48 Reviews

Hi! I was the one that posted this recipe, I wanted to modify it a bit but I Can no longer find my account so i had to create another one! Just like all of you I'm sure, I constantly try different things to improve my recipes. Here is a little tip to make this one easier. I cook the rice in chicken stock rather than plain water, this way you still get the good flavour but you don't have to add the stock while cooking it in the wok. I agree with all the suggestions that people have made. The great thing about this recipe is that its so basic (chicken stock, rice, oil, salt and soy sauce) you can really play around with the ingredients based on your preferences. I Have started adding smokey bacon instead of ham and its heavenly! (it even works well with soy bacon! for vegetarians. Enjoy, and thanks for all those who have taken ther time to rate it.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poune33 February 28, 2009

This is amazing. I made this tonight using basmati rice I cooked yesterday. I finely minced garlic, carrots, onions, and celery. I also cut leftover pork tenderloin into very small chunks. Fried 3 scrambled eggs with PAM spray, took off the heat and cut into very small pieces. Cooked veggies plus frozen peas for 2-3 mins in a bit of olive oil. Added pork and rice. Cooked until everything was hot. Added chopped egg and soy sauce. Ladeled rice into bowls and topped with thinly sliced green onions and passed more soy sauce on the side. Delicious!!! Will probably never eat restaurant fried rice again. It really is that good!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purduewriter March 08, 2011

My family loves homemade Chinese food, and a few times a year we get together to make a bunch of different dishes. We have found many great recipes for different dishes that have become a staple to each gathering, but the rice was always a big flop, until I so fortunately stumbled across this recipe. It is all that everyone raves about and more. It has been the best recipe that we have ever tried, and we have be through more rice recipes than you really could imagine. I want you to know how appreciative I am that you posted this recipe as now, it is unanimous, this is the staple rice that will be served at all our family gatherings. I didn't change a thing, it is perfect just as is, and simple-dimple to prepare. People, please don't be shy or hesitant to try this recipe, it well earns five stars in my books! Thanks again!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gehrig and Celia's Mom May 03, 2009

When I was adding the stock, I thought I was making a ton of gluey stodge. But after it had absorbed all the liquid and dried out it turned out just like Chinese Takeaway rice. I added cooked down finely chopped onion and to the egg mixture, peas, sweetcorn and fried, finely chopped bacon. The soy added the salt. I've tried making fried rice a number of times and no one has ever commented on it, which is generally a bad sign.... this time everyone was wowing and wanting more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewillday November 27, 2012

Your recipe is very good but you left out a very important ingredient which I use all the time.
"ONIONS." 1/2 onion chopped fine. It does wonders to the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rinzi33 September 30, 2012

I made this for chinese dinner with the family..My Daughter said it had too much ham in it and lacked in flavor,not at all like restaurant fried rice. I agree with lack of flavor,I added scant amount of 5spice,helped alittle but don not think I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck March 13, 2010

Thanks so much for this recipe, since the end of April I've made it about 6 times and it's always turned out perfect. My granddaughter is a Fried Rice addict. I use bacon, about 4-6 slices, as it's always on hand and probably about 1 cup of peas and if there is any leftover cooked chicken that goes in as well. I also add 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire Sauce, my Mum used to do this, yum! Such an easy, delicious recipe that has become a family favourite. We are so grateful. Thanks heaps!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
filjen May 15, 2009

I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. It is wonderful and so easy to make. I didn't add peas, because I did not have any at the time. I also used olive oil instead of canola or peanut oil. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. I will be making this many more times. Next time though I am going to make it using chicken instead of ham as I found the ham a bit salty, but that may have just been they brand we used. Also, next time I will add another egg or two, as we like more egg in our fried rice. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe, my husband said it is the best fried rice he has ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemykids1234 January 05, 2009

This looks delicious and easy but I was just wondering if anybody has suggestions on what to use in place of chicken broth? (Vegetarian) I really wanna try this but I feel like veggie broth won't do this justice, maybe mushroom broth? Feedback please?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 24, 2015

Finally a good fried rice recipe!! I think the key is the chicken broth, as it adds flavor at home where people don't typically use MSG in their cooking. As another reviewer suggested, I added curry powder and it really is good! I also did not use ham or any meat, just some frozen veggies and chopped onion. It is also important to make sure the rice is salted enough; I think that is where people are going wrong with this recipe (and many other fried rice recipes) and is the reason why they are finding it to be too bland. Again, the chicken broth helps with this. We don't realize how much salt restaurants actually put into our food!! Thanks again for this recipe. I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livinaveggielife February 23, 2015
Chinese Restaurant Fried Rice