11 Reviews

I've been making this recipe for years- think I got it out of a newspaper long ago and am glad to see it here. I made it last night per a request as I hadn't made it for ages. I'd forgotten how good it is! I use fresh lemon juice and find the amount of sauce is just right. The chicken is nice and tender as well. Thanks so much for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark January 27, 2008

This was absolutely delicious, and has put me off going to the local Chinese restaurants here in Spain, as their food seems very bland in comparison

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickirecipes April 21, 2015

This is a good recipe, but I think as another reviewer mentioned using fresh lemon juice is the way to go. This was an easy recipe and my family enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 29, 2012

This is a perfect dish! I cannot believe how good this was! We served this up with fried rice, my BF used Chinese Fried Rice, which is so good aswel, Best to serve them beside each other than chicken on top because they both are pact with flavour. I also added babycorn, red and green capsican, and carrot into the sauce as chantel suggests. I do suggest adding a little more cornflour to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. This recipe i will keep by my side for years to come. Thank you! ... We also served The Most Awesome Apple Dumplings for dessert another recipe i would reccomend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole April 26, 2010

This was good. It wasn't great, but good. I may be at fault for using reconstituted lemon juice instead of fresh; that may be why it seemed to be missing a little zip. The sauce, in my opinion did not need to be doubled - there was enough for the chicken and to mix with the rice. Also, I have not ever dusted anything with corn starch - that was a first and rather unpleasant sensation on my fingers so I used a fork. The texture was pretty good though. Fried in peanut oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy October 07, 2009

We loved it! I added strips of red & green pepper , baby corn, carrots and to the sauce while cooking. The end result was yummy and healthy. Thanx a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chantel K January 17, 2008

Delicious and super easy! I find pouring the sauce over the chicken and letting it soak makes it taste better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnipeg Brown Sugar November 20, 2007

I liked this recipe. The chicken turned out fantastic! I ran out of cornstarch and had to dip about half the chicken peices in flour instead but it didn't seem to make a difference. I also had to use flour instead of cornstarch for the sauce. The only disappointing thing about this recipe is that I didn't find the sauce lemony at all, it tasted more like sweet and sour to me. My boyfriend loved it though and took the leftovers for lunch. I'll be making this one again... thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who October 31, 2006

Many years ago there was this restaurant in Richardson, TX that we often ate at. DH loved the lemon chicken and hasn't found a substitute until now. He says this is the sauce that he learned to love back when. Needless to say I will probably be making this again real soon. I did double the sauce and that was way too much. Actually, I think that the regular recipe would have been plenty. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 24, 2006

A delightful sauce with moist, tender chicken. Mmmm! I try to limit recipes with lemon ingredients b/c my picky family usually won't eat it. But, this recipe was really loved by everyone. It's so easy to put together and the result tastes like Chinese take-out. Recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy May 23, 2006
Chinese Lemon Chicken