Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Chinese / Chinese Restaurant Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Restaurant Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2009

      Hi! I was the one that posted this recipe, I wanted to modify it a bit but I Can no longer find my account so i had to create another one! Just like all of you I'm sure, I constantly try different things to improve my recipes. Here is a little tip to make this one easier. I cook the rice in chicken stock rather than plain water, this way you still get the good flavour but you don't have to add the stock while cooking it in the wok. I agree with all the suggestions that people have made. The great thing about this recipe is that its so basic (chicken stock, rice, oil, salt and soy sauce) you can really play around with the ingredients based on your preferences. I Have started adding smokey bacon instead of ham and its heavenly! (it even works well with soy bacon! for vegetarians. Enjoy, and thanks for all those who have taken ther time to rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This is amazing. I made this tonight using basmati rice I cooked yesterday. I finely minced garlic, carrots, onions, and celery. I also cut leftover pork tenderloin into very small chunks. Fried 3 scrambled eggs with PAM spray, took off the heat and cut into very small pieces. Cooked veggies plus frozen peas for 2-3 mins in a bit of olive oil. Added pork and rice. Cooked until everything was hot. Added chopped egg and soy sauce. Ladeled rice into bowls and topped with thinly sliced green onions and passed more soy sauce on the side. Delicious!!! Will probably never eat restaurant fried rice again. It really is that good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      My family loves homemade Chinese food, and a few times a year we get together to make a bunch of different dishes. We have found many great recipes for different dishes that have become a staple to each gathering, but the rice was always a big flop, until I so fortunately stumbled across this recipe. It is all that everyone raves about and more. It has been the best recipe that we have ever tried, and we have be through more rice recipes than you really could imagine. I want you to know how appreciative I am that you posted this recipe as now, it is unanimous, this is the staple rice that will be served at all our family gatherings. I didn't change a thing, it is perfect just as is, and simple-dimple to prepare. People, please don't be shy or hesitant to try this recipe, it well earns five stars in my books! Thanks again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      When I was adding the stock, I thought I was making a ton of gluey stodge. But after it had absorbed all the liquid and dried out it turned out just like Chinese Takeaway rice. I added cooked down finely chopped onion and to the egg mixture, peas, sweetcorn and fried, finely chopped bacon. The soy added the salt. I've tried making fried rice a number of times and no one has ever commented on it, which is generally a bad sign.... this time everyone was wowing and wanting more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Your recipe is very good but you left out a very important ingredient which I use all the time.
      "ONIONS." 1/2 onion chopped fine. It does wonders to the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I made this for chinese dinner with the family..My Daughter said it had too much ham in it and lacked in flavor,not at all like restaurant fried rice. I agree with lack of flavor,I added scant amount of 5spice,helped alittle but don not think I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Thanks so much for this recipe, since the end of April I've made it about 6 times and it's always turned out perfect. My granddaughter is a Fried Rice addict. I use bacon, about 4-6 slices, as it's always on hand and probably about 1 cup of peas and if there is any leftover cooked chicken that goes in as well. I also add 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire Sauce, my Mum used to do this, yum! Such an easy, delicious recipe that has become a family favourite. We are so grateful. Thanks heaps!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. It is wonderful and so easy to make. I didn't add peas, because I did not have any at the time. I also used olive oil instead of canola or peanut oil. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. I will be making this many more times. Next time though I am going to make it using chicken instead of ham as I found the ham a bit salty, but that may have just been they brand we used. Also, next time I will add another egg or two, as we like more egg in our fried rice. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe, my husband said it is the best fried rice he has ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I used chicken and frozen mixed veggies. Green onions would be a good addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I've made this a few times now and I love it! I love that it can be adjusted to your taste and accommodate those who have allergies (eggs) and have it still taste pretty darn good! <br/><br/>I used some leftover steamed rice (Jasmine rice) and added more soy sauce to taste. I pretty much eyed everything. That's probably one of the reasons why I added a bit more soy sauce because I cooked more than 2 cups of rice. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I can rely on now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This was OK for us. I used chicken and added carrots instead of peas as that is all I had. I also added about a half a cup of onions. I followed the rest of the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      The flavor was pretty good. Slightly bland. We also had never had fried rice with ham before, and I think we prefer it with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This rice definitely was not as good as the restaurant but no recipe I have tried has hit the mark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

    • on March 16, 2010

      I am on a quest to duplicate the pineapple fried rice from a thai restaurant down the street. I made this (without the meat) and added fried tofu, onion, carrot, green onion, pineapple and craisins. I liked all those additions. If you have never cooked craisins before, they basically end up tasting like a little burst of sweetness. **** I also added Sun-Bird fried rice seasoning mix, and extra soy sauce... but it was still missing something, so I read the description of the thai restaurant's fried rice in their menu, and they specifically mention curry powder- WOW. I felt like I hit the jackpot. What a difference. CURRY POWDER! NOW it tastes like it's from a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

    • on August 19, 2009

      Everyone in my family including my daughter's picky friend ate it up. Thanks for sharing this easy to make recipe because there are unlimited possibilities with this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Finally, a fried rice recipe that turns out right - this is the one I've been looking for! I made it with chopped cooked chicken breasts, instead of the ham, and added about 1/2 cup of chopped onions and 1/2 clove of minced garlic, stir fried before adding the eggs, peas and chicken. This is a wonderful recipe - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      A 4 1/2 * rating from my family. This rice is very good and easy to prepare. My only criticism would be that step 5 is a bit vague as to how long to stir fry the rice once the oil is added. I stir fried just a few minutes but think maybe I could have done it longer. Other than that, the taste is fabulous and indeed like the Chinese Restaurant that we get take out from. I added some left over pork which I diced up, green onion and shredded carrot. Thx for sharing your recipe, I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      The chicken stock was the trick to make rice great like take out! With that hint, you can make this rice your own in ANY way. I used some fresh shrimp and fresh chicken breast, sauteed. Also, I added green onions and a hint of bacon, for my favorite fried rice flavor (You always have to put it in! Super Yummy!). Great recipe! I will ALWAYS know the trick for yummy rice now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Restaurant Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 999.8
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    28%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 187.8 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1509.2 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 150.9 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes