time around. I also thicken some of the sauce with cornstarch to serve over rice. Mmmm mmm good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      its a good recipe but i suggest you just use 1 star anise, 2 is too much and overpowers the dish. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Great recipe, I just used 2 t sugar, we don't quite like it sweet, you would think the sauce is not enough but the chicken is gonna ooze its own juice so no need to double the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Braised it,by doubling sauce+then simmering 15 mins,+mixing it with 20 oz fettucini-it tasted REALLY,REALLY great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      the idea of having it simmer made all the taste of the spices blend inside. i simmer it on very low temp for more than 40 mins. and i remove the fat way before simmering it to avoid trouble, i use chicken breast instead. my husband would love this. thanks heaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      This was really tasty and easy to make. I didn't have any sesame seeds but that was fine. I also used chicken thigh and drumstick pieces. That was we all got the tender bits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Couldn't find the chiles, followed the recipe exactly but definately use the low sodium soy sauce. I made garlic snap peas from here to go with it. It was wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      good in taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Delicious but I would definitely use a low sodium soy sauce next time. My kids really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Very good and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      One of the first recipes I made after officially joining Zaar--how could I have forgotten to review it? (Running across Hey Jude's picture reminded me.) I'm pretty sure I omitted the chilis because I couldn't find them but included all the other seasonings--this just wouldn't be the same without the star anise and 5 spice powder. Definitely a dish worthy of serving to company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      Definitely a 5 star! Simple to make. Omitted the sesame seed and scallion. Though a little salty, the sauce is very tasty. Will make more of it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Wow....I never have thought this recipe would turn out so great!!! My husband made this today, we both loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      we enjoyed this, but we all found it too salty. Maybe next time i will use low sodium soy sauce as you suggest. the 5 spice and anise were very nice touches. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Soy Sauce Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.1
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    54%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 115.0 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1085.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    star anise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites